Employer of record pricing: what an EOR really costs in 2026
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Employer of record pricing runs from $199 to $699 per employee per month across the providers that publish a price, according to their pricing pages checked on October 16, 2026. Deel and Remote charge $599, Pebl and Playroll start at $399, and Oyster is the highest flat price at $699. Salary, employer contributions, deposits and currency costs come on top of that fee.
The cheapest list price is not always the cheapest contract. The deposit, the minimum term and the renewal clause can cost more than the gap between two fees.
EOR pricing is the monthly service fee an employer of record charges per employee, on top of the salary, employer contributions and other employment costs it passes through to the client.
On this page
- Every published EOR price
- Cheapest EOR pricing, and what the low price leaves out
- Monthly vs annual EOR billing
- EOR deposits
- Termination and offboarding costs
- FX: the currency cost nobody prices
- What “from $599” excludes
- Total cost of one employee per year at three salary levels
- EOR cost for a team of 5, 10 or 25
- Billing complaints from EOR customers
- How to get a real EOR quote
Every published EOR price
- Lowest list price
- $199Payoneer WFM (Skuad)
- Most common
- $599Deel, Remote, Atlas, Justworks
- Highest flat price
- $699Oyster
- No price on pricing page
- 2Rippling and G-P
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Monthly or annual | Country pricing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management (Skuad) | from $199 | One price, no split | “May vary based on location, role and local requirements” |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | One range, no split | Varies by country, headcount and local vs expat hire |
| Pebl (formerly Velocity Global) | $399 | No annual price listed | Country pricing by quote |
| Playroll | from $399 | One price, no split | Statutory and country charges billed separately |
| Multiplier Core | $459 annual or $499 monthly | Annual saves 8% | About 11% of countries cost more (not named) |
| Multiplier Growth | $519 annual or $559 monthly | Annual saves 7% | Same as Core |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only | Not published | Not published. A competitor’s guide cites a $499 starting reference |
| Deel | $599 | Not split on the page | One headline price, no country list |
| Remote | from $599 (a Remote help article from March 2026 says $699) | Not split | Not shown |
| Justworks EOR add-on | $599 | Monthly only shown | Not shown |
| Atlas | from $599 plus a country “LES rate” ($399 for eligible nonprofits) | Not split | Yes, the LES rate by country |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only on the pricing page; $599 on its LLM info page (Jul 2026) | Not published | “Consistent rates across 180+ countries” |
| Papaya Global | from $650 (EUR 650 in Europe) | Not split | “Variations in pricing in some countries” |
| Oyster | $699 | “Annual discounts available”, no figure | Flat |
| Omnipresent | GBP 499 on its EOR page | Not published | Separate tier for “premium locations” |
Sources: each provider’s pricing page (and the EOR, help or info pages named in the row), checked Oct 16, 2026. Rippling reference from Gusto’s Rippling pricing guide (Aug 2, 2026), a competitor source.
Two providers show different prices on their own sites. Remote lists $599 on its pricing page and $699 in a support article from March 2026. G-P says “contact us” on its pricing page and $599 on an information page updated in July 2026. Ask for the price in writing on the order form.
Cheapest EOR pricing, and what the low price leaves out
The yearly fee for one employee at each list price:
Math: monthly list price x 12. Source: provider pricing pages, checked Oct 16, 2026.
- Payoneer Workforce Management (Skuad), from $199. It publishes no deposit, FX or termination terms, and its FAQ describes “own and partner entities.” One Trustpilot reviewer (Oct 8, 2025) alleged hidden fees and deposits.
- Rivermate, $319 to $639. The price depends on the country. Rivermate says it owns 38 entities while covering 180+ countries, so most countries run through partners. Its Trustpilot rating was withheld for a guideline breach when we checked.
- Pebl, $399. Its Employee Term model ties each worker to 12 months before converting to pay-as-you-go.
- Playroll, from $399. No minimum commitment and no onboarding or offboarding fees, but a deposit of one month’s salary per employee, and statutory and country charges are billed separately.
- Atlas, $399 for eligible nonprofits. Everyone else pays from $599 plus the country LES rate.
If price is the deciding factor, compare these against the scored list in the best employer of record services, where support, entity ownership and exit terms count too.
