Sequoia One PEO review: pricing, certification and fit

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Sequoia's PEO, Sequoia One, is quote only: sequoia.com offers a consultation form and shows no price, minimum headcount or contract term (checked October 16, 2026). Sequoia One PEO, LLC is on the IRS active certified PEO list dated August 7, 2026, and Sequoia scores 17 out of 100 on our PEO scale.

Sequoia sells more than co-employment. It bundles benefits brokerage, total rewards and equity advice, and runs programs with investors. That makes a Sequoia quote harder to compare line by line, so this review separates what Sequoia publishes from what you will have to ask.

Sequoia One is the professional employer organization (PEO) run by Sequoia, which pairs co-employment, payroll and benefits with benefits brokerage and total rewards advice, priced by consultation.

On this page

Sequoia One at a glance

Published price
Noneconsultation form only
IRS CPEO list
YesSequoia One PEO, LLC, Aug 7, 2026
Benefits claim
140+ countriesglobal benefits, per sequoia.com
Our score
17/10012th of 15 PEOs
Sequoia One: published facts and gaps, October 2026
ItemWhat we found
PriceNone. Consultation form only.
Fee basisNot published.
Minimum headcountNot stated.
Setup feeNot published.
Contract term and exit termsNot published.
BenefitsBenefits brokerage and total rewards advice; claims global benefits in "140+ Countries." US plans and carriers not published.
Payroll and tax"We take the lead on payroll and tax execution." No tax filing guarantee terms published.
Other servicesEquity advisory and programs run with investors.
IRS certificationSequoia One PEO, LLC is on the IRS active CPEO list (report date 8/7/2026).
States servedNot stated.
SupportChannels and hours not published.
ReviewsG2: 4.4 from 27 reviews (Sequoia One). Trustpilot page could not be read (seen Oct 16, 2026).

Read on sequoia.com, the IRS list and G2 on Oct 16, 2026.

What Sequoia says it does

Sequoia presents its PEO as one piece of a wider service: benefits brokerage, total rewards and equity advice, plus programs for companies backed by investors. On payroll, its line is "We take the lead on payroll and tax execution." It also claims global benefits in "140+ Countries."

Read the global claim narrowly. It describes benefits, and nothing we read on sequoia.com says Sequoia will employ your workers abroad. A US PEO co-employs people in the US. If you are hiring in other countries, an employer of record is the usual route, so compare EOR providers and their monthly fees and read how a PEO differs from an EOR before assuming one contract covers both.

The advisory side raises a pricing question the site leaves open. Is brokerage and total rewards advice included in the PEO fee, paid through carrier commissions, or billed separately? Ask Sequoia to price each service on its own line.

What Sequoia One might cost

Sequoia posts no fee and our research found no third-party estimate for it. For a frame, use two outside numbers. ADP, which runs its own PEO, says in a guide updated July 14, 2026 that fees across the industry fall between $40 and $160 for each employee monthly, or 2% to 12% of total payroll. Justworks charges $124 a head each month for PEO Plus, the plan that adds health benefits administration (checked October 16, 2026).

PEO fee benchmarks for comparing a Sequoia One quote, per month
EmployeesADP range low ($40)ADP range high ($160)Justworks PEO Plus ($124)
5$200$800$620
10$400$1,600$1,240
25$1,000$4,000$3,100

Each cell is headcount times the monthly rate in the column header. Rates: ADP guide of Jul 14, 2026; Justworks pricing, Oct 16, 2026.

Percent-of-payroll pricing hits well-paid teams hardest. Take 25 employees averaging $120,000: payroll is $3,000,000 a year, so even 2% is $60,000 a year, or $5,000 a month. Spread over 25 people that is $200 per employee per month, above the top of ADP's per-employee range. Find out which basis Sequoia uses before you compare it with a flat-fee PEO.

Health premiums, workers' comp and state unemployment tax are billed on top of any admin fee. Our PEO cost breakdown shows each line, and the 2026 SUTA rate table shows what new employers pay by state.

Certification, states and support

Sequoia One PEO, LLC is on the IRS active CPEO list with report date August 7, 2026. Under 26 USC 3511, that entity, rather than your company, carries the employer role for federal payroll taxes on wages it pays out, and a mid-year start does not reset the Social Security and FUTA wage bases your team has already used. Make sure the contract names that exact entity.

Two gaps stand out. Sequoia does not list the states it serves, so confirm each state where you have staff or plan to hire. And it publishes no support channels or hours, which is why it scores 0 of 10 for support. Ask who your day-to-day contact will be and how fast they answer.

Questions to ask Sequoia

Put these to Sequoia in writing and compare its answers with quotes from two or three higher-scoring PEOs.

