TriNet PEO review: pricing, payroll and the terms to check
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
TriNet does not publish PEO prices: its pricing page says "TriNet does not publish standard list pricing" and uses $150 per employee per month only as an illustration, not its rate (checked October 16, 2026). Health premiums are billed on top of that fee, a minimum headcount applies, and the most common recent complaint is about how TriNet handles employees' FSA claims.
TriNet is a professional employer organization (PEO) that co-employs your staff, runs payroll and taxes, and offers large-group health benefits for a quoted per-employee fee.
On this page
TriNet at a glance
- Published price
- None"does not publish standard list pricing"
- Illustration on its page
- $150per employee per month, not a rate
- Minimum headcount
- Yesnumber not stated
- IRS CPEO
- YesTriNet HR III-B, Inc.
TriNet is one of the large PEOs that venture-backed startups and professional services firms often shortlist for its large-group benefits. It sells by quote only, so the first number you will see is in a proposal. This page lays out what TriNet does publish, what other sources say, and what to ask for in writing.
TriNet products and pricing
| Product | Price | What we can confirm |
|---|---|---|
| TriNet PEO | Quote only | Co-employment, payroll and tax administration, large-group medical, dental and vision, HR support. Medical, dental and vision premiums are billed separately from the per-employee fee. Industry-specific bundles. |
| TriNet ASO | Quote only | TriNet's referral terms list a separate ASO program. ASO is an industry term for a setup where you stay the only employer; TriNet does not publish what its ASO includes, so ask. |
Source: TriNet PEO pricing page and TriNet referral terms (effective Apr 3, 2026), checked Oct 16, 2026.
TriNet's pricing page uses a $150 per employee per month figure to explain how per-employee pricing works. It says plainly that this is an illustration, not its rate. The price you get depends on headcount, industry, benefits chosen and the states where your people work; TriNet names multi-state footprint as a pricing factor.
Third-party figures: Forbes Advisor's 2026 best PEO list shows $96 for TriNet, labeled "custom quote", with no date or source. We do not treat it as a price. A TriNet reviewer on Capterra says "the price per employee is a little on the high side" (Capterra).
What TriNet might cost for 5, 10 and 25 employees
Because TriNet gives no rate, the table uses TriNet's own $150 illustration so you can see the scale of the admin fee. Treat it as a placeholder until you have a quote.
| Team size | Monthly fee at $150 | Yearly fee at $150 |
|---|---|---|
| 5 employees | 5 x $150 = $750 | $750 x 12 = $9,000 |
| 10 employees | 10 x $150 = $1,500 | $1,500 x 12 = $18,000 |
| 25 employees | 25 x $150 = $3,750 | $3,750 x 12 = $45,000 |
Source: TriNet PEO pricing page ($150 PEPM used as an illustration, not a TriNet rate), checked Oct 16, 2026. Excludes premiums, workers' comp and payroll taxes.
The lines on top of the fee
- Employer Social Security and Medicare: 7.65% of wages, with Social Security capped at the $184,500 wage base for 2026 (IRS Publication 926). For 10 people on $50,000 that is 7.65% x $500,000 = $38,250 a year.
- FUTA: net 0.6% on the first $7,000 per employee, or $42 per person a year.
- State unemployment tax: set by state; see SUTA rates and wage bases for 2026.
- Workers' comp: priced by job class and claims history; see workers' comp cost.
- Medical, dental and vision premiums: separate from the fee, per TriNet.
A Capterra reviewer reports prior-period charges added to invoices with no label (Jul 13, 2026). Ask TriNet to show admin fee, premiums, workers' comp and each tax as separate invoice lines. Our PEO cost breakdown shows how to read a PEO invoice.
Benefits through TriNet
Large-group benefits are TriNet's main selling point. An employer on Trustpilot wrote, "We're able to offer our employees affordable benefits because of our relationship with TriNet" (Aug 28, 2026). An older Hacker News comment says TriNet gave access to PPOs with out-of-network coverage (HN comment). Not every reviewer agrees on value: one Capterra reviewer (Oct 5, 2026) found TriNet benefits "a little higher than the other companies".
