Employer of record in Singapore: CPF, costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

A Singapore citizen or permanent resident aged 55 or under costs 17% on top of salary in employer CPF contributions, SGD 8,698.73 on an SGD 51,169 salary (about USD 40,000), per CPF Board rates checked October 2026, and published EOR list prices of $199 (Payoneer WFM, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month come on top. What US companies get wrong is who CPF covers: it applies to citizens and PRs only, so a foreign hire on the same salary carries no CPF at all and the cost depends on residency status, not pay.

An employer of record in Singapore is a Singapore-registered company that employs your hire under the Employment Act, runs payroll and pays CPF contributions where they apply, while you manage the work.

Employer cost on a sample salary
17.00% CPF (citizen or PR…on top of gross pay
Minimum annual leave
Employment Act: 7 days in…
Currency
SGD
On this page

How Singapore's employer obligations differ

Singapore's payroll cost comes down to one scheme, the Central Provident Fund, and the rate depends on age and residency.

  • Employer CPF by age: 17% up to 55, 16% from 55 to 60, 12.5% from 60 to 65, 9% from 65 to 70 and 7.5% above 70, for monthly wages above SGD 750. First- and second-year PRs pay graduated rates. The employee adds 20% at age 55 and under. Rates for ages 55 to 65 changed on January 1, 2026, and CPF has announced further senior-worker increases from January 1, 2027.
  • A higher wage ceiling. The Ordinary Wage ceiling rose to SGD 8,000 a month from January 1, 2026 (SGD 7,400 in 2025). CPF also lists an annual salary ceiling of SGD 102,000 for ordinary plus additional wages, stated for 2016 onward but not restated for 2026 on the page we read.
  • No statutory bonus and no general minimum wage. Any 13th month or year-end bonus is a contract term. We did not check the sector Progressive Wage Model rules.
  • Leave grows with service. The Employment Act gives 7 days of annual leave in year 1, rising by a day a year to 14 days from year 8, once the employee has 3 months of service.
  • Notice when the contract is silent. 1 day under 26 weeks of service, 1 week from 26 weeks to under 2 years, 2 weeks from 2 to under 5 years, and 4 weeks from 5 years. Notice must be equal for both sides.

We have not yet confirmed the Skills Development Levy, public holiday count, retrenchment benefit norm, probation, working hours or pay frequency from an official page. The Ministry of Manpower (mom.gov.sg) publishes all of them.

Employment costs and rules in Singapore

Employing someone in Singapore: the rules and costs
ItemSingapore
Employer social contributions17% CPF (citizens and PRs aged 55 and below) plus Skills Development Levy; foreigners: no CPF
What the employer paysCPF employer 17% (age 55 and below), 16% (55 to 60), 12.5% (60 to 65), 9% (65 to 70), 7.5% (over 70), for monthly wages above SGD 750 and SC/SPR from 3rd year of PR; graduated rates for 1st and 2nd year PRs
Caps and ceilingsOrdinary Wage ceiling SGD 8,000 per month from Jan 1 2026 (was 7,400 in 2025); annual salary ceiling SGD 102,000 for OW + Additional Wages (listed by CPF for 2016 onward, not restated for 2026 on the page read)
Employee contributions20% CPF (age 55 and below); citizens and PRs only
Minimum wageNo general statutory minimum wage (sector Progressive Wage Model not checked)
Mandatory bonusesNone statutory
Annual leaveEmployment Act: 7 days in year 1, rising 1 day per year to 14 days from year 8 (after 3 months service)
Notice periodIf the contract is silent: 1 day (under 26 weeks), 1 week (26 weeks to under 2 years), 2 weeks (2 to under 5 years), 4 weeks (5+ years); contract notice must be equal for both sides
Sample salary usedSGD 51,169 (SGD 4,264 per month)
Employer cost on that salary17.00% CPF (citizen or PR aged 55 or under)

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Singapore

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

Costing an SGD 51,169 hire, local or foreign

Monthly pay is 51,169 / 12 = SGD 4,264.08, under the SGD 8,000 ceiling, so the full 17% applies to every dollar of ordinary wages.

