Employer of record in Indonesia: costs and rules
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
The confirmed portion of an Indonesian employee's on-cost is 4.59% of a IDR 721,239,847 salary in BPJS Ketenagakerjaan contributions, most of it the 3.7% JHT old-age savings charge, according to Deloitte's Indonesia Highlights 2026 (a secondary source); the 4% BPJS Kesehatan health contribution is not in that figure because its salary cap is not confirmed. EOR providers then charge from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month, per their October 2026 pricing pages. The cost US employers most often leave out is THR: a religious holiday allowance of one month's wages, owed after 12 months of service and pro rata from one month, paid no later than 7 days before the holiday.
An employer of record in Indonesia is an Indonesian company that employs your hire, registers them with BPJS Ketenagakerjaan and BPJS Kesehatan, pays THR and runs payroll, while you set and review the work.
- Currency
- IDR
On this page
Indonesian rules that change what you pay
Indonesia's social security has five employer lines with different bases. Work accident insurance (JKK) runs from 0.24% to 1.74% depending on job risk; death benefit (JKM) is 0.3%; old-age savings (JHT) 3.7%; pension (JP) 2% on pay up to a cap of IDR 10,547,400 a month, which expatriates do not have to join. Health care through BPJS Kesehatan is 4%, also capped. Employees pay 4% in total.
- THR is mandatory. One month's wages after 12 months of continuous service, pro rata from one month, under Permenaker 6/2016 and PP 36/2021.
- Minimum wages are set by province and city. The 2026 provincial minimum (UMP) runs from IDR 2,317,601 a month in Jawa Barat to IDR 5,729,876 in DKI Jakarta, up 6.17%. City and regency rates (UMK) can be higher.
- Probation only on permanent contracts: up to 3 months, and not allowed in fixed-term (PKWT) contracts (Manpower Act s.60(1) and s.58, as amended by Law 6/2023).
- Pay at least monthly, with payments no more than one month apart (PP 36/2021).
Employment costs and rules in Indonesia
| Item | Indonesia |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | About 10.24% to 11.74% before caps (JKK 0.24% to 1.74% + JKM 0.3% + JHT 3.7% + JP 2% capped + health 4% capped); about 5.4% at the sample salary because of the caps |
| What the employer pays | BPJS Ketenagakerjaan: work accident (JKK) 0.24% to 1.74% by risk; death (JKM) 0.3%; old-age savings (JHT) 3.7%; pension (JP) 2% subject to a salary cap. BPJS Kesehatan health care 4% subject to a salary cap |
| Caps and ceilings | JP wage cap IDR 10,547,400/mo (per dealls.com, set from Mar 2025; 2026 indexation not confirmed). Health cap not confirmed today (commonly IDR 12M/mo). Expatriates are not required to join JP |
| Employee contributions | 4%: JHT 2% + JP 1% (capped) + health 1% (capped); +1% per extra family member |
| Minimum wage | Provincial UMP 2026, effective Jan 1, 2026: DKI Jakarta IDR 5,729,876/mo (highest, +6.17%); lowest Jawa Barat IDR 2,317,601. City and regency UMK rates may be higher |
| Mandatory bonuses | THR religious holiday allowance: 1 month's wages after 12 months' continuous service, pro rata from 1 month; paid no later than 7 days before the religious holiday (Permenaker 6/2016; PP 36/2021); 5% late fine |
| Probation | 3 months, indefinite-term contracts only; not allowed in fixed-term (PKWT) contracts (Manpower Act s.60(1) and s.58, as amended by Law 6/2023; GR 35/2021 s.12(1)) |
| Notice period | No statutory notice period by service. Employer must give written notice of the intended termination and reasons at least 14 working days before it takes effect (GR 35/2021 s.37(2)-(3)); if the worker disputes it, bipartite talks and then an industrial court ruling are required |
| Severance | Pesangon 1 month's wages (under 1 year), rising 1 month per full year of service to 9 months (8+ years) (GR 35/2021 s.40(2)), plus long-service pay and compensation of rights; multipliers vary by ground (GR 35/2021 ss.41-57) |
| Payroll frequency | Wages paid at least monthly (payments no more than one month apart, PP 36/2021) |
| Sample salary used | IDR 721,239,847 |
| Employer cost on that salary | 4.59% floor excluding BPJS health; about 5.39% if the commonly cited IDR 12M health cap applies (not confirmed) |
Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary (Deloitte Indonesia Highlights 2026, Apr 2026; Bisnis.com; ADCO Law; dealls.com; Gadjian). Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Indonesia
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
Costing an IDR 60 million a month hire
USD 40,000 at the ECB cross rate is IDR 721,239,847 a year, or IDR 60,103,321 a month, about 10.5 times the Jakarta minimum wage.
