Best PEO companies in 2026
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Justworks is our top-scored PEO at 67 out of 100 and the only major PEO that publishes its price: $79 to $124 per employee per month, according to its pricing page (checked October 16, 2026). TriNet (50) and ADP TotalSource (44) rank next; both quote only, like every other PEO here except the US PEOs from Deel ($125) and Remote (from $99).
Every price below is dated and linked. We also show what the fee leaves out, which PEOs are IRS certified, and what the contracts say about leaving.
A PEO (professional employer organization) is a company that co-employs your staff: it runs payroll and files employment taxes, sponsors health and retirement plans, carries workers' comp and handles HR compliance, while you keep directing the work.
Our picks at a glance ranked by published score out of 100
- 1JustworksSmall companies that want PEO benefits at a published monthly priceFrom $79 a month67See pricing
- 2TriNetVenture-backed and professional services firms that want large-group benefitsQuote only50See pricing
- 3ADP TotalSourceBusinesses that want a PEO on ADP's payroll platform with a full benefits menuQuote only44See pricing
- 4Paychex PEOVery small firms that may start on Paychex payroll and move up to a PEOQuote only34See pricing
- 5InsperityFirms that want a high-touch PEO with a fee not tied to payroll sizeQuote only33See pricing
On this page
- Our top PEO picks, ranked by score
- PEO scores: all 15 companies
- What a PEO costs for 5, 10 and 25 employees
- Who publishes prices, and who makes you call
- What the PEO fee covers, and what it does not
- Contract terms, notice and exit fees
- IRS certification (CPEO) status
- What PEO customers complain about
- The other PEOs we scored
- PEO services: pros and cons
- Who should not use a PEO
- How to get PEO quotes you can compare
Our top PEO picks, ranked by score
Ranked by our published PEO score out of 100 (see our scoring method). We did not test these services; scores come from published prices, terms, IRS records and documented complaints, checked October 16, 2026.
1. Justworks
Price: $79 (Basic) or $124 (Plus) per employee per month. CPEO: Yes (Justworks Employment Group LLC, II, III, IV).
The only major PEO that prints its price. Basic covers payroll, 401(k), 24/7 support and HR tools; Plus adds medical, dental and vision administration, HSA and FSA. No setup fee. Workers' comp is required for PEO clients and priced separately, and premiums are not in the fee. Prices rose in 2026: Costbench, a third-party price tracker, shows Basic moving from $59 and Plus from $109 between its March and July snapshots, and notes that Justworks restructured its plans at the same time.
Watch out: Health premiums are extra, and the most common complaint is support that does not resolve issues. Read the full Justworks review.
How the score adds up
- Price transparency20/25
- Benefits18/20
- Contract and exit8/20
- Compliance13/15
- Support8/10
- Complaints record0/10
2. TriNet
Price: Quote only ($150 PEPM used only as an illustration). CPEO: Yes (TriNet HR III-B, Inc.).
TriNet says it publishes no list price and keeps medical, dental and vision premiums separate from its per-employee fee. It sells industry bundles and publishes its support hours: 24/7 chat plus weekday phone support from 6am to midnight ET. It requires a minimum headcount but does not say what it is.
Watch out: Reviewers report the per-employee price rising every year, and rejected FSA claims are the top complaint. Read the full TriNet review.
How the score adds up
- Price transparency5/25
- Benefits12/20
- Contract and exit7/20
- Compliance13/15
- Support10/10
- Complaints record3/10
3. ADP TotalSource
Price: Quote only (Fit Small Business, Nov 2024, nearly two years old: around $85 PEPM from an ADP rep). CPEO: Yes, 'IRS-certified PEO (CPEO) since 2017' (ADP TotalSource, Inc. and 17 related entities).
ADP prices TotalSource by quote and says workers' compensation is managed and included in the service fee. Its tax payments are bonded up to $1 million a year. It is also ESAC-accredited by its own account. Benefits include medical, dental, vision, 401(k), EAP and pet wellness.
