Best HR software for small businesses in 2026
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
For a 10-person company, HR software costs $250 a month on BambooHR Core, $200 on Gusto Plus, $400 on Gusto Premium and $790 on Justworks PEO Basic, according to pricing pages checked October 16, 2026. Rippling, Paycor and Paylocity quote only.
We rank six HR systems by published score and show the full monthly bill, the add-ons, and what happens when you leave.
Small business HR software is an HR system priced and built for companies with roughly 1 to 100 employees, covering employee records, onboarding, time off and often payroll.
Our picks at a glance ranked by published score out of 100
- 1GustoSmall businesses that want payroll first with HR tools in higher plans$49 + $6/person61See pricing
- 2JustworksSmall companies that want HR tools and benefits through a PEO$50 + $8/person59See pricing
- 3BambooHRCompanies that want an HR system first and payroll secondFrom $10/person54See pricing
- 4RipplingCompanies that want HR, IT and devices managed in one systemQuote only30See pricing
- 5PaycorSmall and midsize employers that want a sales-led HR suite with implementation helpQuote only23See pricing
- 6PaylocityMidsize companies that want a full HR suite with an employee self-service appQuote only23See pricing
On this page
Quick picks
- Highest HR score
- Gusto, 61payroll included at a posted price
- Lowest posted at 25 people
- $250/moBambooHR Core, no payroll
- Quote only
- Rippling, Paycor, Paylocity
- Prices checked
- Oct 16, 2026vendor pricing pages
- Gusto (61): payroll first, HR and compliance tools on Premium.
- Justworks (59): HR tools and benefits through a PEO with a posted per-employee price.
- BambooHR (54): the most documented HR features of the six; payroll is an unpriced add-on.
- Rippling (30): HR, IT and devices in one system, priced by module.
- Paycor (23) and Paylocity (23): larger suites sold by quote.
Scores
| Provider | Price transparency (30) | Core HR features (30) | Payroll (20) | Complaints (20) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gusto | 30 | 9 | 20 | 2 | 61 |
| Justworks | 30 | 9 | 20 | 0 | 59 |
| BambooHR | 20 | 18 | 10 | 6 | 54 |
| Rippling | 5 | 3 | 10 | 12 | 30 |
| Paycor | 0 | 9 | 10 | 4 | 23 |
| Paylocity | 0 | 9 | 10 | 4 | 23 |
Source: HRPricing HR scores, updated Oct 17, 2026, built from vendor pages checked Oct 16, 2026 and Trustpilot scores seen the same day.
Price transparency and core HR features carry 30 points each, payroll 20 and documented complaints 20. BambooHR loses points for a price contradiction on its own page ($10 vs $10.25 for Core) and for not pricing payroll; Rippling, Paycor and Paylocity lose most of the price points because they quote only. The full rules are in how we score providers. We compare published terms and complaints; we did not test the products.
The six picks
Gusto
Simple ($49 + $6 per person) is payroll only. Plus ($80 + $12) adds time tracking and multi-state payroll. Premium ($180 + $22) adds HR and compliance tools, premium support and Business Compliance. Remote Form I-9 verification costs $20 per submission on Simple. Employee records and performance tools are not documented on the pages we checked.
What works
- Every plan priced, payroll included
- Self-serve cancellation; employees keep lifetime access to their forms
Watch out for
- Most HR tools need the $180 Premium plan
- Trustpilot 1.9 from 2,535 reviews (Oct 16, 2026); tax filing errors are the top complaint
How the score adds up
- Price transparency30/30
- Core HR9/30
- Payroll included20/20
- Complaints record2/20
Justworks
Payroll alone is $50 plus $8 per employee. PEO Basic ($79 per employee) adds compliance and HR tools, 401(k) and 24/7 support; PEO Plus ($124) adds medical, dental and vision administration. Time tracking is $8 per employee extra. Justworks says it charges no setup fees.
What works
- Posted PEO price, rare in the PEO market
- No setup fee stated on the pricing page
Watch out for
- Trustpilot 2.1 from 37 reviews; "responsive, but not helpful" support is the top complaint
- Health premiums and workers' comp are on top of the fee
How the score adds up
- Price transparency30/30
- Core HR9/30
- Payroll included20/20
- Complaints record0/20
BambooHR
Core, Pro and Elite cost $10, $17 and $25 per employee, or $250, $425 and $650 a month flat for 25 or fewer employees. HR records, onboarding and performance tools are documented, plus 150+ integrations. Payroll is an add-on with no published price.
