Employer of record in Egypt: costs and rules
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Egypt's employer social insurance rate and insurable wage cap for 2026 could not be read on an official source for this page, so we show no employer cost percentage; what we can price is the EOR service itself, listed from $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) on October 16, 2026, on top of salary and contributions. The cost item to budget for is the compulsory annual raise: under the National Wages Council decision of February 9, 2025, private employers must raise pay each year by at least 3% of the insurable wage, never less than EGP 250 a month.
An employer of record in Egypt is an Egyptian company that hires your worker under its own registration, enrolls them in national social insurance and runs payroll, while you set the work.
- Currency
- EGP
On this page
What is confirmed about employing in Egypt
The Ministry of Planning, Economic Development and International Cooperation published the National Wages Council decision of February 9, 2025. It sets two things a budget must include:
- Minimum wage: EGP 7,000 a month for the private sector from March 1, 2025. We found no 2026 increase on an official site.
- Periodic annual raise (alawa dawriya): at least 3% of the insurable (subscription) wage, and at least EGP 250 a month. That floor alone adds EGP 3,000 a year (250 x 12) to each salary, every year.
Payroll in Egypt runs monthly. Social insurance falls under Law 148 of 2019, administered by the National Organization for Social Insurance (NOSI), and a new Labor Law (Law 14 of 2025) was reported to take effect in September 2025.
Not yet confirmed from an official source: the employer and employee social insurance rates, the 2026 minimum and maximum insurable wage, Universal Health Insurance in the governorates where it has launched, and the Labor Law 14 of 2025 terms on probation, notice, leave, severance and working hours. NOSI's site did not render for our research. Before signing, ask your EOR for a written rate sheet that cites NOSI, and check labor terms with the Ministry of Labor.
Employment costs and rules in Egypt
| Item | Egypt |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | 18.75% of insurable wage (unconfirmed today); about 2.0% of salary at the sample because of the cap |
| What the employer pays | Social insurance under Law 148 of 2019: employer 18.75% of the insurable wage covering old age, disability and death, work injury, sickness and unemployment (component split not confirmed today); Universal Health Insurance contributions apply in governorates where the new system has launched (not checked today) |
| Caps and ceilings | Insurable wage rises 15% a year under Law 148: 2026 minimum EGP 2,700 and maximum EGP 16,700 per month (unconfirmed today; nosi.gov.eg pages did not render) |
| Employee contributions | 11% of insurable wage (unconfirmed today), plus income tax |
| Minimum wage | EGP 7,000 per month for the private sector from Mar 1 2025 (National Wages Council decision of Feb 9 2025); no 2026 increase confirmed |
| Mandatory bonuses | Periodic annual raise (alawa dawriya) of at least 3% of the insurable (subscription) wage and not less than EGP 250 per month (National Wages Council decision of Feb 9 2025) |
| Notice period | 2 months (under 10 years of service), 3 months (10 years or more) (unconfirmed today) |
| Severance | Unjustified dismissal: at least 2 months' wages per year of service (unconfirmed today) |
| Payroll frequency | Monthly |
| Sample salary used | EGP 1,920,000 per year (EGP 160,000 per month); exchange rate not confirmed today, chosen at roughly 48 EGP per USD |
Checked October 17, 2026. Source type: official (minimum wage and annual raise only). Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Egypt
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
Budgeting an EGP 160,000 a month hire
The example hire earns EGP 160,000 a month, EGP 1,920,000 a year, a figure picked at around 48 pounds per dollar. No exchange rate was confirmed, so fees appear in USD.
| Line | Per year | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | EGP 1,920,000 | Your offer |
| Minimum periodic raise for next year | at least EGP 3,000 | Confirmed (EGP 250 a month floor) |
| Employer social insurance | Ask for the rate and cap in writing | Not confirmed |
| Universal Health Insurance | Depends on the governorate | Not confirmed |
| EOR fee at $599 a month | USD 7,188 | Deel and Remote list price |
Raise rule: National Wages Council decision of Feb 9, 2025, via the Ministry of Planning. Fee: Deel and Remote list price. Checked Oct 2026.
The raise is tied to the insurable wage, not to the full salary. Ask the EOR which insurable wage it uses for your hire and how it calculates the raise, and get both in writing.
How to hire in Egypt compliantly
You have three routes. An EOR employs the person for you and takes on NOSI registration and payroll; at $599, three hires cost $21,564 a year in fees. Your own Egyptian company carries those duties itself; weigh the two with our EOR versus entity breakdown. Paying a contractor skips social insurance, but a full-time worker under your direction looks like an employee, and the unpaid contributions become your exposure. For real freelance work, see contractor management tools or a contractor of record.
Choosing an EOR provider for Egypt
| Provider | Our score | EOR fee per month | Entity model |
|---|---|---|---|
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Own legal entities in every country (claim) | |
| Oyster | $699 | Owned entities and partners | |
| Remote | from $599 ($699 in a March 2026 help article) | 100% owned entities in 90+ countries (claim) | |
| Playroll | from $399 | No owned-entity claim | |
| Pebl | $399 | About 90% of employees on Pebl entities | |
| Deel | $599 | Wholly owned entities in 130+ of 150+ countries (claim) |
HRPricing scores, October 17, 2026. Entity model is each provider's own claim, October 16, 2026; none confirms an Egyptian entity on its pricing page.
With so little official data readable, the best provider for Egypt is the one that writes its NOSI rate, the insurable wage it applies and its raise calculation into the service agreement, and says whether it employs through its own Egyptian company or a partner. Scoring rules are on our method page; terms are compared in the EOR ranking and the Deel, Remote and Oyster reviews, and the EOR cost index covers other countries.
Frequently asked questions
What does an Egypt employer of record cost?
What is the minimum wage in Egypt?
Do Egyptian employers have to give a yearly raise?
What is the employer social insurance rate in Egypt?
How do I hire in Egypt compliantly without a local company?
Sources (8)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- mped.gov.eg/singlenews?id=6009 (checked October 17, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.