Watch out: Capterra reviewers report renewal increases of 8% to 18% a year, and no exit terms are published. Read the full ADP TotalSource review.
How the score adds up
- Price transparency5/25
- Benefits20/20
- Contract and exit0/20
- Compliance13/15
- Support2/10
- Complaints record4/10
4. Paychex PEO
Price: Quote only (third-party: $100 to $250 PEPM, Eightx Jun 2026, HR.software May 2026). CPEO: Yes (Paychex PEO VI LLC; Paychex PEO VII, LLC; Oasis HR Solutions III, LLC).
Paychex states no minimum and assigns an HR business partner to clients under 10 employees. Benefits partners include Aetna, MetLife, Delta Dental and Chubb. Oasis is now sold as part of Paychex HR. A '3 months free for National PEO Week' banner showed no terms.
Watch out: A secondary source reports early termination and transition fees, and no price is published. Read the full Paychex PEO review.
How the score adds up
- Price transparency2/25
- Benefits12/20
- Contract and exit3/20
- Compliance13/15
- Support2/10
- Complaints record2/10
5. Insperity
Price: Quote only. CPEO: Yes (Insperity PEO HR, Inc.; Insperity PEO Services, L.P.).
Insperity bills direct costs (payroll taxes, workers' comp, benefits access, liability coverage) plus a fixed-dollar HR service charge per employee that it says 'won't increase if you pay your employees more.' New HR360 clients can get a credit of up to $425 per full-time employee (homepage, October 2026). Phone support stops at 7pm Central.
Watch out: No published prices or contract terms, and the credit of up to $425 per employee is a promotion, not a price. Read the full Insperity review.
How the score adds up
- Price transparency5/25
- Benefits8/20
- Contract and exit0/20
- Compliance10/15
- Support7/10
- Complaints record3/10
PEO scores: all 15 companies
Each PEO is scored on six criteria. Price transparency carries the most weight (25 points) because it is what buyers can least easily find elsewhere; Forbes Advisor's PEO ranking gives pricing 3%. A low score often means a PEO publishes little, not that its service is poor: G&A Partners blocks automated reading of its site, so its 8 reflects missing data.
| PEO | Total | Price transparency (25) | Benefits access (20) | Contract and exit terms (20) | Compliance coverage (15) | Support (10) | Documented complaint patterns (10) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Justworks | 67 | 20 | 18 | 8 | 13 | 8 | 0 |
| 2. TriNet | 50 | 5 | 12 | 7 | 13 | 10 | 3 |
| 3. ADP TotalSource | 44 | 5 | 20 | 0 | 13 | 2 | 4 |
| 4. Paychex PEO | 34 | 2 | 12 | 3 | 13 | 2 | 2 |
| 5. Insperity | 33 | 5 | 8 | 0 | 10 | 7 | 3 |
| 6. BBSI | 26 | 5 | 6 | 2 | 3 | 7 | 3 |
| 7. Amplify HR Management | 23 | 0 | 4 | 2 | 10 | 4 | 3 |
| 8. ExtensisHR | 22 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 13 | 4 | 3 |
| 9. Engage PEO | 21 | 0 | 8 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 3 |
| 10. PrestigePEO | 20 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 13 | 2 | 3 |
| 11. Questco | 20 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 13 | 4 | 3 |
| 12. Sequoia One | 17 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 10 | 0 | 3 |
| 13. Rippling PEO | 11 | 0 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 6 |
| 14. G&A Partners | 8 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 3 |
| 15. Vensure | 8 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5 | 3 |
Source: HRPricing PEO scores, config dated October 17, 2026, built from vendor pages and the IRS active CPEO list (report date 8/7/2026) checked October 16, 2026. Deel and Remote US PEOs are not scored.
