Employer of record in Saudi Arabia: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

A SAR 150,000 employee hired through an employer of record in Saudi Arabia costs at least 15.17% on top of salary if they are a Saudi national (11% GOSI, mainly the 9% annuities share, plus the end-of-service accrual, before SANED unemployment insurance, whose rate we have not confirmed) and 6.17% if they are an expatriate (2% occupational hazards plus the same accrual), based on the Social Insurance Law and the Labor Law; the provider's service fee is extra, listed from $199 per worker monthly (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) in October 2026. American companies most often get the nationality split wrong: GOSI annuities cover Saudi workers only, while the end-of-service award builds up for every employee, Saudi or not, and is paid when the job ends.

An employer of record in Saudi Arabia is a Saudi-registered company that employs your hire, enrolls them with GOSI, runs payroll and handles end-of-service pay, while you run the work.

Employer cost on a sample salary
Saudi national (old law):…on top of gross pay
Minimum annual leave
21 days; 30 days after 5…
Currency
SAR
On this page

Saudi hiring rules that differ from the US

  • Social insurance depends on nationality. Annuities (old age, disability, death) cost 18% of contributory wage, split 9% employer and 9% employee, for Saudi workers only (Social Insurance Law art. 18). Occupational hazards cost 2%, paid by the employer alone, for every worker regardless of nationality, and can be doubled for employers who ignore safety instructions.
  • Contributions have a ceiling. The maximum contributory wage is SAR 45,000 a month (art. 19). Contributions are computed on the basic wage; we have not confirmed whether the regulations add the housing allowance or the SAR 1,500 minimum.
  • There is no general minimum wage. SAR 4,000 a month is the level at which a Saudi employee counts fully toward Nitaqat quotas (secondary source: Remote; the HRSD page was not reachable).
  • Leave is 21 days, rising to 30 days after 5 years of continuous service (Labor Law art. 109). The count of about 10 public holiday days in the summary box is not yet confirmed.
  • Probation and notice rules have been amended. The Labor Law text on the official BOE laws site (laws.boe.gov.sa) shows 90 days of probation (art. 53) and at least 30 days' notice for monthly-paid staff (art. 75), and marks both articles as amended. We have not yet confirmed the amendments, reportedly made in February 2025, from an official source, so get the current terms in writing from the EOR.

Employment costs and rules in Saudi Arabia

Employing someone in Saudi Arabia: the rules and costs
ItemSaudi Arabia
Employer social contributionsSaudi nationals: 11% confirmed (annuities 9%, occupational hazards 2%) plus SANED unemployment insurance (reported 0.75%, unconfirmed); expatriates: 2% (occupational hazards only)
What the employer paysAnnuities branch (old age, disability, death): 18% of contributory wage, 9% employer and 9% employee, Saudi workers only (Social Insurance Law art. 18). Occupational hazards branch: 2% of contributory wage, employer only, all workers regardless of nationality; may be doubled for employers who ignore safety instructions (art. 18). SANED unemployment insurance: rate unconfirmed today. New Social Insurance Law in force July 3 2024 applies to new entrants with no prior contribution periods; its rate schedule was not confirmed today
Caps and ceilingsMaximum contributory wage SAR 45,000 per month (Social Insurance Law art. 19). Contributions are computed on the basic monthly wage; the regulations may add allowances (inclusion of housing allowance and the SAR 1,500 minimum were not confirmed today)
Employee contributionsSaudi nationals: 9% annuities (plus SANED, unconfirmed); expatriates: 0% (annuities cover Saudi workers only)
Minimum wageNo general statutory minimum wage. SAR 4,000 per month is the level at which a Saudi employee counts fully for Nitaqat quotas (secondary: remote.com; HRSD page not reachable)
Mandatory bonusesNone statutory. End-of-service award accrues (see severance)
Annual leave21 days; 30 days after 5 years of continuous service (Labor Law art. 109)
Public holidaysAbout 10 (Eid al-Fitr 4, Eid al-Adha 4, Founding Day Feb 22, National Day Sep 23) (unconfirmed today)
ProbationOfficial BOE text read today shows 90 days (art. 53); Feb 2025 amendments reportedly allow up to 180 days (unconfirmed today)
Notice periodOfficial BOE text read today: at least 30 days for monthly-paid staff, 15 days otherwise (art. 75); Feb 2025 amendments reportedly set 60 days when the employer terminates and 30 days when the employee resigns (unconfirmed today)
SeveranceEnd-of-service award: half a month's last wage per year for the first 5 years, one month per year after; prorated; reduced on resignation (Labor Law art. 84, 85)
Payroll frequencyMonthly via the Wage Protection System (unconfirmed today)
Standard work week48 (36 in Ramadan for Muslim employees) (unconfirmed today)
Sample salary usedSAR 150,000 per year (SAR 12,500 per month; USD peg 3.75 SAR per USD, so about USD 40,000)
Employer cost on that salarySaudi national (old law): 11.0% GOSI confirmed, 15.17% with end-of-service accrual (SANED not included); expatriate: 2.0% GOSI, 6.17% with end-of-service accrual

Checked October 17, 2026. Source type: official (GOSI law text, SPA, BOE Labor Law); minimum wage note secondary (remote.com). Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Saudi Arabia

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

Saudi nationals and expatriates: two different GOSI bills

The same salary produces two very different bills. A Saudi national adds SAR 1,375 a month in employer GOSI (9% annuities plus 2% occupational hazards); an expatriate adds SAR 250 (2% only), and pays no employee annuities share.