What works
- Most HR features documented of the six
- Month-to-month terms offered
Watch out for
- $250 a month minimum even for 3 people
- The FAQ shows $10.25 and $17.50, not $10 and $17
How the score adds up
- Price transparency20/30
- Core HR18/30
- Payroll included10/20
- Complaints record6/20
Rippling
Quote only. The FAQ says plans start at $8 per employee per month plus a base fee it does not state. Trustpilot is 4.5 from 2,548 reviews, the best of the six, but Capterra reviewers say the modular price climbs with each module and headcount.
How the score adds up
- Price transparency5/30
- Core HR3/30
- Payroll included10/20
- Complaints record12/20
Paycor
Quote only, with a 50% off for 6 months promotion and no base price. Fit Small Business (May 29, 2026) says Paycor used to publish $99 plus $5 per employee. Trustpilot 1.6 from 166 reviews. More in the Paycor review.
How the score adds up
- Price transparency0/30
- Core HR9/30
- Payroll included10/20
- Complaints record4/20
Paylocity
Quote only. OutSail estimates $18 to $22 per employee per month for core payroll and HR and $26 to $33 for the full suite, with implementation at 10% to 20% of first-year spend (Jul 24, 2026, third-party). Trustpilot 1.3 from 129 reviews. More in the Paylocity review.
How the score adds up
- Price transparency0/30
- Core HR9/30
- Payroll included10/20
- Complaints record4/20
What small business HR software costs for 5, 10 and 25 employees
| Option | Published price | 5 people | 10 people | 25 people | What the figure covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gusto Plus | $80 + $12 per person | $140 | $200 | $380 | Payroll included; time tracking, multi-state |
| Gusto Premium | $180 + $22 per person | $290 | $400 | $730 | Payroll included; HR and compliance tools |
| Justworks PEO Basic | $79 per employee | $395 | $790 | $1,975 | Payroll and HR tools; workers' comp and premiums extra |
| Justworks PEO Plus | $124 per employee | $620 | $1,240 | $3,100 | Adds benefits administration |
| BambooHR Core | $250 flat for 25 or fewer | $250 | $250 | $250 | No payroll; payroll add-on price not published |
| BambooHR Pro | $425 flat for 25 or fewer | $425 | $425 | $425 | No payroll in this figure |
| BambooHR Elite | $650 flat for 25 or fewer | $650 | $650 | $650 | No payroll in this figure |
| Rippling | From $8 per employee + base fee | $40 + base | $80 + base | $200 + base | Floor only; base fee not stated |
| Paylocity (estimate) | $18 to $22 per employee | $90 to $110 | $180 to $220 | $450 to $550 | OutSail mid-market estimate, Jul 2026 |
| Paycor | Quote only | n/a | n/a | n/a | Formerly $99 + $5 (Fit Small Business, May 2026) |
| OnPay payroll + HR add-on (not scored) | $49 + $6, plus $15 + $2 per worker | $104 | $144 | $264 | Budget route if payroll comes first |
| Patriot Full Service + HR add-on (not scored) | $37 + $5, plus $6 + $2 per employee | $78 | $113 | $218 | Lowest published HR add-on |
Math: base + (per-person fee x headcount), or per-employee fee x headcount. Example: Gusto Premium at 10 people = $180 + 10 x $22 = $400; OnPay at 10 = $49 + 10 x $6 + $15 + 10 x $2 = $144. Sources: Gusto, Justworks, BambooHR, Rippling, Paycor, OnPay and Patriot pricing pages, checked Oct 2026 (Oct 16, 2026); Paylocity estimate from OutSail (Jul 24, 2026), a third party, not a Paylocity price.
At 5 people BambooHR Core costs $250, more than Gusto Plus with payroll ($140). At 25 people BambooHR Core is still $250 and Gusto Premium is $730, but BambooHR still needs payroll on top. Above 25 employees BambooHR switches to per-employee pricing: 26 people on Core is 26 x $10 = $260 a month at the plan price, or 26 x $10.25 = $266.50 at the FAQ price. Run your own headcount through the employee cost calculator to see the full cost of each hire.
Add-ons and fees small businesses miss
- BambooHR's payroll promotion ($0 through Dec 31, 2026) needs a 12-month agreement and excludes implementation and multi-state fees. After it ends, the payroll price is whatever your quote says.