What a PEO costs for 5, 10 and 25 employees
Only three PEOs publish a per-employee fee. Here is what each costs in admin fees alone:
| PEO | Price per employee per month | 5 employees | 10 employees | 25 employees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Justworks PEO Basic | $79 | $4,740 | $9,480 | $23,700 |
| Remote US PEO | from $99 | $5,940 | $11,880 | $29,700 |
| Justworks PEO Plus | $124 | $7,440 | $14,880 | $37,200 |
| Deel US PEO | $125 | $7,500 | $15,000 | $37,500 |
Source: justworks.com/pricing, remote.com/pricing, deel.com/pricing, checked October 16, 2026. Math: price x employees x 12.
The fee is the smaller part of the bill. On top of it you pay employer payroll taxes, health premiums and workers' comp. For one employee on $60,000 in Texas, 2026 employer taxes alone are $4,590 of FICA (7.65%), $42 of FUTA (0.6% of $7,000) and $243 of state unemployment (2.70% of $9,000), or $4,875 a year, whether or not you use a PEO. Our PEO cost breakdown adds premiums and workers' comp for a 10-person team, where the Justworks Plus fee comes to under 12% of the cost on top of salaries.
Who publishes prices, and who makes you call
Most PEOs quote only. That is the norm, not a red flag on its own, but it means you cannot compare until you sit through sales calls. Third-party figures below are estimates and are labeled with their dates; several are more than a year old.
| PEO | Price type | Price or estimate | Setup fee | Minimum headcount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Justworks | Published | $79 (Basic) or $124 (Plus) per employee per month | None ('we don't charge additional fees to get set up') | Not published (FAQ question shown, no answer) |
| Remote US PEO | Published | from $99 per employee per month | Not stated | Not stated |
| Deel US PEO | Published | $125 per employee per month | None listed | Not stated |
| TriNet | Quote only | Quote only ($150 PEPM used only as an illustration) | Not stated | Yes, a minimum worksite employee count (number not stated) |
| ADP TotalSource | Quote only | Quote only (Fit Small Business, Nov 2024, nearly two years old: around $85 PEPM from an ADP rep) | Not stated | Not published |
| Paychex PEO | Quote only | Quote only (third-party: $100 to $250 PEPM, Eightx Jun 2026, HR.software May 2026) | Not stated | None stated |
| Insperity | Quote only | Quote only (third-party estimate: $50 to $100/mo + $5 to $10 PEPM, Fit Small Business, May 2025, more than a year old, low confidence) | Not stated | Not published (third-party: 5 employees, low confidence) |
| Rippling PEO | Quote only | Quote only | Not stated | Not stated |
| BBSI | Quote only | Quote only | Not stated | Not stated |
Source: vendor pricing pages checked October 16, 2026; Fit Small Business (Nov 2024, May 2025), Eightx (Jun 2026) and HR.software (May 2026) for estimates. ADP's own guide puts the industry at 2% to 12% of payroll or about $40 to $160 per employee per month (updated July 14, 2026).
Promotions change the first-year math: Deel credits three months on two-year order forms signed by December 31, 2026; Insperity offers new HR360 clients a credit of up to $425 per full-time employee; Paychex showed a "3 months free for National PEO Week" banner with no terms.
What the PEO fee covers, and what it does not
Usually in the fee
- Payroll, tax deposits and filings, W-2s
- HR support, handbooks and compliance tools (level depends on plan)
- Benefits administration on the plan that includes it (Justworks Plus, not Basic)
- Access to the PEO's 401(k) and group plans
Usually billed on top
- Health, dental and vision premiums (TriNet bills them separately from its fee; Justworks does not show premiums or say they are included)
- Workers' comp premiums (except ADP TotalSource, which includes them in its service fee)
- Employer FICA, FUTA and state unemployment (SUTA), passed through on your invoice
- Add-ons: Justworks HR consulting $30 and EOR $599 per employee per month
Ask every PEO for an unbundled quote. ADP TotalSource reviewers say "the admin fees are hidden in the workers comp rates" (Capterra, October 2024). Ask whether state unemployment is reported under the PEO's rate or yours; check your state's 2026 rate in our SUTA rate table.