Monthly vs annual EOR billing
Multiplier is the only provider that publishes both. Its Core plan is $459 per employee per month billed annually or $499 billed monthly, a saving of $480 per employee per year. Growth is $519 or $559. Oyster says annual discounts exist but gives no figure. Every other provider shows a single price.
An annual plan can lock you in. Remote’s default terms run 12 months whichever way you pay, so the saving matters less than the notice date. Before you take an annual price, check whether you can remove a seat when an employee leaves mid-year. Multiplier’s terms say seat fees are non-refundable and billed in whole months.
EOR deposits
A deposit protects the EOR if you stop paying while it still owes the worker wages, notice and severance. It is refundable, but it ties up cash for every hire.
| Provider | Deposit | Refund timing |
|---|---|---|
| Playroll | One month’s salary per employee, refundable | Not stated |
| Oyster | One month of the total cost of services, at minimum; extra deposits for expected transition costs on 5 days’ notice | Credit note about 60 days after the end date, if invoices are settled |
| Multiplier | Calculated per contract from employment costs, fees and notice periods | Within 60 days of the last working day; may be kept if a claim is threatened |
| Pebl | “Initial Payroll Funding” before each hire, amount not stated | About 45 days (help center, Jan 30, 2026) |
| Papaya Global | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Not stated |
| Remote | Terms say a reserve or letter of credit “may” be required, no amount; none for startups | Not stated |
| Deel | Not published by Deel | Not published |
| Atlas, G-P, Rippling, Rivermate, Skuad | Not published | Not published |
Sources: provider pricing pages, terms and help articles, checked Oct 16, 2026. A secondary source (costbench.com, citing a competitor) says Deel typically asks for one month’s gross salary; Deel does not state this itself.
On a USD 40,000 salary, a one-month salary deposit is about $3,333 per employee. For five hires that is about $16,667 held until each job ends. Some EORs ask for more where severance must be funded in advance: one founder hiring in Mexico through Deel wrote on Hacker News in January 2023 (an older, anecdotal report) that the mandatory severance had to be put up front.
Termination and offboarding costs
Most EORs say they charge no offboarding fee. The real exit costs are in the contract and in local law.
| Provider | Offboarding fee | Contract and exit terms that cost money |
|---|---|---|
| Remote | None listed; severance passed through | Terms run 12 months and auto-renew; order forms raise prices on renewal by at least 8% or US CPI if higher; early exit owes the Minimum Contract Value shortfall (on Price Lock, 50% of the monthly average of estimated annual fees) |
| Deel | None listed | Month-to-month per the FAQ. A pricing-page promo on PEO order forms needs a 2-year term, with full list price owed for the whole term on early exit; Deel’s EOR terms would not load, so EOR lock-in is unconfirmed |
| Multiplier | None per the FAQ | 30-day lead time to process a termination (60 for bulk); you pay termination legal and admin costs; 15% of the final invoice as a penalty if you contact the employee about termination directly |
| Oyster | None (termination processing included) | 30 days’ notice to end the agreement; fees owed until it ends; transition costs, including severance, billed |
| Pebl | Not answered on the page | Employee Term model: 12 months per worker, then pay-as-you-go with 30 days’ notice |
| Papaya Global | “No additional fees” | No minimum term; 60-day opt-out clause |
| Atlas | “Offboarding costs may still apply” | Minimum term not stated |
| Playroll, Rivermate | None (“no onboarding or offboarding” fees) | Notice terms not published |
Sources: Remote terms of service (Aug 3, 2026) and order form terms; Deel and Papaya pricing pages; Multiplier EOR terms (Jun 1, 2026); Oyster customer terms (2025-02-27); Pebl supplemental order terms; Atlas, Playroll and Rivermate pricing pages. Checked Oct 16, 2026.
On top of the contract, you pay what the country requires when a job ends. Three examples from official sources:
- United Kingdom: statutory redundancy pay after 2 years, capped at GBP 751 a week and 20 years, a maximum of GBP 22,530 (from April 6, 2026). See employing someone in the UK.
- Brazil: a fine of 40% of all FGTS deposits on dismissal without cause, plus notice pay and the other final pay items. See Brazil employer costs.
