Employer of record in Hong Kong: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Hiring in Hong Kong adds 5.0% to a HKD 314,000 salary, all of it the employer's mandatory MPF contribution, which stops at HKD 1,500 a month, according to the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority (MPFA); EOR list prices run from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month, checked October 2026. What US companies get wrong is the exit bill: since May 1, 2025, MPF balances can no longer offset severance or long service payments for service after that date, so those payments are now a full cash cost.

An employer of record in Hong Kong is a Hong Kong company that hires your worker under the Employment Ordinance, enrolls them in an MPF scheme, buys employees' compensation insurance and pays wages, while you lead the work.

Employer cost on a sample salary
5.0% (plus employees'…on top of gross pay
Minimum annual leave
7 days for years 1 and 2,…
Public holidays
15 statutory holidays in 2026…
Currency
HKD
On this page

What is different about employing in Hong Kong

Hong Kong's payroll is light. The only percentage charge is MPF: 5% of relevant income from the employer, matched by 5% from the employee, on income between HKD 7,100 and HKD 30,000 a month. Below HKD 7,100 the employer still pays 5% and the employee pays nothing. Above HKD 30,000 each side pays a flat HKD 1,500. Employers do not withhold salaries tax; the employee settles it with the Inland Revenue Department.

  • Statutory minimum wage: HKD 43.1 an hour from May 1, 2026 (Labor Department).
  • Holidays: 15 statutory holidays in 2026 after Easter Monday was added, 16 from 2028 and 17 from 2030. Pages that list 17 today are ahead of the law.
  • Annual leave: 7 days in years 1 and 2, rising one day a year to 14 days from year 9.
  • Notice: as agreed but at least 7 days, or one month if the contract is silent. No notice is needed in the first month of probation.
  • Hours: no statutory standard week, but at least one rest day in every 7.

Employment costs and rules in Hong Kong

Employing someone in Hong Kong: the rules and costs
ItemHong Kong
Employer social contributions5% MPF (capped at HKD 1,500 per month), plus mandatory employees' compensation insurance premium (market priced)
What the employer paysMPF mandatory contribution 5% of relevant income, capped at HKD 1,500 per month; employer pays 5% even when the employee earns below HKD 7,100 (employee then pays nothing); employees' compensation insurance required (premium varies, not checked today)
Caps and ceilingsMPF relevant income: minimum HKD 7,100 per month (employee exempt below this), maximum HKD 30,000 per month (max HKD 1,500 each side)
Employee contributions5% MPF (none below HKD 7,100 per month; capped at HKD 1,500 per month); salaries tax is not withheld by employers
Minimum wageHKD 43.1 per hour from May 1 2026
Mandatory bonusesNone statutory (year-end double pay is contractual)
Annual leave7 days for years 1 and 2, rising 1 day a year to 14 days from year 9 (after 12 months' continuous service)
Public holidays15 statutory holidays in 2026 (Easter Monday added from 2026); 16 from 2028 (Good Friday); 17 from 2030 (day after Good Friday)
ProbationNo statutory maximum; first month of probation needs no notice, after that at least 7 days
Notice periodAs agreed but at least 7 days; 1 month if the contract is silent (continuous contract after probation); payment in lieu allowed
SeveranceSeverance payment after 24 months (redundancy or layoff) or long service payment after 5 years: 2/3 of last full month's wages (wages capped at HKD 22,500, so max HKD 15,000) per year of service, total cap HKD 390,000. MPF offsetting abolished for service from May 1 2025
Payroll frequencyMonthly; wages due within 7 days after the wage period ends (unconfirmed today)
Standard work weekNo statutory standard hours; at least one rest day per 7 days
Sample salary usedHKD 314,000 per year (HKD 26,167 per month; USD 40,000 at 7.85 HKD per USD, ECB cross rate Oct 15 2026)
Employer cost on that salary5.0% (plus employees' compensation insurance)

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Hong Kong

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

The yearly bill for a HKD 314,000 employee

USD 40,000 at 7.85 HKD per USD is HKD 314,000, or HKD 26,166.67 a month. That is under the HKD 30,000 MPF ceiling, so the full 5% applies.