Contract terms, notice and exit fees
No PEO in our set publishes its full client service agreement, termination notice period or exit fee. What is on the record:
| PEO | Term | Minimum | Exit terms |
|---|---|---|---|
| Justworks | Monthly prices | Not published (FAQ question shown, no answer) | Not published |
| TriNet | 'Most of our contracts offer flexible terms without a long-term contract' | Yes, a minimum worksite employee count (number not stated) | Not published |
| ADP TotalSource | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Paychex PEO | Not published | None stated | Secondary source: written notice with proof of delivery, transition fee and early termination fee |
| Insperity | Not published | Not published (third-party: 5 employees, low confidence) | Not published |
| Deel US PEO | FAQ: no long-term commitment; promo order forms: two-year minimum | Not stated | Promo: full list price for the whole order form if ended early |
Source: vendor pages and research checked October 16, 2026. Paychex exit terms come from a competitor's guide (Gusto, August 2, 2026), not from Paychex.
Leaving takes planning even when the contract is month to month. Your health plan ends with the PEO's plan, the 401(k) needs a transfer, and a Justworks reviewer said old tax records took about three months to get (Trustpilot, September 24, 2026). The wage-base carryover in 26 USC 3511(b) applies only to certified PEOs, so with any other PEO ask how Social Security and FUTA wage bases are handled if you join or leave mid-year. Before you sign, ask for the notice period, any termination or transition fee, and how long you keep access to payroll records and W-2s.
IRS certification (CPEO) status
A certified PEO is treated as the sole employer for federal employment taxes on the wages it pays your work site employees, so if it fails to deposit, the IRS looks to the PEO, not to you (26 USC 3511(a)). Wage bases also carry over if you join or leave mid-year (3511(b)).
- On the IRS active list (report date 8/7/2026): Justworks, TriNet, ADP TotalSource, Paychex PEO (including Oasis), Insperity, Amplify, ExtensisHR, Engage PEO, Questco, PrestigePEO and Sequoia One.
- Likely, unconfirmed: G&A Partners (G&A Outsourcing VII, LLC).
- Not found under their brand names: Rippling, Vensure and BBSI. They may certify under another entity name; ask for the legal name and EIN on the contract.
Entity names and how to check them are on our IRS certified PEO list.
What PEO customers complain about
We paraphrase recurring complaints from public reviews; ratings are as seen October 16, 2026. Justworks has a G2 score of 4.6 from 1,127 reviews but 2.1 on Trustpilot from 37; TriNet 4.2 from 1,988 on G2 and 3.9 from 230 on Trustpilot; ADP TotalSource 4.3 from 576 on G2.
- Justworks: Support that 'is responsive, but not helpful'; payroll held or taxes filed in the wrong state; 401(k) and FSA errors; one customer billed at the top plan rate; a West Coast customer said normal-hours support needed a paid upgrade. (source)
- TriNet: Worksite employees report FSA claims rejected and repeated proof requests (July and August 2026); clients report a per-employee price that rises every year and setups that took most of a year to fix. (source)
- ADP TotalSource: Renewals up 8% in 2025 and 18% in a second year; 'the admin fees are hidden in the workers comp rates'; plans limited to Aetna (Capterra, 2024 to 2025). (source)
- Paychex PEO: Paychex PEO complaints were not researched separately; Paychex overall draws complaints about fees and billing after cancellation. (source)
- Insperity: A September 2026 reviewer said multi-state payroll was wrong for months; others cite slow support. The review count is small. (source)
- Rippling PEO: Modular pricing that is hard to budget; slow support on complex issues; one client had to register with state agencies themselves. (source)
Across PEOs, the pattern is the same: renewal increases with no explanation, benefits administration errors that hit employees (FSA and 401(k)), and setup problems in the first months. For two head-to-head views, see Justworks vs TriNet and TriNet vs Insperity.
