Employer of record in the UAE and Dubai: costs and rules
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
An expatriate employee in the UAE carries no employer social security, so the cost on top of salary is the end-of-service gratuity, which accrues at 3.50% (AED 5,145 a year) on an AED 147,000 package with a 60% basic wage (Federal Decree-Law 33 of 2021, art. 51); published EOR list prices run from $199 (Payoneer WFM, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) per person per month, according to pricing pages checked October 2026. What foreign employers get wrong is the gratuity base: it is 21 days of the last basic wage per year of service, so the split between basic pay and allowances sets the bill.
Hire a UAE national instead and the picture changes: a 12.5% GPSSA pension contribution applies, and an AED 6,000 minimum basic wage.
An employer of record in the UAE is a UAE company that employs your hire under Federal Decree-Law 33 of 2021, pays salary through the Wage Protection System and carries the gratuity and any GPSSA pension contributions, while you direct the work.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- Expatriate: 3.50% (gratuity…on top of gross pay
- Minimum annual leave
- 30 days per year after 1…
- Currency
- AED
On this page
UAE rules that decide what a hire costs
Nationality decides which system applies.
Expatriates
No pension or social security. The employer cost is the end-of-service gratuity after 1 year of service: 21 days of the last basic wage per year for the first 5 years, 30 days per year after that, capped at 2 years' wage in total (art. 51). The Cabinet may approve savings schemes in place of the gratuity (art. 51(8)). Health insurance is mandatory in Dubai and Abu Dhabi and paid by the employer; we have not priced it. Unemployment insurance (ILOE) is paid by the employee.
UAE nationals
Under Federal Decree-Law 57 of 2023, the employer contributes 15% to GPSSA, of which the government covers 2.5% for salaries under AED 20,000, leaving 12.5%; the employee pays 11%. Members under the old law pay 15% and 5%. The contribution salary is basic pay plus fixed allowances, between AED 3,000 and AED 70,000 a month. Abu Dhabi nationals join ADPF at 15% and 11%, and GCC nationals contribute at their home-country rate up to 15%. From January 1, 2026, private employers must pay Emiratis at least AED 6,000 a month in basic wage on new and renewed permits. Pension and Emirati wage figures are from secondary sources (Zoho, Middle East Briefing); gpssa.gov.ae rejected our requests.
Rules for everyone
- Probation: up to 6 months (art. 9).
- Notice: set in the contract, at least 30 and at most 90 days (art. 43).
- Annual leave: 30 days a year after 1 year of service, 2 days a month after 6 months (art. 29).
- Hours: at most 8 a day and 48 a week (art. 18).
- Pay: monthly, through the Wage Protection System for MoHRE-registered employers.
Public holidays are set each year by Cabinet resolution, and we have not confirmed the 2026 count or the WPS payment deadline from an official page. MoHRE (mohre.gov.ae) is the place to check.
Employment costs and rules in United Arab Emirates
| Item | United Arab Emirates |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | Expatriates: 0% social security (end-of-service gratuity accrual about 3.5% of total pay instead). UAE nationals: GPSSA employer 12.5% after the 2.5% government share (15% gross), on the contribution salary |
| What the employer pays | Expatriates: no pension or social security; end-of-service gratuity (see severance); mandatory health insurance in Dubai and Abu Dhabi (employer cost, not priced); unemployment insurance (ILOE) is employee-paid. UAE nationals (GPSSA, Federal Decree-Law 57/2023, insured from Oct 2023): employer 15%, of which the government covers 2.5% for salaries under AED 20,000 (net 12.5%), employee 11%; old-law members: employer 15%, employee 5%. Abu Dhabi nationals (ADPF): new members employer 15%, employee 11%. GCC nationals: GCC extension scheme at the home-country rate up to 15% |
| Caps and ceilings | GPSSA contribution salary = basic plus fixed allowances; min AED 3,000/mo, max AED 70,000/mo (new law; old law AED 50,000); ADPF max AED 100,000 (secondary). Gratuity capped at 2 years' wage |
| Employee contributions | Expatriates 0%; UAE nationals 11% (new law) or 5% (old law) |
| Minimum wage | No general minimum wage. UAE nationals in the private sector: AED 6,000/mo basic from Jan 1, 2026 for new and renewed permits; existing contracts to be amended by Jun 30, 2026 (MoHRE, via secondary) |
| Annual leave | 30 days per year after 1 year; 2 days per month after 6 months (Decree-Law 33/2021 art. 29) |
| Probation | 6 months (art. 9) |
| Notice period | Agreed in contract: at least 30 and at most 90 days (art. 43) |
| Severance | Expatriates with 1+ year of service: 21 days' last basic wage per year for the first 5 years, 30 days per year after; total capped at 2 years' wage (art. 51). Cabinet may approve alternative savings schemes in place of gratuity (art. 51(8)). UAE nationals receive GPSSA pension rights instead |
| Payroll frequency | Monthly, through the Wage Protection System (WPS) for MoHRE-registered employers |
| Standard work week | Max 8 hours/day, 48 hours/week (art. 18) |
| Sample salary used | AED 147,000 per year (AED 12,250/mo), assumed basic AED 7,350 (60%); about USD 40,000 at the AED 3.6725 peg |
| Employer cost on that salary | Expatriate: 3.50% (gratuity accrual 7,350/30 x 21 = AED 5,145/yr), before health insurance and visa costs. UAE national: 12.5% of contribution salary (AED 18,375/yr if all pay is basic plus fixed allowances) |
Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official (MoHRE labor law text) for leave, probation, notice, gratuity, hours; secondary (Zoho, Middle East Briefing) for GPSSA rates and the Emirati minimum salary. gpssa.gov.ae rejected automated requests; u.ae pages returned errors. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in United Arab Emirates
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
The gratuity math on an AED 147,000 package
We assume a basic wage of AED 7,350 a month (60% of AED 12,250), with the rest in allowances, and a daily wage of basic / 30.