- India: retrenchment pay of 15 days’ average pay per year of service, plus gratuity of 15 days’ wages per year after 5 years (1 year for fixed-term staff). See India employer costs.
FX: the currency cost nobody prices
You are usually invoiced in USD and the worker is paid in local currency. None of the providers we checked publishes an EOR currency markup percentage.
- Multiplier says it uses the mid-market rate “without adding a markup.” A Trustpilot reviewer (Aug 5, 2026) disputes that.
- Atlas uses the OANDA spot rate “with a clearly disclosed markup based on currency type,” but the percent is not on its pricing page.
- Remote invoices at the “Remote FX Rate,” and its terms allow “a transaction fee or margin.”
- Oyster charges a conversion fee only if you pay in a currency other than the contract currency; the rate is behind its login.
- Pebl charges contractors 3% to take pay in a different currency; its EOR FX terms were not published.
- Deel says it offers “competitive exchange rates,” with no figure.
Ask for the rate source and markup in writing. A 1% markup on a USD 40,000 salary is $400 a year, so the FX line can matter as much as a $40 fee difference.
What “from $599” excludes
- Salary and employer contributions, which run from 3.4% of pay in India to 50.9% in Brazil on a salary of about USD 40,000. See the employer cost index by country.
- Mandatory bonuses, such as Brazil’s 13th salary and one-third vacation bonus or Mexico’s aguinaldo.
- Country uplifts. Multiplier prices about 11% of countries higher; Atlas adds an LES rate by country; Rivermate’s fee spans $319 to $639.
- Setup and add-on fees. Papaya Global names a setup fee per location, a cycle fee per employee, a year-end tax filing fee and a “small fee” for onboarding, all without amounts. Multiplier lists “compliance mandated add-ons” and an “implementation fee as applicable.”
- Benefits beyond the legal minimum, such as private health insurance.
- Visa sponsorship. Atlas charges extra per visa; the amount is not published.
- Deposits, FX and late fees. Remote’s terms charge 0.1% a day on late payments. Oyster’s customer terms, as read by an automated reader, charge 1.5% a day on overdue invoices; we could not confirm that figure by hand.
Total cost of one employee per year at three salary levels
The fee is flat, so it weighs most on lower salaries:
| Annual salary (USD) | $399 fee ($4,788 a year) | $599 fee ($7,188 a year) | $699 fee ($8,388 a year) |
|---|---|---|---|
| $20,000 | 23.9% | 35.9% | 41.9% |
| $40,000 | 12.0% | 18.0% | 21.0% |
| $80,000 | 6.0% | 9.0% | 10.5% |
Math: monthly fee x 12, divided by salary. Fees from Pebl and Playroll ($399), Deel and Remote ($599) and Oyster ($699) pricing pages, checked Oct 16, 2026.
Now the full employer side for one UK employee, using the 2026 to 2027 rates published by GOV.UK. We show the fee in USD next to the GBP costs rather than converting, because the EOR bills it that way and the exchange rate on your invoice will set the final figure.
| Gross salary | Employer NICs (15% above GBP 5,000) | Employer pension (3% of GBP 6,240 to 50,270) | Employment cost (GBP) | EOR fee at $599 (USD, billed separately) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GBP 20,000 | GBP 2,250.00 | GBP 412.80 | GBP 22,662.80 (13.31% on top) | $7,188 |
| GBP 30,000 | GBP 3,750.00 | GBP 712.80 | GBP 34,462.80 (14.88% on top) | $7,188 |
| GBP 60,000 | GBP 8,250.00 | GBP 1,320.90 | GBP 69,570.90 (15.95% on top) | $7,188 |
Sources: GOV.UK rates and thresholds for employers 2026 to 2027 and workplace pension minimums, checked Oct 16, 2026; Deel and Remote pricing pages. Excludes the Employment Allowance (usually not passed on in a per-employee EOR quote) and any EOR deposit.
At GBP 30,000, the employer pays GBP 34,462.80 to the EOR for salary and contributions, plus the $7,188 fee. At Pebl’s or Playroll’s $399, the fee would be $4,788; at Oyster’s $699, $8,388. Try other countries and salaries in the international employee cost calculator.