The other PEOs we scored
6. BBSI (26/100)
Best for businesses with higher workers' comp exposure that want local, in-person support. BBSI prices on headcount, workforce mix, turnover, loss history and job risk, and bills workers' comp as payroll-based premiums 'with no deposits or year-end audits.' Health benefits are an add-on, not in the Core package. Watch out: Health benefits are not in the core package, and no CPEO listing was found. More in the BBSI review.
7. Amplify HR Management (23/100)
Best for very small companies, including teams of 1 to 10, in tech and healthcare. Amplify sells to very small companies, including 1 to 10 employees, with a tech, healthcare and startup focus. Its site's '#1 PEO' claims are unverified. Watch out: Its '#1 PEO' claims are unverified, and no prices or terms are published. More in the Amplify HR Management review.
8. ExtensisHR (22/100)
Best for businesses of about 10 to 100+ employees that value fast phone and chat response. ExtensisHR targets firms of about 10 to 100+ employees and publishes response-time claims for phone and chat. Watch out: No public prices, benefits details or contract terms. More in the ExtensisHR review.
9. Engage PEO (21/100)
Best for small businesses that want a PEO with named national health carriers. Engage names Aetna, MetLife, Kaiser and BCBS among its benefit carriers. It is on the IRS CPEO list, though its site does not say so. Watch out: Prices, contract terms and support details are not published. More in the Engage PEO review.
10. PrestigePEO (20/100)
Best for small and midsize firms that want a mid-sized PEO with direct phone support. A mid-sized national PEO that sells on direct phone access. It is on the IRS CPEO list, though its site only mentions 'industry certifications.' Almost no public reviews exist to check service claims. Watch out: Almost no public reviews, and no published prices or benefits details. More in the PrestigePEO review.
11. Questco (20/100)
Best for small and midsize businesses in the Southwest and Plains states. A regional PEO with offices from Arizona to Nebraska and a franchise model. Watch out: Very few public reviews, and no published prices or benefits details. More in the Questco review.
12. Sequoia One (17/100)
Best for investor-backed companies that want benefits strategy alongside a PEO. Sequoia pairs a PEO with benefits brokerage, total rewards and equity advisory, and runs programs for investors' portfolio companies. Watch out: No public prices, contract terms or support details. More in the Sequoia One review.
13. Rippling PEO (11/100)
Best for companies already on Rippling that want PEO benefits in the same system. Rippling's PEO runs inside its HR, IT and device platform and offers benefits through national carriers 'at affordable and predictable rates.' The page shows no price, minimum, setup fee or CPEO statement. Watch out: No PEO price, terms or CPEO listing under the Rippling name was found. More in the Rippling PEO review.
14. G&A Partners (8/100)
Best for buyers prepared to collect a full quote and contract terms directly. G&A Partners' website blocks automated reading, so we could not verify its services or terms. Watch out: We could not read G&A's website, so this score reflects missing data rather than the service itself. More in the G&A Partners review.
15. Vensure (8/100)
Best for businesses that want a PEO advertising 24/7 phone support. Vensure sells PEO and HR outsourcing on its VensureONE platform and advertises "24/7 Live Support" by phone. Its G2 score is the lowest of the PEOs we track, and we did not find it on the IRS CPEO list under its own name. Watch out: CPEO status could not be confirmed under the Vensure name, and almost nothing else is published. More in the Vensure review.