SGD 51,169 a year in Singapore: the same salary, two residency cases
LineCitizen or PR, aged 55 or underForeign employee (no CPF)
Annual salary (SGD 4,264.08 a month)SGD 51,169.00SGD 51,169.00
Employer CPF17% x 51,169 = SGD 8,698.73SGD 0.00
Salary plus employer CPFSGD 59,867.73SGD 51,169.00
Employer cost on top of salary17.00%0.00%
EOR fee ($599 x 12)USD 7,188USD 7,188

Source: CPF Board contribution rates and Ordinary Wage ceiling (cpf.gov.sg), read Oct 16, 2026; fee at the $599 list price Deel and Remote published on Oct 16, 2026. Skills Development Levy and work pass costs are not included. The fee stays in US dollars; at the ECB cross rate of October 16, 2026 used for the salary (SGD 1.2792 per USD), USD 7,188 is SGD 9,195.07.

The ceiling caps the CPF bill for senior hires: at SGD 8,000 a month or more, employer CPF on ordinary wages stops at 17% x 8,000 = SGD 1,360 a month. For a foreign hire, the employer contribution figure is zero, but work pass costs (not priced here) come in instead. Model your own figures in the cost calculator for international hires or rank Singapore against other markets in the country cost index.

EOR or a Singapore company of your own

With employer CPF at 17% and no cost at all for foreign staff, the EOR fee is the biggest controllable line here: USD 7,188 a year at $599, against SGD 8,698.73 of CPF for a local hire. So the fee is a bigger share of the total here than in a high-contribution country such as Brazil. We have not priced Singapore company formation; our entity versus EOR guide shows the break-even math.

Contractors in Singapore

A contractor relationship skips CPF, which only saves money for citizen and PR workers. The risk is a contractor who is in practice an employee: the Employment Act protections and CPF become due. Real freelancers can be paid through contractor management platforms; a contractor of record costs $325 a month at Remote or $400 at Multiplier on annual billing (checked October 2026) and takes on the classification review.

Which provider for a Singapore hire

Multiplier is our top-scored EOR at 79/100 (how we score): $459 a month if billed annually, $499 if monthly, with a deposit it calculates from employment costs, fees and notice periods. Singapore's statutory notice, at most 4 weeks when the contract is silent, is one of those inputs. Oyster scores 64/100 and charges $699, with a deposit of at least one month of total service cost under its terms (its pricing page, in the fee table, gives no amount) and 30 days' notice to end the agreement.

Before you sign, confirm the provider applies the 2026 SGD 8,000 ceiling and the right age band. Reviews of each provider's terms: Oyster, Deel and Remote; the EOR rankings show everyone else. Hiring in the region too? See Malaysia EOR costs and Hong Kong.

Frequently asked questions

How much employer CPF do you pay in Singapore in 2026?
17% of ordinary wages for a citizen or PR aged 55 or under, falling to 16%, 12.5%, 9% and 7.5% in older age bands, per the CPF Board. On SGD 51,169 a year that is SGD 8,698.73. The part of ordinary wages above SGD 8,000 a month carries no CPF.
Do employers pay CPF for foreign employees in Singapore?
No. CPF applies to Singapore citizens and permanent residents only, per the CPF Board. A foreign employee on the same salary carries no employer or employee CPF.
What is the CPF Ordinary Wage ceiling in 2026?
SGD 8,000 a month from January 1, 2026, up from SGD 7,400 in 2025 (cpf.gov.sg). The most an employer pays on ordinary wages at the 17% rate is SGD 1,360 a month.
What notice period applies in Singapore if the contract does not set one?
The Ministry of Manpower sets 1 day for under 26 weeks of service, 1 week for 26 weeks to under 2 years, 2 weeks for 2 to under 5 years and 4 weeks for 5 years or more. Contract notice must be the same for employer and employee.
How much annual leave does Singapore require?
Under the Employment Act, 7 days in the first year of service, rising by 1 day a year to 14 days from year 8, after 3 months of service (Ministry of Manpower).
Does Singapore have a minimum wage?
There is no general statutory minimum wage in Singapore. Some sectors have Progressive Wage Model rules, which we have not checked.
Sources (11)
  1. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Oyster: Oyster terms of service (deposit and termination terms) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. cpf.gov.sg/employer/employer-obligations/how-much-cpf-contributions... (checked October 16, 2026)
  9. cpf.gov.sg/service/article/what-is-the-ordinary-wage-ow-ceiling (checked October 16, 2026)
  10. mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/leave/annual-leave/eligibility-and-... (checked October 16, 2026)
  11. mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/termination-of-employment/terminati... (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site