HR software: prices, scores and what to buy

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Human resources software costs $250 a month flat for up to 25 employees on BambooHR Core (payroll extra) or $180 plus $22 per person on Gusto Premium (payroll included), and a PEO such as Justworks runs $79 to $124 per employee, according to vendor pricing pages checked October 16, 2026. Rippling, Paycor and Paylocity publish no prices at all.

Below: every HR software page on this site, six systems ranked by our HR score, what each costs for 5, 10 and 25 employees, and the add-ons that raise the bill.

HR software (human resources software) is a system that keeps employee records and runs HR tasks such as onboarding, time off, performance reviews and compliance paperwork, often together with payroll.

Our picks at a glance ranked by published score out of 100

  1. 1
    GustoSmall businesses that want payroll first with HR tools in higher plans
    $49 + $6/person61See pricing
  2. 2
    JustworksSmall companies that want HR tools and benefits through a PEO
    $50 + $8/person59See pricing
  3. 3
    BambooHRCompanies that want an HR system first and payroll second
    From $10/person54See pricing
On this page

HR software guides and price pages

Start with the page that matches what you are buying. If you only need payroll with a few HR tools, the HR and payroll software rankings cover that case in more depth.

HRIS, HCM and HRMS in one minute

  • HRIS (human resources information system): the record-keeping core. Employee files, self-service, time off, onboarding and reports. See HRIS software prices and picks.
  • HCM (human capital management): an HRIS plus payroll, time, recruiting, performance and workforce planning in one suite, usually sold by quote. See what HCM software costs.
  • HRMS (human resources management system): vendors use it for either of the above. Ask which modules are in the price.

These are industry terms, not legal ones. Two products with the same label can include very different modules, so compare the module list and the price, not the acronym.

Quick picks, ranked by HR score

HR software ranked by HRPricing HR score
ProviderHR scorePublished price (Oct 2026)Best for
Gusto61$49 + $6 to $180 + $22 per person a monthPayroll first, HR tools in higher plans
Justworks59Payroll $50 + $8; PEO Basic $79 and PEO Plus $124 per employeeHR tools and benefits through a PEO at a posted price
BambooHR54$250, $425 or $650 flat (25 or fewer); $10, $17 or $25 per employee above thatAn HR system first, payroll second
Rippling30Quote only; FAQ says from $8 per employee plus a base feeHR, IT and devices in one system
Paycor23Quote onlyA sales-led suite with implementation help
Paylocity23Quote only (third-party estimate $18 to $22 per employee for core payroll and HR)Midsize companies that want employee self-service

Scores: HRPricing HR scores, updated Oct 17, 2026. Prices: vendor pricing pages checked Oct 16, 2026; Paylocity estimate from OutSail, Jul 24, 2026.

Scores come from published prices, documented features, payroll and complaint records, using our scoring method. We did not test these products.

61/100Best for small businesses that want payroll first with HR tools in higher plans

Gusto

All three plans are priced. HR and compliance tools sit in Premium at $180 plus $22 per person, so a 10-person team pays $400 a month. Tax filing errors are the most common complaint on Trustpilot (1.9 from 2,535 reviews, seen Oct 16, 2026). Full breakdown: Gusto plans and fees.

How the score adds up

  • Price transparency30/30
  • Core HR9/30
  • Payroll included20/20
  • Complaints record2/20
59/100Best for small companies that want HR tools and benefits through a PEO

Justworks

PEO Basic at $79 per employee includes compliance and HR tools; PEO Plus at $124 adds benefits administration. Support that answers but does not resolve is the top complaint. Details in the Justworks review.

How the score adds up

  • Price transparency30/30
  • Core HR9/30
  • Payroll included20/20
  • Complaints record0/20
54/100Best for companies that want an HR system first and payroll second

BambooHR

Records, onboarding and performance tools are documented. Teams of 25 or fewer pay a flat $250, $425 or $650 a month, and the payroll add-on has no published price. See BambooHR pricing in detail.

How the score adds up

  • Price transparency20/30
  • Core HR18/30
  • Payroll included10/20
  • Complaints record6/20

What HR software costs for 5, 10 and 25 employees

Monthly HR software cost for 5, 10 and 25 employees
OptionPublished price5 people10 people25 peopleWhat the figure covers
Gusto Plus$80 + $12 per person$140$200$380Payroll included; time tracking, multi-state
Gusto Premium$180 + $22 per person$290$400$730Payroll included; HR and compliance tools
Justworks PEO Basic$79 per employee$395$790$1,975Payroll and HR tools; workers' comp and premiums extra
Justworks PEO Plus$124 per employee$620$1,240$3,100Adds benefits administration
BambooHR Core$250 flat for 25 or fewer$250$250$250No payroll; payroll add-on price not published
BambooHR Pro$425 flat for 25 or fewer$425$425$425No payroll in this figure
BambooHR Elite$650 flat for 25 or fewer$650$650$650No payroll in this figure
RipplingFrom $8 per employee + base fee$40 + base$80 + base$200 + baseFloor only; base fee not stated
Paylocity (estimate)$18 to $22 per employee$90 to $110$180 to $220$450 to $550OutSail mid-market estimate, Jul 2026
PaycorQuote onlyn/an/an/aFormerly $99 + $5 (Fit Small Business, May 2026)
OnPay payroll + HR add-on (not scored)$49 + $6, plus $15 + $2 per worker$104$144$264Budget route if payroll comes first
Patriot Full Service + HR add-on (not scored)$37 + $5, plus $6 + $2 per employee$78$113$218Lowest published HR add-on

Math: base + (per-person fee x headcount), or per-employee fee x headcount. Example: Gusto Premium at 10 people = $180 + 10 x $22 = $400; OnPay at 10 = $49 + 10 x $6 + $15 + 10 x $2 = $144. Sources: Gusto, Justworks, BambooHR, Rippling, Paycor, OnPay and Patriot pricing pages, checked Oct 2026 (Oct 16, 2026); Paylocity estimate from OutSail (Jul 24, 2026), a third party, not a Paylocity price.