PEO services: pros and cons
What works
- Large-group health plans a small company may not get alone; one founder found TriNet plans about 30% cheaper than Zenefits quotes for the same carrier (Hacker News)
- One provider for payroll, benefits, workers' comp and HR compliance
- Multi-state employees handled under the PEO's registrations and policies
- With a CPEO, federal employment tax liability shifts to the PEO
Watch out for
- Fees 4.4 to 13.4 times what payroll software costs at 5 to 40 employees (Justworks PEO at $79 to $124 per employee per month vs $50 plus $8 per employee for Justworks Payroll)
- Yearly renewal increases; ADP TotalSource reviewers report 8% and 18%
- Carrier choice set by the PEO; one ADP TotalSource reviewer was limited to Aetna
- Exits that touch health coverage, 401(k) and state unemployment accounts
Who should not use a PEO
- Teams with a good broker plan already. If your current premiums are competitive, the PEO fee is pure added cost. At published Justworks prices the PEO must save about $98 to $107 per employee per month to break even against payroll plus a health add-on (PEO vs payroll service).
- Owners who want full control of plans and carriers. You get the PEO's menu, and it leaves with the PEO.
- Companies with several legal entities. One TriNet client left for ADP "due to having multiple companies" (Capterra, October 2025).
- Anyone who mainly needs foreign hires. A PEO covers US employees only; see PEO vs EOR.
- Firms that want an outsourced HR team but not co-employment. Consider an ASO (PEO vs ASO) or payroll software from our payroll rankings.
How to get PEO quotes you can compare
- Send every PEO the same census: headcount by state, salaries, job class codes, current plan and renewal date.
- Ask for an unbundled quote: admin fee, each premium, workers' comp rate per $100 of payroll by class code, and the SUTA rate used.
- Get a broker quote for the same plan level so you can price the "no PEO" option.
- Ask for renewal history for clients your size, the contract term, notice period, exit fees and record access after leaving.
- Check the contracting entity on the IRS CPEO list and, in licensing states, the state register (for example Texas or Florida).
More guides and every PEO review are on the PEO hub. Startups should also read payroll and PEO for startups.
Frequently asked questions
What is a PEO company?
What is the best PEO for small business?
How much do PEO services cost?
What are the pros and cons of PEO services?
Which PEOs are IRS certified?
Is there a minimum number of employees for a PEO?
Can I cancel a PEO contract?
Is a PEO the same as payroll software?
Sources (45)
- Justworks: Justworks pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- TriNet: TriNet PEO pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- TriNet: Contact TriNet (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- ADP: ADP TotalSource PEO (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- ADP: What is the cost of a PEO (updated July 14, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Paychex: Paychex PEO (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Paychex: Oasis, now part of Paychex (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Insperity: Insperity pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Insperity: Contact Insperity (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Rippling: Rippling PEO (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- BBSI: BBSI pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Vensure: Vensure (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Engage PEO: Engage PEO (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Sequoia: Sequoia (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- PrestigePEO: PrestigePEO (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- ExtensisHR: ExtensisHR (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Questco: Questco (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Amplify HR Management: Amplify HR (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- G&A Partners: G&A Partners (site blocked automated reading) (attempted Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Active CPEO list (report date 8/7/2026) (read Oct 16, 2026)
- Legal Information Institute: 26 USC 3511 (read Oct 16, 2026)
- Legal Information Institute: 26 USC 7705 (read Oct 16, 2026)
- Fit Small Business: Best PEO companies (updated Oct 15, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Fit Small Business: ADP TotalSource review (updated Nov 21, 2024) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Fit Small Business: Insperity review (updated May 16, 2025) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Eightx: How much does Paychex cost (Jun 18, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- HR.software: Paychex PEO review (May 24, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Costbench: Justworks price increase 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Forbes Advisor: Best PEO services (audited Oct 8, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Gusto: How to cancel Paychex (Aug 2, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- G2: Justworks reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- G2: TriNet reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- G2: ADP TotalSource reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Justworks reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: TriNet reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Insperity reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Paychex reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- Capterra: ADP TotalSource reviews, page 4 (read Oct 16, 2026)
- Capterra: TriNet reviews, page 2 (read Oct 16, 2026)
- Capterra: Rippling reviews, page 6 (read Oct 16, 2026)
- Hacker News: Thread on PEOs vs brokers (read Oct 16, 2026)
- Texas Workforce Commission: Unemployment tax rates (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Publication 15 (2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.