What to ask Sequoia before you sign
QuestionWhy ask
Is the PEO fee per employee or a percent of payroll?With startup salaries, a percent fee can run past $160 per employee per month.
Which services are inside the fee: PEO, benefits brokerage, total rewards, equity advice?If brokerage is paid through carrier commissions or billed on its own, the PEO fee alone understates the cost.
Does our price depend on an investor program, and what happens if that relationship ends?Sequoia runs programs with investors; the terms are not public.
How long is the contract, does it renew on its own, and what is the exit fee?None of this is published.
Which US carriers and plans are open in each of our states, and what were the last two renewals?The site describes benefits strategy but no US plan list.
Will we be on your master workers' comp policy, and at what rate per $100 of payroll by class code?Workers' comp is often bundled into the fee.
Who is our day-to-day contact, by what channel, and in what hours?Sequoia publishes no support channels or hours.
Who issues W-2s for the year we leave, and how does the 401(k) move?Exit and record terms are not published.

Source: HRPricing review of what sequoia.com does not publish, checked Oct 16, 2026.

Sequoia One reviews

G2 lists Sequoia One at 4.4 out of 5 from 27 reviews, and Sequoia's Trustpilot page returned an error when we tried to read it (both October 16, 2026). We did not research complaint themes for Sequoia this pass. Twenty-seven reviews is a small base, so ask for references from clients at your stage and headcount, and ask them about renewals and how benefits questions get answered.

Our Sequoia One score: 17 out of 100

17/100Best for investor-backed companies that want benefits strategy alongside a PEO

Sequoia One

Certified PEO entity and a benefits advisory angle. Points off because price, contract terms, states and support are not published.

How the score adds up

  • Price transparency0/25
  • Benefits4/20
  • Contract and exit0/20
  • Compliance10/15
  • Support0/10
  • Complaints record3/10
How the Sequoia One score breaks down
CriterionPointsWhat we found
Price transparency0 of 25Consultation form only, with no prices or fee model published.
Benefits access4 of 20Offers benefits brokerage and total rewards advice and claims global benefits in 140+ countries, without US plan details.
Contract and exit terms0 of 20Contract term, setup fee, minimum and exit terms are not published.
Compliance coverage10 of 15Sequoia One PEO, LLC is on the IRS active CPEO list dated Aug 7 2026; states served are not stated.
Support0 of 10Support channels and hours are not published.
Documented complaint patterns3 of 10Its Trustpilot page could not be read and G2 shows 27 reviews (1 of 4); complaint patterns were not researched this pass (default 2 of 6).
Total17 of 100

Sequoia points as of Oct 17, 2026.

Sequoia ranks 12th of the 15 PEOs we score. Its points come from certified status (10) and from describing brokerage and global benefits (4). It scores zero on price, contract terms and support because none are published. See how we score PEOs.

Who Sequoia One may suit, and what to compare

Sequoia's own positioning points to investor-backed companies that want benefits strategy and equity advice next to payroll. If what you mainly need is a certified PEO with a price you can see, quote these too:

  • Justworks (score 67): the only large PEO with posted prices, $79 and $124 per employee per month.
  • TriNet (score 50): quote only, with premiums kept outside its per-employee fee.
  • ADP TotalSource (score 44): includes workers' comp in its service fee.
  • Paychex PEO (score 34): names Aetna, MetLife, Delta Dental and Chubb as benefits partners.
  • Insperity (score 33): a fixed per-employee charge that does not rise with salaries, useful for high-pay teams.

Not sure a PEO is the right model at all? Our PEO vs payroll service guide compares the two.

Frequently asked questions

Is Sequoia a PEO?
Yes. Sequoia runs a PEO called Sequoia One alongside benefits brokerage, total rewards and equity advisory services. Sequoia One PEO, LLC is on the IRS active certified PEO list dated August 7, 2026.
How much does Sequoia One cost?
Sequoia does not publish a price, minimum or setup fee; it offers a consultation (sequoia.com, checked October 16, 2026). At ADP's industry range of $40 to $160 per employee per month, a 25-person company would pay $1,000 to $4,000 a month in admin fees; that is a benchmark, not a Sequoia quote.
Does Sequoia One cover employees outside the US?
Sequoia claims global benefits in "140+ Countries," but the pages we read do not say it employs workers abroad. For hires outside the US, compare employer of record providers, which employ staff in other countries on your behalf.
Who is Sequoia One for?
Sequoia aims at investor-backed companies that want benefits strategy, total rewards and equity advice alongside a PEO. Companies that want a posted price can compare Justworks, which lists $79 and $124 per employee per month (checked October 16, 2026).
What do Sequoia One reviews say?
G2 shows Sequoia One at 4.4 out of 5 from 27 reviews (seen October 16, 2026), and its Trustpilot page could not be read. That is too small a base to show complaint patterns, so ask Sequoia for client references.
Sources (10)
  1. Sequoia: Sequoia homepage (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. IRS: Active certified professional employer organizations list (report date 8/7/2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Cornell Legal Information Institute (text of 26 USC 3511): 26 U.S. Code 3511: certified professional employer organizations (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. ADP: PEO: what is the cost of a PEO? (updated Jul 14, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Justworks: Justworks pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. TriNet: TriNet PEO pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. ADP: ADP TotalSource page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Paychex: Paychex PEO page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Insperity: Insperity pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. G2: Sequoia One reviews (4.4/5, 27 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Sequoia pricing on Sequoia’s site