Employer of record in Brazil: what a hire really costs

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

A Brazilian employee costs 50.89% on top of base salary in our BRL 203,280 (USD 40,000) example, led by the 20% employer INSS on all pay with no ceiling (Lei 8.212 and Lei 8.036 rates), and published employer of record list prices run from $199 a month (Payoneer WFM, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster), checked October 2026. The rule US companies get wrong is the 13th salary and the one-third vacation bonus: both are mandatory, both carry the payroll charges, and together they add BRL 22,586.67 a year here before any charge is counted.

Remote's Brazil page shows employer INSS and FGTS as 0.0% in its table, while its own text says FGTS is 8%. The real stack is below.

An employer of record in Brazil is a Brazilian company that employs your hire, runs monthly payroll and eSocial reporting, and pays INSS, FGTS and the other employer charges, while you direct the work.

Employer cost on a sample salary
50.9%on top of gross pay
Currency
BRL
On this page

Where Brazilian payroll breaks from US habits

Brazil pays monthly, but a year costs more than 12 paychecks, for four reasons:

  1. Two mandatory extras. The 13th salary is 1/12 of December pay for each month worked, so one full extra month a year (Lei 4.090/1962). Vacation is paid at normal pay plus at least one-third (Constitution art. 7, XVII).
  2. Charges with no ceiling. Employer INSS is 20% of total pay, RAT is 1%, 2% or 3% by activity risk times a FAP factor of 0.5 to 2.0 (so 0.5% to 6% in practice), terceiros add 5.8%, and FGTS adds 8%. None has a salary cap.
  3. A dismissal fine built into the deposits. FGTS is deposited by the 20th of the following month, and dismissal without cause adds a 40% fine on everything deposited (Lei 8.036, art. 18).
  4. The tax regime matters. Companies in Simples Nacional (outside Annex IV) pay employer INSS inside one monthly DAS charge and skip terceiros. FGTS is still due. Ask which regime the EOR's Brazilian entity uses; our figures assume the regular one.

The minimum wage is BRL 1,621.00 a month from January 1, 2026 (Decreto 12.797).

We have not yet confirmed Brazil's notice period, probation limit, annual leave days or standard work week from an official source: planalto.gov.br and the labor courts rate-limited our requests on October 17, 2026. Check those with the Ministry of Labor and Employment (MTE) before you sign a contract.

Employment costs and rules in Brazil

Employing someone in Brazil: the rules and costs
ItemBrazil
Employer social contributions35.8% of total pay for a regular-regime commerce or services company (INSS 20%, RAT 2% with FAP 1.0, terceiros 5.8%, FGTS 8%), charged on base, 13th salary and vacation one-third; 50.9% of base salary once the 13th salary and vacation one-third are added
What the employer paysINSS patronal 20% of total pay, no ceiling (Lei 8.212 art. 22, I); RAT/SAT 1%, 2% or 3% by risk of main activity, times FAP 0.5 to 2.0 per establishment (effective 0.5% to 6%); Terceiros 5.8% (commerce and services FPAS 515: salario-educacao 2.5%, INCRA 0.2%, SENAC 1.0%, SESC 1.5%, SEBRAE 0.6%; industry FPAS 507 uses SENAI 1.0% and SESI 1.5%); FGTS 8% of monthly pay including the 13th, deposited by the 20th of the next month (Lei 8.036 art. 15); FGTS fine 40% of all deposits on dismissal without cause (art. 18 par. 1)
Caps and ceilingsNo ceiling on employer INSS, RAT, terceiros or FGTS. Simples Nacional companies (outside Annex IV) pay the employer INSS inside the single DAS and are exempt from terceiros, but FGTS is still due (LC 123/2006). FAP for 2027 published Sept 30 2026. Employer INSS on the vacation one-third is included in the base here; official confirmation of that treatment unconfirmed. Sector payroll tax relief (desoneracao) phase-back not checked
Minimum wageBRL 1,621.00 per month (BRL 54.04 daily, BRL 7.37 hourly), effective Jan 1 2026 (Decreto 12.797 of Dec 23 2025)
Mandatory bonuses13th salary: 1/12 of December pay per month of service, one full extra month a year (Lei 4.090/1962 art. 1; Constitution art. 7, VIII). Vacation bonus: paid annual vacation with at least one-third more than normal pay (Constitution art. 7, XVII)
SeveranceOn dismissal without cause: 40% fine on all FGTS deposits (Lei 8.036 art. 18 par. 1), plus the notice period or pay in lieu and pro-rata 13th salary and vacation with one-third (pro-rata items and notice length unconfirmed today, see notes)
Payroll frequencyMonthly
Sample salary usedBRL 203,280 per year (BRL 16,940 per month x 12, with the 13th salary and vacation one-third on top; USD 40,000 at 5.083 BRL per USD, ECB cross rate Oct 16 2026: BRL 5.7197 and USD 1.1253 per EUR)
Employer cost on that salary50.9%

