Best background check services and software for employers
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Checkr and GoodHire both publish background check packages at $29.99, $59.99 and $94.99 per report, according to their pricing pages (checked October 16, 2026). Checkr also itemizes add-ons such as $25 county searches and $9.50 driving records; GoodHire says only that third-party fees may apply.
We score both, show the cost for a year of hiring, and list what the package price leaves out.
Background check software is a service that collects a candidate's consent, runs criminal, driving, drug and other screens, and returns the report to the employer.
On this page
Quick picks
- Highest score
- Checkr, 66add-ons itemized
- Package prices
- $29.99 to $94.99same at Checkr and GoodHire
- Pass-through fees
- Not showncourt and DMV fees at cost
- Prices checked
- Oct 16, 2026
- Checkr (66): best for hourly or gig hiring at volume, with driving records, drug tests and continuous monitoring.
- GoodHire (39): best for small businesses running a handful of checks a year; a Checkr company with the same package prices.
Scores
| Provider | Score | Price transparency (40) | Turnaround and compliance (30) | Complaints (30) | Packages |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Checkr | 66 | 36 | 15 | 15 | $29.99, $59.99, $94.99; Enterprise by quote |
| GoodHire (a Checkr company) | 39 | 25 | 5 | 9 | $29.99, $59.99, $94.99; custom over 50 checks a year |
Source: HRPricing background check scores, updated Oct 17, 2026; prices from Checkr and GoodHire pricing pages, checked Oct 2026 (Oct 16, 2026).
| Criterion | Checkr | GoodHire |
|---|---|---|
| Package prices (20) | All three priced (20) | All three priced (20) |
| Add-on and pass-through fees (15) | Add-ons itemized, court and DMV fees not shown (12) | "Additional third-party fees may apply" with no list (3) |
| Billing terms (5) | Pay-as-you-go stated, minimum not stated (4) | Custom quote over 50 checks a year, billing model not stated (2) |
| Turnaround published (10) | No (0) | No (0) |
| FCRA compliance tools (10) | FCRA checks named, tools not documented (5) | Not published (0) |
| Extra screens (10) | MVR, drug tests, monitoring, international (10) | Package tiers only (5) |
| Complaints (30) | Trustpilot 4.0 from 1,004 reviews; patterns not yet researched (15) | Trustpilot 2.9 from 2 reviews; patterns not yet researched (9) |
Source: HRPricing background check scores, updated Oct 17, 2026, from pages checked Oct 16, 2026.
The full rules are in our scoring method. We compare published prices, terms and review data; we did not order checks from either provider.
The picks
Checkr
Basic $29.99, Essential $59.99 and Complete $94.99 per report, with Enterprise by quote. County searches $25, state and federal $10, MVR $9.50, drug tests $23 to $60. Pay-as-you-go with no monthly minimum stated; continuous monitoring is billed per person per month. Integrates with applicant tracking systems, and QuickBooks Workforce sells Checkr checks from $29.99 per report. More in Checkr pricing.
What works
- Every package and add-on priced
- Driving, drug, monitoring and international screens
- No monthly minimum stated
Watch out for
- Court and DMV fees not shown up front
- Turnaround times not published
- Trustpilot reviews mix employers and job candidates
How the score adds up
- Price transparency36/40
- Turnaround15/30
- Complaints record15/30
GoodHire
The same three packages at the same prices, sold self-serve to businesses running fewer than 50 checks a year. Above 50 a year you get a custom quote. The pricing page says "additional third-party fees may apply" without listing them, and add-on screens are not listed. G2 shows 4.6 from 280 reviews; Trustpilot has only 2 reviews (2.9).
