PEO companies in Florida: what they cost and how to check a license
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Florida treats a PEO as an "employee leasing company" that must be licensed by the Board of Employee Leasing Companies at the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR), and the state posts every license in a public CSV file. On cost, a 10-employee Florida business pays $9,480 to $14,880 a year at Justworks, the top-scored PEO in our ranking (pricing checked October 16, 2026), plus $1,890 of reemployment tax at the 2.7% new employer rate.
Two Florida details shape the decision: workers' comp thresholds that count corporate officers, and a minimum wage that reached $15.00 on September 30, 2026.
In Florida, a PEO is legally an employee leasing company, licensed by DBPR under Florida Statutes 468.531, that co-employs a client's workers.
On this page
Florida calls them employee leasing companies
Florida Statutes 468.531 makes it illegal to practice or offer to practice as an employee leasing company without a license, and bars using the title "professional employer organization" without registering. Small out-of-state operators can use a lighter de minimis registration instead of a full license.
The DBPR public records page links a CSV of license holders that includes active and inactive licenses and drops null, void and delinquent ones. Licenses expire on April 30 of even-numbered years, so a PEO's status can change in spring 2028. Before you sign:
- Find the leasing company named in your contract in the DBPR file, by legal name.
- If it is listed as inactive, ask why before going further.
- Check the same name on the IRS active CPEO list; see our certified PEO directory.
We have not matched each PEO below against the DBPR file, so Florida status reads "not confirmed."
The bill for 10 Florida employees
With no state income tax and no state disability program, Florida's only state payroll tax for most employers is reemployment tax: 2.7% on the first $7,000 per employee for new accounts, or $189 a person. The table assumes 10 staff at $50,000.
| Cost line | How it is figured | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Justworks PEO Basic fee | $79 x 10 employees x 12 months | $9,480 |
| Justworks PEO Plus fee | $124 x 10 employees x 12 months | $14,880 |
| Industry admin fee range (estimate) | $40 to $160 x 10 x 12 (ADP guide, July 14, 2026) | $4,800 to $19,200 |
| FUTA | 0.6% net x first $7,000 x 10 | $420 |
| Florida reemployment tax | 2.7% new employer rate x first $7,000 x 10 | $1,890 |
| Justworks fee plus unemployment and state program taxes | Basic or Plus fee + FUTA and reemployment tax ($2,310 together) | $11,790 to $17,190 |
| Employer FICA (owed with or without a PEO) | 7.65% x $50,000 x 10 | $38,250 |
| All-in with Justworks, before health premiums and workers' comp | Line above + employer FICA | $50,040 to $55,440 |
| All-in at the industry fee range | $40 or $160 fee + all taxes above | $45,360 to $59,760 |
Justworks list prices as of October 16, 2026; industry range from ADP (July 14, 2026), not a TotalSource quote; reemployment tax rate from the Florida Department of Revenue. No Florida income tax or paid leave program applies.
The two largest lines are missing on purpose: health premiums and workers' comp. No PEO here, Justworks included, publishes them; they come only in a quote. Our PEO pricing breakdown shows how to split a bundled quote into admin fee, premiums and pass-through tax.
Florida PEO scores
Justworks (67), TriNet (50) and ADP TotalSource (44) lead. A Florida-based business should read the last column carefully: no PEO we score publishes a state list, so "multi-state" is as far as the public record goes.
| PEO | Score | Published price | On IRS CPEO list (Aug 7, 2026) | Florida coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Justworks | 67 | $79 to $124 per employee per month | Yes (Justworks Employment Group LLC and 3 related) | Not confirmed: Multi-state stated, no state list |
| 2. TriNet | 50 | Quote only | Yes (TriNet HR III-B, Inc.) | Not confirmed: Multi-state stated, no state list |
| 3. ADP TotalSource | 44 | Quote only | Yes (ADP TotalSource, Inc. and related) | Not confirmed: Multi-state stated, no state list |
| 4. Paychex PEO | 34 | Quote only | Yes (Paychex PEO VI LLC, VII, Oasis HR Solutions III) | Not confirmed: Multi-state stated, no state list |
| 5. Insperity | 33 | Quote only | Yes (Insperity PEO HR, Inc.; Insperity PEO Services, L.P.) | Not confirmed: Not stated |
| 6. BBSI | 26 | Quote only | Not found | Not confirmed: Multi-state support, no state list |
| 7. Amplify HR Management | 23 | Quote only | Yes (Amplify HR Management, LLC) | Not confirmed: Not stated |
| 8. ExtensisHR | 22 | Quote only | Yes (Extensis Inc. and 5 related) | Not confirmed: "Across the country", no state list |
| 9. Engage PEO | 21 | Quote only | Yes (Engage PEO, LLC) | Not confirmed: Not stated |
| 10. PrestigePEO | 20 | Quote only | Yes (3 Prestige entities) | Not confirmed: "National", no state list |
| 11. Questco | 20 | Quote only | Yes (QUESTCO HR LLC) | Not confirmed: "From Arizona to Nebraska and beyond" |
| 12. Sequoia One | 17 | Quote only | Yes (Sequoia One PEO, LLC) | Not confirmed: Not stated |
| 13. Rippling PEO | 11 | Quote only | Not found under the Rippling name | Not confirmed: Not stated |
| 14. G&A Partners | 8 | Not verified | Likely match, unconfirmed | Not confirmed: Not verified (site blocked) |
| 15. Vensure | 8 | Quote only | Not found under the Vensure name | Not confirmed: Not stated |
Florida column reflects what each PEO says on its own site (read Oct 16, 2026); CPEO entities per the IRS list of Aug 7, 2026; scores per our scoring rules, Oct 17, 2026.