Two things change the ranking on cost. First, BambooHR's figure has no payroll in it, while Gusto's and Justworks' do. Second, a PEO price buys more than software: Justworks becomes a co-employer and gives you access to its benefits, which is why it costs several times more. Compare the two models in PEO vs payroll software and the full payroll cost breakdown.

Fees that are not in the headline price

  • BambooHR payroll: sold as an add-on with no published price. A promotion makes payroll $0 through December 31, 2026, but only on a 12-month agreement, and it excludes implementation and multi-state fees.
  • Gusto: remote Form I-9 verification is $20 per submission on Simple, Business Compliance is $85 per state per month on a 12-month commitment (included in Premium), and Priority Support is $30 a month plus $3 per person.
  • Justworks: time tracking is $8 per employee, Dedicated HR Consulting is $30 per employee, and workers' compensation is required for the PEO. Health premiums are not part of the $79 or $124 fee.
  • Rippling: the $8 per employee floor comes with a base fee the pricing page does not state, and each module adds cost. Capterra reviewers call the modular price hard to budget (Sep 2025 to Aug 2026).
  • Paylocity: OutSail estimates implementation at 10% to 20% of first-year spend (Jul 24, 2026, third-party).
  • Paycor: advertises 50% off for the first 6 months but shows no base price, so you cannot check the discount until you get a quote.

Do you need separate HR software yet?

Many small businesses do not. If you already run payroll, the cheapest HR route is usually the payroll vendor's HR add-on. Patriot sells an HR add-on at $6 a month plus $2 per employee and OnPay at $15 plus $2 per worker (pricing pages checked Oct 16, 2026). For 10 people that is $26 or $35 a month on top of payroll, against $250 for BambooHR Core.

A standalone HRIS starts to pay off when you have managers who approve time off, regular performance reviews, or onboarding for several hires a month. Our small business HR software rankings show where each tool fits by team size, and onboarding software options covers the hiring paperwork.

If you would rather hand HR to someone else entirely, a PEO or an HR outsourcing firm is the other route. Compare PEO providers by score and HR outsourcing options.

Quote-only HR suites

Rippling, Paycor and Paylocity sell by quote, so the only way to compare them is to get written quotes for the same headcount and the same modules. Ask each one for the base fee, the per-employee fee per module, implementation fees, the contract length and what happens at renewal. The vendor pages: Rippling pricing, Paycor review and Paylocity review. For a head-to-head, see Rippling vs BambooHR and Paycor vs Paylocity.

Hiring tools that sit next to HR software

Background checks are bought separately from most HR systems. Checkr and GoodHire both publish packages at $29.99, $59.99 and $94.99 per report (checked Oct 16, 2026). Start with the employment background check guide, then compare background check services or read Checkr pricing and add-on fees. For the full paperwork list when you hire, see hiring your first employee and how to set up payroll.

Frequently asked questions

How much does HR software cost for a small business?
Published prices checked October 16, 2026 run from $250 a month flat for up to 25 employees on BambooHR Core to $400 a month for 10 people on Gusto Premium ($180 + $22 per person). Payroll add-on HR tiers cost less: Patriot charges $6 plus $2 per employee and OnPay $15 plus $2 per worker. Rippling, Paycor and Paylocity quote only.
What is the difference between HRIS, HCM and HRMS?
An HRIS keeps employee records, time off, onboarding and reports. HCM adds payroll, time, recruiting, performance and planning in one suite. HRMS is used by vendors for either. These are industry labels, not legal terms, so compare the module list and price rather than the name.
What is the best HR software for a small business?
On HRPricing HR scores (Oct 17, 2026), Gusto ranks first at 61, Justworks second at 59 and BambooHR third at 54. Gusto fits payroll-first teams, Justworks fits teams that want PEO benefits, and BambooHR fits teams that want an HR system first. Rippling (30), Paycor (23) and Paylocity (23) score lower mainly because they publish no prices.
Does BambooHR include payroll?
No. BambooHR sells US payroll as an add-on with no published price, according to its pricing page checked October 16, 2026. A promotion makes payroll $0 through December 31, 2026 on a 12-month agreement, excluding implementation and multi-state fees.
Is there free HR software?
Homebase lists a Basic tier at $0 for one location and up to 10 employees on its pricing page (checked October 16, 2026), a scheduling and HR tier. None of the six HR systems we score offers a free plan. The lowest published paid HR add-on is Patriot at $6 a month plus $2 per employee.
Which HR software vendors do not publish prices?
Rippling, Paycor and Paylocity were quote only on October 16, 2026. Rippling's FAQ says plans start at $8 per employee per month plus an unstated base fee. OutSail estimates Paylocity at $18 to $22 per employee per month for core payroll and HR (July 24, 2026, third-party).
Sources (14)
  1. Gusto: Gusto pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Justworks: Justworks pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. BambooHR: BambooHR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Rippling: Rippling pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Paycor: Paycor pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Paylocity: Paylocity pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. OutSail: How much does Paylocity cost in 2026 (Jul 24, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. OnPay: OnPay pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Patriot Software: Patriot payroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. Homebase: Homebase pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  11. Capterra: Rippling reviews, page 6 (Sep 2025 to Aug 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  12. Trustpilot: Gusto reviews (1.9 from 2,535 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  13. Checkr: Checkr pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  14. GoodHire: GoodHire pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.