What works
- Simple self-serve packages
- Small-business focus, ATS integrations
Watch out for
- Third-party fees not itemized
- Add-on screens not listed
- Billing model above 50 checks not stated
How the score adds up
- Price transparency25/40
- Turnaround5/30
- Complaints record9/30
Cost for 5, 10 and 25 hires a year
| Package | Per report | 5 hires | 10 hires | 25 hires |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $29.99 | $149.95 | $299.90 | $749.75 |
| Essential | $59.99 | $299.95 | $599.90 | $1,499.75 |
| Complete | $94.99 | $474.95 | $949.90 | $2,374.75 |
| Essential + MVR (drivers) | $69.49 | $347.45 | $694.90 | $1,737.25 |
Math: per-report price x hires; Essential + MVR = $59.99 + $9.50. Same package prices at Checkr and GoodHire; the MVR add-on is Checkr's. Court and DMV pass-through fees are extra. Sources: Checkr and GoodHire pricing pages, checked Oct 2026 (Oct 16, 2026).
GoodHire sells its self-serve packages to businesses running fewer than 50 checks a year and quotes above that, so a business screening more than 50 candidates a year should get a written quote from both. To see the background check in the full cost of a hire, use the employee cost calculator.
Fees the package price leaves out
- Court access fees: some county courts charge to search records. Checkr passes these through at cost and does not list amounts.
- DMV fees: state fees on driving records, also passed through at cost.
- Extra counties: a candidate who lived in several counties may need extra $25 county searches on Checkr, depending on what the package includes.
- GoodHire third-party fees: "may apply," with no list on the pricing page.
- Continuous monitoring: a recurring per-person monthly charge on Checkr if you turn it on.
Ask for an itemized sample invoice for your state before your first order. Pass-through fees vary by county and state.
Compliance features to check
The software runs the check; the legal duties stay with you. Neither Checkr nor GoodHire documents adverse action tools on its pricing page, so ask each to show in a demo how it handles these steps:
- Before you order: a written disclosure to the candidate and the candidate's written permission.
- Before you reject someone because of the report: notice to the candidate first, so they can respond.
- After you decide: a final adverse action notice that explains the candidate's rights.
The FTC's guide Background Checks: What Employers Need to Know has the exact contents of each notice; we could not read it in full on our review date. State and city ban-the-box or fair chance laws can add limits on when you ask about criminal history and what you may consider; we have not compiled a sourced state list. The employment background check guide has the full outline. This is general information, not legal advice.
Reviews and complaints
On October 16, 2026, Checkr had 4.5 from 459 reviews on G2 and 4.0 from 1,004 on Trustpilot. Checkr's Trustpilot reviews mix employers and job candidates, so a low rating can reflect a candidate disputing a result, not an employer's experience. GoodHire had 4.6 from 280 reviews on G2 but only 2 reviews on Trustpilot (2.9), too few to show a pattern. We have not yet researched recurring complaint themes for either.
Other providers and integrations
Sterling, another screening company, is now part of First Advantage, according to First Advantage's partners page. We have not scored it because we could not check published prices. Many payroll and HR systems connect to a screening provider: QuickBooks Workforce offers Checkr checks from $29.99 per report. If you are still choosing a system to hold hiring records, compare HR and payroll software, HRIS options and BambooHR pricing. Compare HR systems on the HR software hub and in onboarding software, and see hiring your first employee for where the check fits in the hiring order.
Bottom line: Checkr is the pick if you hire often or hire drivers, because every add-on is priced. GoodHire suits a business running a few checks a year that wants a simple self-serve order at the same package prices. Either way, add pass-through fees to your budget and build the FCRA notices into your process. Then set up the hire in payroll software.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best background check software for small business?
How much does background check software cost?
Is GoodHire owned by Checkr?
Are there hidden fees in background checks?
Does background check software handle FCRA compliance?
Can I run background checks through my payroll software?
Sources (10)
- Checkr: Checkr pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- GoodHire: GoodHire pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- G2: Checkr reviews (4.5 from 459 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: Checkr reviews (4.0 from 1,004 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- G2: GoodHire reviews (4.6 from 280 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Trustpilot: GoodHire reviews (2.9 from 2 reviews) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Intuit QuickBooks: QuickBooks Payroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Checkr: Checkr affiliate terms (lists goodhire.com as a Checkr website) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- First Advantage: Partners page ("Sterling is now a First Advantage company") (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Federal Trade Commission: Background Checks: What Employers Need to Know (business guidance; title and URL confirmed in a search result, full text not read) (search result checked October 17, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.