- Gusto bills the full month if you cancel after the 5th or after running payroll that month, and charges $100 federal, $100 per state and $5 per form if it files your final returns.
- Gusto Business Compliance is $85 per state per month on a 12-month commitment unless you are on Premium.
- Justworks Dedicated HR Consulting is $30 per employee per month; international contractors are $39 each.
- Rippling's base fee and module prices come only in a quote.
Ask every quote-only vendor for the price in writing at your current headcount and at double it. Modular and per-employee pricing grows faster than most owners expect.
What buyers complain about
- Gusto: tax filing errors with penalties left to the customer (very common), payroll blocked for funding, W-2s and reports hard to get after you cancel (Trustpilot, Jun to Oct 2026).
- Justworks: support that answers but does not resolve, payroll held or taxes filed wrong, 401(k) and FSA errors, billing at the wrong plan rate (Trustpilot, 2025 to 2026).
- Rippling: modular pricing hard to budget, slow support on complex issues, only admins reach live support, and one reviewer says state tax registration was left to them (Capterra, Sep 2025 to Aug 2026).
- BambooHR, Paycor, Paylocity: we have not yet researched complaint patterns. Their Trustpilot scores on Oct 16, 2026 were 3.3 (154 reviews), 1.6 (166) and 1.3 (129).
G2 scores run much higher than Trustpilot for the same vendors (BambooHR 4.4 from 7,705 G2 reviews). The two sites draw different reviewers, so we show both.
Contracts and leaving
| Provider | Contract | Cancellation | Records after you leave |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gusto | Month-to-month, no setup fee listed | Self-serve, takes effect immediately | Admins: read-only, no end date stated; employees: lifetime access to forms |
| Justworks | Monthly; no setup fees | Not published | Not published; one reviewer reports about three months to get old tax records (Trustpilot, Sep 24, 2026) |
| BambooHR | Month-to-month or an extended term; payroll promo needs 12 months | Not published | Not published |
| Rippling | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Paycor, Paylocity | Not published | Not published | Not published |
Sources: Gusto support article on canceling an account; Justworks, BambooHR, Rippling, Paycor and Paylocity pricing pages, checked Oct 16, 2026.
Before you sign anything with unpublished terms, get the cancellation notice period and the data export format in writing. Moving payroll mid-year is harder than moving HR records; the payroll setup guide lists what to collect. Hiring soon? The first-hire checklist and background check services cover the steps before day one.
Who should skip each one
- Skip BambooHR if you have fewer than about 10 people and no managers approving time off: $250 a month buys tools you will not use, and you still need payroll.
- Skip Gusto Premium if you only need onboarding and payroll: Plus at $80 + $12 covers time tracking and multi-state payroll.
- Skip Justworks PEO if you already have a health plan you like through a broker: PEO Basic is $79 per employee, $790 a month for 10 people before premiums, against $200 for Gusto Plus. See our Justworks review.
- Skip Rippling, Paycor and Paylocity if you need a price before a sales call.
Bottom line: Gusto is the default for a small team that wants payroll and basic HR at a posted price. BambooHR documents more HR features but costs more at small headcounts and needs payroll on top. Justworks makes sense when benefits are the reason you are buying. Compare payroll-first options in the best payroll software rankings and combined HR and payroll systems.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best HR software for a small business in 2026?
How much does HR software cost for 10 employees?
Is BambooHR worth it for a very small business?
Is there free HR software for small business?
Which small business HR software includes payroll?
Can I cancel HR software at any time?
Sources (20)
- Gusto: Gusto pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Gusto: Cancel your company's Gusto account (admins) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Justworks: Justworks pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- BambooHR: BambooHR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Rippling: Rippling pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Paycor: Paycor pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Fit Small Business: Paycor review (updated May 29, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Paylocity: Paylocity pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- OutSail: How much does Paylocity cost in 2026 (Jul 24, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- OnPay: OnPay pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Patriot Software: Patriot payroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Homebase: Homebase pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Capterra: Rippling reviews, page 6 (Sep 2025 to Aug 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Gusto reviews (1.9 from 2,535 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Justworks reviews (2.1 from 37 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: BambooHR reviews (3.3 from 154 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- G2: BambooHR reviews (4.4 from 7,705 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Rippling reviews (4.5 from 2,548 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Paycor reviews (1.6 from 166 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Paylocity reviews (1.3 from 129 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.