| Line | How it is worked out | AED per year |
|---|---|---|
| Total salary | 12,250 x 12 (about USD 40,000 at the 3.6725 peg) | 147,000.00 |
| Basic wage (assumed 60%) | 7,350 a month | basis for gratuity |
| Pension or social security | none for expatriates | 0.00 |
| End-of-service gratuity accrual, years 1 to 5 | 7,350 / 30 x 21 days | 5,145.00 (3.50%) |
| Salary plus gratuity accrual | 147,000 + 5,145 | 152,145.00 |
| EOR fee | $599 x 12 = $7,188, x 3.6725 | 26,397.93 |
| All-in cost | per year (AED 14,878.58 a month) | 178,542.93 |
Source: Federal Decree-Law 33 of 2021, art. 51 (MoHRE), read Oct 16, 2026; the 60% basic split and the basic / 30 daily wage are our assumptions; the fee line is $599, the Deel and Remote list price (read Oct 16, 2026). Health insurance and visa costs are not included.
The divisor is not settled. Some calculators use basic x 12 / 365, which gives 7,350 x 12 / 365 x 21 = AED 5,074.52 a year. From year 6 the accrual rises to 30 days, or 7,350 / 30 x 30 = AED 7,350 a year (5.00%). An employee leaving after 3 years on the same basic wage is owed 3 x 5,145 = AED 15,435.
For a UAE national on the same AED 12,250 a month, the employer GPSSA share is 12.5% x 147,000 = AED 18,375 a year if all pay counts as basic plus fixed allowances. That is more than three times the expatriate gratuity accrual.
Try other packages in the international employee cost calculator.
EOR or setting up in the UAE
With almost no payroll levy on expatriates, the EOR fee of AED 26,397.93 a year is the largest cost on top of salary in the example: 26,397.93 / 5,145 = 5.1 times the gratuity accrual. A company of your own would remove the fee but bring licensing, visa and WPS registration work, which we have not priced. Our EOR versus entity guide covers how to compare the two.
Contractors in the UAE
A contractor costs you no gratuity, but someone working full time under your direction looks like an employee, and an accrued gratuity of AED 5,145 a year would be owed on this salary. Pay real freelancers through contractor management platforms; Remote's contractor of record plan is $325 a month and Multiplier's is $400 on annual billing (October 2026 prices).
Which EOR suits a UAE hire
Multiplier scores 79/100 on our published method and charges $459 a month on an annual plan or $499 monthly; its deposit is set from costs, fees and notice periods, so a 90-day notice clause can raise it. Oyster, at 64/100, charges $699 with a deposit of at least one month of total service cost under its terms (its pricing page, in the fee table, gives no amount), credited about 60 days after the end date.
Ask each provider whether it holds its own UAE entity and how it splits basic pay from allowances, since that split drives the gratuity. Terms and complaints are in the Deel review, Remote review and Oyster review, with every provider on the best EOR list. Gulf neighbors: Saudi Arabia and Qatar.
Frequently asked questions
How much does it cost to employ an expat in the UAE through an EOR?
How is end-of-service gratuity calculated in the UAE?
Do employers pay social security for expatriates in the UAE?
How long can probation last in the UAE?
What notice period does UAE labor law require?
What is the minimum salary for UAE nationals in 2026?
Sources (10)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster terms of service (deposit and termination terms) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- mohre.gov.ae/assets/download/3bde4984/Federal%20Decree-Law%20No.%20... (checked October 16, 2026)
- zoho.com/en-ae/payroll/academy/compliance/gpssa-and-adpf-pension.html (checked October 16, 2026)
- middleeastbriefing.com/news/uaes-aed-6000-minimum-wage-rule-for-emi... (checked October 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.