Checked October 17, 2026. Source type: official (contribution items read Oct 16 2026 for country_contributions.md); labor rules other than the 13th salary and vacation one-third not confirmed today. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Brazil

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

The 50.89% stack on a BRL 16,940 monthly salary

Assumptions: regular tax regime, a commerce or services company (FPAS 515), RAT of 2% with a FAP of 1.0. The charges apply to base pay, the 13th salary and the vacation one-third together: 203,280 + 16,940 + 5,646.67 = BRL 225,866.67.

One employee in Brazil on BRL 16,940 a month, regular tax regime, 2026
LineHow it is worked outBRL per year
Base salary16,940 x 12 (USD 40,000 at 5.083 BRL per USD)203,280.00
13th salaryone extra month16,940.00
Vacation one-third16,940 / 35,646.67
INSS patronal20% x 225,866.6745,173.33
RAT x FAP2% x 1.0 x 225,866.674,517.33
Terceiros (System S and others)5.8% x 225,866.6713,100.27
FGTS deposit8% x 225,866.6718,069.33
Employer cost on top of base80,860.26 in charges + 22,586.67 in mandatory extras103,446.93 (50.89%)
Total employment cost203,280 + 103,446.93306,726.93
EOR fee$599 x 12 = $7,188, x 5.08336,536.60
All-in costper year (BRL 28,605.29 a month on average)343,263.53

Source: Lei 8.212/1991, Lei 8.036/1990, Lei 4.090/1962, the Constitution and eSocial table 04 (planalto.gov.br, gov.br), read Oct 16, 2026; exchange rate from ECB cross rates of Oct 16, 2026; $599 is the EOR list price Deel and Remote showed on Oct 16, 2026.

Across the full RAT x FAP range of 0.5% to 6%, the on-cost runs from 49.22% to 55.33%. We include employer INSS on the vacation one-third but have not confirmed that treatment on an official page; without it, the INSS line falls by 20% x 5,646.67 = BRL 1,129.33.

Budget the exit as well. After one year at this salary the FGTS deposits total BRL 18,069.33, so a dismissal without cause adds 40% x 18,069.33 = BRL 7,227.73, on top of notice pay and the pro-rata 13th salary and vacation.

Benefits set by the union's collective agreement are not priced here. Run your own salary through the employee cost calculator for other countries.

Should you open a Brazilian company instead?

The EOR fee is BRL 36,536.60 a year per person at $599 a month: 36,536.60 / 306,726.93 = 11.9% on top of the total employment cost above. A small Brazilian company of your own that qualifies for Simples Nacional (outside Annex IV) would pay FGTS plus the 13th salary and one-third, 20.0% on top of base pay, with its social security folded into a DAS charge priced on revenue rather than payroll. That gap, not the fee alone, is the number to model; our guide to EOR versus your own entity shows how.

Paying a Brazilian contractor

A contractor invoice carries none of the BRL 103,446.93 above. If a full-time contractor working under your direction is treated as an employee, the FGTS deposits, 13th salaries and vacation bonuses for the whole period are the exposure. For a hire that is really independent, compare contractor management tools; to hand the classification risk to a provider, a contractor of record runs $325 a month at Remote and $400 at Multiplier on annual billing (checked October 2026).