Annual employer cost on SAR 150,000 (SAR 12,500 a month), Saudi national vs expatriate
LineSaudi national (SAR)Expatriate (SAR)
Gross salary150,000150,000
GOSI annuities, employer 9%13,5000
GOSI occupational hazards, employer 2%3,0003,000
GOSI total16,500 (11%)3,000 (2%)
SANED unemployment insurancerate not yet confirmednot applicable
End-of-service accrual, 0.5 month per year6,250 (4.17%)6,250 (4.17%)
Employer cost22,750 (15.17%)9,250 (6.17%)
Salary plus employer cost172,750159,250
EOR fee, $7,188 at 3.75 SAR per USD26,95526,955
Total for one year199,705186,205

Math: 9% x 150,000 = 13,500; 2% x 150,000 = 3,000; end-of-service 12,500 x 0.5 = 6,250. Assumes the whole salary is contributory wage (below the SAR 45,000 monthly cap). Expatriate totals exclude the expat levy, iqama and work permit fees, which we did not check. Sources: GOSI Social Insurance Law (arts. 18, 19), BOE Labor Law (arts. 84, 85); Deel and Remote pricing pages. Checked Oct 2026.

Two open items for Saudi nationals. SANED unemployment insurance applies to them, but we have not confirmed its rate from GOSI. And the new Social Insurance Law in force since July 3, 2024 applies only to new entrants with no prior contribution periods, according to the Saudi Press Agency; their annuity rate schedule is not yet confirmed. Current contributors stay on the old rates, with retirement age rising gradually to a range of 58 to 65 for those under 50 with fewer than 20 years of contributions. For expatriates, the monthly expat levy and iqama and work permit fees come on top and are not in our totals.

The end-of-service award builds every year

Under Labor Law arts. 84 and 85, the employer owes half a month's last wage for each of the first 5 years and a full month for each year after that, prorated for part years and reduced when the employee resigns. At SAR 12,500 a month that is SAR 6,250 a year for the first 5 years and SAR 12,500 a year after. Ask whether your EOR invoices this monthly as an accrual or bills it when the job ends; it changes your cash flow and the deposit it may ask for.

Where vendor pages get Saudi Arabia wrong

Remote's Saudi Arabia country page showed employer GOSI as 0% for both Saudi nationals and expatriates when we checked on October 16, 2026. Papaya Global's Saudi page, last updated March 21, 2022, lists a 10% employee occupational hazard charge for non-Saudis, but occupational hazards are paid by the employer only. Use the GOSI law figures above when you compare quotes.

Choosing an EOR in Saudi Arabia

Our scores (scoring method) rank Multiplier first at 79 ($459 a month annual, $499 monthly) and Oyster second at 64 ($699), then Remote at 62 and Deel at 54, both $599. Ask every provider to quote the hire as a Saudi national or an expatriate, with GOSI, SANED, the end-of-service accrual and any expat levy shown as separate lines. Compare terms in our best EOR guide and the Remote, Oyster and Deel reviews.

Contractor, EOR or a Saudi company

A contractor in Saudi Arabia skips GOSI and the end-of-service award, but an exclusive full-time arrangement can be treated as employment, and that award is the exposure. A contractor of record takes on the classification risk; a contractor management platform only pays. At SAR 26,955 a year per person in EOR fees, compare the cost of your own entity, including its Nitaqat quota obligations, with the EOR versus entity guide.

Frequently asked questions

What are the GOSI rates in Saudi Arabia for Saudi nationals and expatriates?
For Saudi nationals the employer pays 9% annuities plus 2% occupational hazards (11%), and the employee pays 9% annuities, under the Social Insurance Law (art. 18). For expatriates the employer pays only the 2% occupational hazards and the employee pays nothing. SANED unemployment insurance applies to Saudi nationals; its rate is not yet confirmed in our data.
How much does it cost to hire in Saudi Arabia through an EOR?
On SAR 150,000 a year, employer costs are SAR 22,750 (15.17%) for a Saudi national and SAR 9,250 (6.17%) for an expatriate, including end-of-service accrual. The Saudi figure excludes SANED unemployment insurance, whose rate is not yet confirmed, and the expatriate figure excludes the expat levy and permit fees. A $599 EOR fee adds SAR 26,955 a year at the 3.75 peg; published fees range from $199 to $699 a month (checked October 2026).
How is end-of-service pay calculated in Saudi Arabia?
Half a month's last wage per year for the first 5 years and one month per year after that, prorated for part years, and reduced if the employee resigns (Labor Law arts. 84 and 85).
What is the maximum GOSI contributory wage?
SAR 45,000 a month under Social Insurance Law art. 19. Contributions are computed on the basic wage; whether housing allowance is included was not confirmed in our research.
How much annual leave do employees get in Saudi Arabia?
21 days a year, rising to 30 days after 5 years of continuous service, under Labor Law art. 109.
Sources (12)
  1. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Playroll: Playroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Oyster: Oyster pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Remote: Remote pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Remote: Remote country explorer: Saudi Arabia (shows 0% employer GOSI) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Papaya Global: Countrypedia: Saudi Arabia (updated Mar 21, 2022) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. beta.gosi.gov.sa/en/social-insurance (checked October 17, 2026)
  11. spa.gov.sa/en/N2132534 (checked October 17, 2026)
  12. laws.boe.gov.sa/BoeLaws/Laws/LawDetails/08381293-6388-48e2-8ad2-a9a... (checked October 17, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site