The FSA problem. The most common recent TriNet complaint comes from worksite employees, not owners: rejected FSA claims and repeated requests for proof. Reviews from July 28, August 7 and August 19, 2026 describe "the absolute worst FSA experience", different answers from different reps on the same expense, and "stop making me prove that I bought an eligible item five different ways" (Trustpilot). If you offer an FSA, your employees will deal with this directly.
Renewals matter more than year one. Capterra reviewers (July 29, 2026 and December 14, 2025) say the price "continues to go up year after year", and reviews also describe a 3x jump after TriNet bought Zenefits (Capterra and Hacker News). Ask for the last two years of renewal increases on the plans you are quoted.
Contract, minimums and exit terms
| Term | What TriNet publishes |
|---|---|
| Contract length | "Most of our contracts offer flexible terms without a long-term contract." |
| Minimum headcount | "TriNet does require a minimum worksite employee count." The number is not stated. |
| Setup fee | Not stated. |
| Notice period and exit fee | Not published. |
| Tax filing guarantee | None published. TriNet "administers payroll taxes for wages processed through the TriNet platform." |
Source: TriNet PEO pricing page, checked Oct 16, 2026.
"Most" contracts is not all contracts. Ask for the service agreement and check the termination clause before you sign. When you leave TriNet:
- Health plans end when the co-employment ends. Set a new plan to start the next day and plan the move for your renewal date if you can, so deductibles do not restart mid-year.
- FSA balances follow the TriNet plan's rules. Tell employees to submit claims before the cutoff.
- 401(k) assets must move to your new plan. One TrustRadius reviewer describes a 401(k) migration with missed employer contributions (Aug 23, 2026), so reconcile contributions after the move.
- State unemployment accounts may need to be reopened or registered, depending on how your state handles PEO reporting.
- W-2s: TriNet, as a CPEO, is treated as the employer for the wages it paid, so expect its W-2s for that part of the year. Confirm in writing who files the year-end forms.
The step-by-step plan is in TriNet alternatives and how to leave a PEO.
CPEO status, states and company size
Certified PEO: yes. TriNet says "A TriNet subsidiary is classified as a Certified Professional Employer Organization by the IRS", and the IRS active CPEO list (report date 8/7/2026) includes TriNet HR III-B, Inc. The certification belongs to that entity. The IRS warns that CPEO names look alike and says a CPEO contract must show the CPEO's exact name and EIN, so check that your contract is with TriNet HR III-B, Inc. if you want the federal tax treatment under 26 USC 3511. See the list of IRS certified PEOs.
States: TriNet supports multi-state teams and prices by state footprint. It does not list states on the pages we read.
Size: a minimum worksite employee count applies; TriNet does not publish it. One Capterra reviewer left TriNet for ADP "due to having multiple companies" (Oct 20, 2025), so if you run several entities, ask how TriNet handles them before you sign.
Support
| Channel | Details |
|---|---|
| Live chat (clients) | 24/7 in the TriNet platform |
| Phone (clients) | 800.638.0461, Monday to Friday, 6am to midnight ET |
| clients@trinet.com; employees use employees@trinet.com |
Source: TriNet contact page, checked Oct 16, 2026.
Those hours are longer than most PEOs publish. The complaints are about resolution: reviewers describe slow compliance answers and escalations that did not help (Capterra, 2025 to 2026).
What TriNet customers complain about
| Complaint | How often | Examples |
|---|---|---|
| FSA claims rejected, repeated proof requests (employees) | Very common | Trustpilot, Jul 28, Aug 7 and Aug 19, 2026 |
| Per-employee price high and rising each year | Several | Capterra page 2, Jul 29, 2026 and Dec 14, 2025; "the hefty admin fee you pay Trinet" (HN) |
| Setup done wrong; months to fix | Several | "We were not set up correctly in many ways" (Capterra, Oct 2, 2026); "Our implementation 10 months ago did not go well" (TrustRadius, Aug 17, 2026) |
| Unlabeled prior-period charges | Once | Capterra, Jul 13, 2026 |
| Multiple companies in one account | Once | Capterra, Oct 20, 2025 |
Source: review pages linked, read Oct 16, 2026. Frequency is from our review sample.
Ratings: G2 4.2 out of 5 from 1,988 reviews; Trustpilot 3.9 out of 5 from 230 reviews (both seen October 16, 2026). A controller in a G2 discussion said a PEO gave them better health pricing but weak payroll, and that TriNet will "always make the decision that puts the most money in their pocket" (G2 discussion).