Hong Kong: yearly employer cost on HKD 314,000 through an EOR
LinePer monthPer year
Gross salaryHKD 26,166.67HKD 314,000.00
MPF employer mandatory contribution, 5%HKD 1,308.33HKD 15,700.00
Employees' compensation insuranceMarket pricedMarket priced
Employer cost before the EOR feeHKD 27,475.00HKD 329,700.00
EOR fee at $599 a monthHKD 4,702.15HKD 56,425.80
All-in cost before insuranceHKD 32,177.15HKD 386,125.80

Source: MPFA mandatory contributions page; Labor Department concise guide to the Employment Ordinance. The fee line uses $599 a month, the Deel and Remote list price on Oct 16, 2026, converted at 7.85 HKD per USD (ECB cross rate, Oct 15, 2026). Checked Oct 2026.

Arithmetic: 5% x 26,166.67 = 1,308.33 a month, and 5% x 314,000 = 15,700 a year. The fee is $7,188 x 7.85 = HKD 56,425.80; at $199 it is HKD 18,745.80, at $399 HKD 37,585.80 and at $699 HKD 65,845.80. Pay above HKD 30,000 a month caps the MPF line at HKD 18,000 a year. Employees' compensation insurance is required but priced by insurers, so ask for the premium in your quote. Model other salaries with the international cost calculator.

Severance and long service pay: the cost that changed

A worker made redundant after 24 months is owed a severance payment, and one dismissed after 5 years is owed a long service payment. Both are two thirds of the last full month's wages, with wages capped at HKD 22,500, for each year of service: at most HKD 15,000 a year, and HKD 390,000 in total. On this sample salary, 5 years of service means 5 x 15,000 = HKD 75,000.

Before May 1, 2025, employers could net the MPF employer contributions against that payment. For service from that date they cannot. A government subsidy exists for eligible employers. Ask your EOR whether its deposit or monthly accruals already cover this.

Hong Kong company or EOR

Setting up in Hong Kong means a company registration, an MPF scheme, an employees' compensation policy and an employer's return to the Inland Revenue Department each year. For a first hire the $7,188 annual fee often costs less than the setup and upkeep. Run the numbers with our EOR or own entity comparison.

Contractors in Hong Kong

A self-employed contractor in Hong Kong saves you MPF, the compensation insurance and the severance exposure. Fixed hours and day-to-day control point to employment, and then the Employment Ordinance entitlements apply. Pay real freelancers through a contractor management platform, or move the risk to a contractor of record.

Which EOR to use in Hong Kong

Ownership of the local entity is the question to settle first in Hong Kong, because severance now falls on whoever employs the worker. Multiplier, at 79/100 the highest score we publish, claims its own entity in every country and lists $499 a month ($459 on annual billing). Remote claims 100% owned entities and lists $599. Oyster comes second on score, 64/100. Scores follow our published method.

Line them up in the EOR rankings, and read our Remote, Deel and Oyster reviews before you sign. To compare Hong Kong with Singapore or China, open the country cost index.

Frequently asked questions

What is the all-in cost of an employer of record in Hong Kong?
EOR list prices run from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month, checked October 2026. The employer also pays 5% MPF, at most HKD 1,500 a month (MPFA), plus employees' compensation insurance. On HKD 314,000 with a $599 fee, the year costs HKD 386,125.80 before insurance.
What is the MPF contribution cap in Hong Kong?
The MPFA caps relevant income at HKD 30,000 a month, so the most each side pays is HKD 1,500 a month. Employees earning under HKD 7,100 a month pay nothing, but the employer still pays 5%.
How many statutory holidays does Hong Kong have in 2026?
15, after Easter Monday became a statutory holiday in 2026, according to the Labor Department. Good Friday is added in 2028 (16) and the day after Good Friday in 2030 (17).
What is the minimum wage in Hong Kong?
HKD 43.1 an hour from May 1, 2026, according to the Labor Department.
Can MPF still offset severance pay in Hong Kong?
Not for service from May 1, 2025, when the MPF offsetting arrangement was abolished. Severance and long service payments, two thirds of last monthly wages (capped at HKD 22,500) per year of service up to HKD 390,000, are now paid in cash for that service.
Sources (12)
  1. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. MPFA: Mandatory contributions (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Labour Department: Statutory minimum wage (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. Labour Department: Concise guide to the Employment Ordinance, chapter 4 (holidays) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  11. Labour Department: Concise guide to the Employment Ordinance, chapter 9 (termination) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  12. Labour Department: Concise guide to the Employment Ordinance, chapter 11 (severance and long service payments) (checked Oct 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site