Which EOR to trust with Brazil

Ask every provider for its Brazil cost breakdown and compare it with the table above. On October 16, 2026, Remote's Brazil country page showed employer INSS and FGTS at 0.0%, even though its own severance section says FGTS is 8%; it listed terceiros as 0% to 3% instead of 5.8% and the minimum wage as BRL 1,518. Multiplier's Brazil page (updated October 8, 2026) gets FGTS and the BRL 1,621 minimum right, but quotes INSS as both "about 26.8%" and "20% to 28.8%", and its BRL 10,000 worked example leaves out the EOR fee.

By our scoring method, Multiplier ranks first (79/100): $459 a month billed annually or $499 monthly, with a deposit calculated from costs, fees and notice periods and refunded within 60 days. Oyster is second (64/100) at $699 flat, with a deposit of at least one month of total service cost under its terms (its pricing page, in the fee table, gives no amount). Read the Remote review, Deel review and Oyster review for contract terms, or see the ranked list of EOR providers. Regional comparisons: Mexico and Argentina.

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to hire an employee in Brazil through an EOR?
On a BRL 16,940 monthly salary (USD 40,000 a year), employer charges and the mandatory 13th salary and vacation one-third add BRL 103,446.93 a year, 50.89% of base pay, under Lei 8.212 and Lei 8.036 rates. A $599 monthly EOR fee adds BRL 36,536.60 at 5.083 BRL per USD, for BRL 343,263.53 a year all in.
Is the 13th salary mandatory in Brazil?
Yes. Lei 4.090/1962 requires 1/12 of December pay for each month of service, one full extra month a year. FGTS (8%) and employer INSS (20%) are charged on it too, so on a BRL 16,940 salary the 13th costs more than BRL 16,940.
What is the FGTS fine when you dismiss an employee in Brazil?
40% of all FGTS deposits made during the employment, on dismissal without cause (Lei 8.036/1990, art. 18). After one year on BRL 16,940 a month, deposits are BRL 18,069.33 and the fine is BRL 7,227.73.
Is there a cap on employer social security in Brazil?
No. Employer INSS (20%, Lei 8.212 art. 22, I), RAT, terceiros and FGTS have no salary ceiling, so the percentage cost stays the same at any pay level. Only Simples Nacional companies pay differently.
What is Brazil's minimum wage in 2026?
BRL 1,621.00 a month (BRL 54.04 a day, BRL 7.37 an hour) from January 1, 2026, set by Decreto 12.797 of December 23, 2025. The 2025 figure was BRL 1,518.
Why does Remote show 0% INSS and FGTS for Brazil?
Its country explorer table showed employer INSS and FGTS at 0.0% when checked on October 16, 2026, while the same page says FGTS is 8%. The employer pays 20% INSS, 0.5% to 6% RAT, 5.8% terceiros and 8% FGTS on total pay under Brazilian law.
Sources (18)
  1. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Remote: Remote country explorer: Brazil (competitor figures) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Multiplier: Employer of Record (EOR) Brazil (competitor figures) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Oyster: Oyster terms of service (deposit and termination terms) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. planalto.gov.br/ccivil_03/leis/L8212compilado.htm (checked October 17, 2026)
  11. gov.br/previdencia/pt-br/assuntos/previdencia-social/saude-e-segura... (checked October 17, 2026)
  12. gov.br/esocial/pt-br/documentacao-tecnica/leiautes-esocial-versao-s... (checked October 17, 2026)
  13. planalto.gov.br/ccivil_03/leis/L8036compilada.htm (checked October 17, 2026)
  14. planalto.gov.br/ccivil_03/leis/l4090.htm (checked October 17, 2026)
  15. planalto.gov.br/ccivil_03/constituicao/constituicao.htm (checked October 17, 2026)
  16. planalto.gov.br/ccivil_03/_ato2023-2026/2025/decreto/d12797.htm (checked October 17, 2026)
  17. planalto.gov.br/ccivil_03/leis/lcp/lcp123.htm (checked October 17, 2026)
  18. ecb.europa.eu/stats/policy_and_exchange_rates/euro_reference_exchan... (checked October 17, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site