Our score for TriNet
TriNet
Large-group benefits, long phone hours, 24/7 chat and an IRS-certified entity. Points off for no published price or minimum, recurring FSA complaints from employees, rising renewals and setup problems.
How the score adds up
- Price transparency5/25
- Benefits12/20
- Contract and exit7/20
- Compliance13/15
- Support10/10
- Complaints record3/10
TriNet ranks 2 of the 15 PEOs we score.
| Criterion | Points |
|---|---|
| Price transparency | 5 of 25 |
| Benefits access | 12 of 20 |
| Contract and exit terms | 7 of 20 |
| Compliance coverage | 13 of 15 |
| Support | 10 of 10 |
| Documented complaint patterns | 3 of 10 |
| Total | 50 of 100 |
Source: HRPricing PEO scores, checked Oct 17, 2026, from terms, prices and complaints documented Oct 16, 2026.
We score from published terms, prices and documented complaints; we did not test TriNet. See how we score providers and the full ranking in best PEO companies.
Who TriNet fits, and who should look elsewhere
What works
- Venture-backed and professional services teams that want large-group medical plans.
- Teams that need support late in the day: phone runs to midnight ET on weekdays.
- Companies that want a CPEO, with the contract named to TriNet HR III-B, Inc.
- Buyers who may later want an ASO instead of co-employment from the same provider.
Watch out for
- You want a price before a sales call: Justworks posts $79 and $124 per employee.
- Your team relies on an FSA and you cannot absorb employee frustration over claims.
- You run several companies and want them in one account.
- You are below TriNet's minimum headcount (ask first).
Compare directly: TriNet vs Justworks on price and support, TriNet vs Insperity, or read the Justworks review and ADP TotalSource review. If you are not sure you need co-employment, see PEO vs a payroll service.
More PEO reviews and comparisons
- ADP TotalSource reviewADP's PEO: quote-only pricing, workers' comp in the fee, renewals.
- Engage PEO reviewQuote-only PEO on the IRS CPEO list; most terms not public.
- Insperity reviewHow Insperity's fixed fee works, the $425 promo and what to ask.
- Justworks reviewPosted PEO prices, the 2026 increase, complaints and how to leave.
- Justworks alternativesScored alternatives, payroll-only routes and a step-by-step exit plan.
- Justworks vs TriNetA posted $79 to $124 PEO fee against TriNet's quote, minimum headcount and longer support hours.
- Paychex PEO reviewQuote-only pricing, 2026 estimates, Oasis and the exit fees to ask about.
- Rippling PEO reviewQuote-only PEO on a modular platform; CPEO status not confirmed.
- Rippling vs JustworksJustworks' posted $79 to $124 PEO fee against Rippling's quote-only PEO and modules.
- TriNet alternativesScored alternatives, the ASO option and what changes when you leave.
- TriNet vs InsperityTwo quote-only PEOs: TriNet's per-employee fee against Insperity's fixed HR charge and $425 credit.
Frequently asked questions
How much does TriNet cost per employee?
Is TriNet a certified PEO?
Does TriNet have a minimum number of employees?
Does TriNet require a long-term contract?
Are health premiums included in TriNet's fee?
Why do TriNet employees complain about the FSA?
What are TriNet's support hours?
Sources (15)
- TriNet: TriNet PEO pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- TriNet: Contact TriNet (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- TriNet: TriNet referral terms and conditions (effective Apr 3, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Active certified professional employer organizations list (report date 8/7/2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Certified professional employer organization (page last reviewed Jul 15, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Cornell Legal Information Institute (text of 26 USC 3511): 26 U.S. Code 3511: certified professional employer organizations (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: TriNet reviews (3.9/5, 230 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- G2: TriNet reviews (4.2/5, 1,988 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Capterra: TriNet reviews, page 2 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- TrustRadius: TriNet reviews (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- G2: Discussion: why is working with a PEO beneficial (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Forbes Advisor: Best PEO services of 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- IRS: Publication 926 (2026): 2026 Social Security wage base and FICA rates (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Hacker News: Comment on TriNet admin fees (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Hacker News: Comment on TriNet PPO access (checked Oct 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.