EOR cost for a team of 5, 10 or 25
| Fee per employee per month | 5 employees | 10 employees | 25 employees |
|---|---|---|---|
| $399 (Pebl, Playroll) | $23,940 | $47,880 | $119,700 |
| $459 (Multiplier Core, annual) | $27,540 | $55,080 | $137,700 |
| $599 (Deel, Remote, Atlas) | $35,940 | $71,880 | $179,700 |
| $699 (Oyster) | $41,940 | $83,880 | $209,700 |
Math: fee x employees x 12. List prices checked Oct 16, 2026; Atlas, G-P and Rivermate say volume pricing is available by quote.
Remote offers startups 15% off EOR and contractor management for 12 months, with no deposit or setup fee. At $599 that is $509.15 a month for the first year. Past roughly 10 people in one country, compare the fee with running your own entity and paying global payroll from $10 to $29 per employee; the break-even is worked through in EOR vs your own entity.
Billing complaints from EOR customers
- Accruals charged upfront, a currency markup and a full year of health insurance billed after a resignation: a Multiplier client on Trustpilot, Aug 5, 2026. Another said Multiplier refused a refund (Aug 19, 2026).
- Incorrect invoices and slow deposit returns: a Playroll client on Trustpilot, Apr 27, 2026.
- Hidden fees and deposits: a Skuad reviewer on Trustpilot, Oct 8, 2025.
- “The fees are very high”: a Velocity Global (now Pebl) reviewer, Sep 17, 2025.
- EORs bill “the employee’s fully loaded cost, plus their service fee”: a Hacker News commenter, which is the right way to budget.
Provider-by-provider detail is in our Deel review, Remote review, Oyster review and Multiplier review, and the two biggest names go head to head in Deel vs Remote.
How to get a real EOR quote
- Give each provider the country, the gross salary and the start date. A quote without a country is a list price, not a quote.
- Ask for the monthly invoice broken into salary, each employer contribution, mandatory bonuses, benefits and the fee.
- Ask for the deposit amount, what it is based on and the refund timeline.
- Ask for the FX rate source and markup percentage.
- Ask whether the entity in that country is owned or a partner’s.
- Read the term, auto-renewal, price increase and early exit clauses on the order form.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an employer of record cost?
What is the cheapest EOR?
What is Deel’s EOR pricing?
What is Rippling’s EOR pricing?
Do EORs charge a deposit?
How much does it cost to hire in Germany through an employer of record?
What does an employer of record cost in Canada?
Is annual EOR billing cheaper?
Sources (35)
- Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote terms of service (last updated Aug 3, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote order form terms and conditions (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster customer terms (version 2025-02-27) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier EOR terms (effective Jun 1, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier FAQ (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Papaya Global: Papaya Global pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Globalization Partners: G-P pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Globalization Partners: G-P LLM info page (updated Jul 14, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR supplemental order terms (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Atlas: Atlas pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Payoneer Workforce Management: Payoneer Workforce Management (Skuad) pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Rivermate: Rivermate pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Rippling: Rippling employer of record page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Gusto (a Rippling competitor): Rippling pricing guide (Aug 2, 2026; prices as of June 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Omnipresent: Omnipresent employer of record page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Justworks: Justworks pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Multiplier reviews (4.8 from 2,871 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Playroll reviews (3.1 from 14 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Skuad reviews (4.0 from 15 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Hacker News: Comment on severance escrow in Mexico (Jan 2023) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Hacker News: Comment: EORs bill the fully loaded cost plus a fee (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- GOV.UK: Rates and thresholds for employers 2026 to 2027 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- GOV.UK: Workplace pensions: what you, your employer and the government pay (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- GOV.UK: Redundancy pay (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Planalto (Government of Brazil): Lei 8.036 (FGTS) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Press Information Bureau, Government of India: Labor codes in force from Nov 21, 2025 (checked Oct 17, 2026)
- Deutsche Rentenversicherung: Social insurance figures 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Canada Revenue Agency: CPP contribution rates, maximums and exemptions (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Canada Revenue Agency: EI premium rates and maximums (checked Oct 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.