For complaint patterns, see the TriNet review (rejected FSA claims are its most common complaint) and the Paychex PEO review.
Workers' comp: who counts in Florida
Florida's Division of Workers' Compensation sets different thresholds by industry:
- Non-construction: 4 or more employees.
- Construction: 1 or more.
- Agriculture: 6 regular or 12 seasonal workers.
Corporate officers and LLC members count toward those numbers. A three-person non-construction shop with an officer on payroll may already be at four. Inside a PEO, coverage often comes from the PEO's master policy, such as the one Paychex runs for its PEO clients. Ask whether officers are included or excluded, and get the premium as its own line.
The $15 minimum wage and other Florida rules
Florida's minimum wage rose from $14.00 to $15.00 on September 30, 2026, and the tipped cash wage went from $10.98 to $11.98. A Lowndes law firm article (a secondary source) says the next inflation adjustment is calculated September 30, 2027 and takes effect January 1, 2028. If your PEO prices any service as a percent of payroll, raises like this push the fee up too.
Florida has no state rule on pay frequency or final paychecks; wages are due on the regular payday. New hires are reported within 20 days, and contractors also have a 20-day reporting rule. The Florida payroll tax page lists the agencies.
What Florida PEO clients complain about
Billing comes up often. A Justworks customer on Trustpilot (March 6, 2026) said a basic plan was "charged at max rate" and late fees were added despite autopay. A TriNet reviewer on Capterra (July 13, 2026) reported prior-period charges with no label. Renewals are the other theme: ADP TotalSource reviewers on Capterra reported +8% in 2025 (April 2025) and +18% in a second year (May 2024); both reviews are more than a year old.
Ask any Florida PEO for a sample invoice, and for its renewal increase caps in writing.
Questions for a Florida PEO
- What is your DBPR license number, and is it a full license or a de minimis registration?
- Do corporate officers count on your workers' comp policy, and what is the rate by class code?
- Which health plans can our Florida employees join, and in which counties?
- Is your fee per employee or a percent of payroll, given the $15.00 minimum wage?
- Which entity files our reemployment tax reports with the Florida Department of Revenue?
- What does it cost to leave, and how long do we keep access to W-2s?
If the answers point away from co-employment, our PEO or payroll service guide shows what you give up.
Frequently asked questions
Does Florida license PEOs?
How much do PEO companies in Florida charge?
What is Florida's reemployment tax rate for a new employer under a PEO?
Do I need workers' comp in Florida if I use a PEO?
What is the Florida minimum wage in 2026?
Sources (15)
- Justworks: Justworks pricing (PEO Basic and PEO Plus) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- TriNet: TriNet PEO pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- ADP: What is the cost of a PEO (updated July 14, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Active certified PEO list (report date Aug 7, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Florida DBPR: Employee leasing companies FAQ (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Florida DBPR: Employee leasing companies public records (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Florida DBPR: Employee leasing license file (CSV) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Florida Legislature: Florida Statutes 468.531 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Florida Department of Revenue: Reemployment tax rates (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Florida Division of Workers' Compensation: Coverage requirements (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- US Department of Labor: Minimum wages for tipped employees (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Paychex: Paychex PEO (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Justworks reviews (2.1 from 37 reviews) (seen Oct 16, 2026)
- Capterra: TriNet reviews, page 2 (checked Oct 2026)
- Capterra: ADP TotalSource reviews, page 4 (checked Oct 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.