| Line | Per month | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | IDR 60,103,321 | IDR 721,239,847 |
| JKK work accident, 0.24% (lowest risk class) | IDR 144,248 | IDR 1,730,976 |
| JKM death benefit, 0.3% | IDR 180,310 | IDR 2,163,720 |
| JHT old-age savings, 3.7% | IDR 2,223,823 | IDR 26,685,874 |
| JP pension, 2% of the IDR 10,547,400 cap | IDR 210,948 | IDR 2,531,376 |
| BPJS Kesehatan health care, 4% up to a cap | Not yet confirmed | Not yet confirmed |
| THR religious holiday allowance, one month | Once a year | IDR 60,103,321 |
| EOR fee at $599 a month | IDR 10,800,567 | IDR 129,606,801 |
| Confirmed portion of the cost | IDR 944,061,915 |
Source: Deloitte Indonesia Highlights 2026 and dealls.com (BPJS rates and the JP cap set from March 2025; 2026 indexation not confirmed); Permenaker 6/2016 and PP 36/2021 for THR. Fee: the $599 monthly list price shown by Deel and Remote on Oct 16, 2026, converted at the ECB cross rate of about IDR 18,031 per USD (IDR 20,290.28 and USD 1.1253 per EUR, Oct 16, 2026). Checked Oct 2026.
Arithmetic per month: 0.24% + 0.3% + 3.7% = 4.24% x 60,103,321 = 2,548,381, plus JP of 2% x 10,547,400 = 210,948, for 2,759,329, or 4.59%. A year of contributions is IDR 33,111,946. Not included yet: BPJS Kesehatan health care at 4% up to a cap we have not confirmed, any higher JKK risk class, a 2026 change to the JP cap. The fee at $199 is IDR 43,058,019 a year, at $399 IDR 86,332,410 and at $699 IDR 151,243,996. Model other salaries with the international cost calculator.
Termination is the big liability
Indonesia has no notice scale by length of service. The employer must give written notice of the termination and its reasons at least 14 working days before it takes effect (GR 35/2021 s.37). Severance (pesangon) starts at 1 month's wages under a year of service and rises 1 month per full year to 9 months after 8 years (GR 35/2021 s.40(2)), with long-service pay and compensation of rights added and multipliers that depend on the ground. After 3 full years, pesangon alone is 4 months: IDR 240,413,282 on this salary. Ask your EOR how it reserves for this.
Your own company or an EOR
Your own Indonesian company has to register with both BPJS agencies and run THR and severance itself. Weigh that against the fee with our EOR versus entity guide.
Indonesian contractors
Contractors avoid BPJS, THR and pesangon, which is exactly what a dispute would put back on the table if the role looks like employment. Keep contractors on defined deliverables, pay them through a contractor management platform, or use a contractor of record.
Which EOR to choose in Indonesia
An Indonesia quote should name the BPJS Kesehatan cap it uses, the JKK risk class for your role and the month THR will be paid. If any of those is missing, the total is not final. Multiplier leads our scores at 79 and Oyster is second at 64 (how we score).
Compare them in the EOR ranking, with background in the Deel, Remote and Oyster reviews, and see Indonesia beside Malaysia and Vietnam in the cost index.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an Indonesia employer of record cost?
What is THR in Indonesia?
What are the BPJS employer rates?
What is the minimum wage in Jakarta in 2026?
How is severance calculated in Indonesia?
Sources (14)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deloitte: Indonesia Highlights 2026 (secondary) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- dealls.com: Potongan BPJS Ketenagakerjaan (secondary) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Bisnis.com: Daftar lengkap UMP 2026 di seluruh Indonesia (Jan 1, 2026, checked Oct 16, 2026)
- ILO EPLex: Indonesia employment protection profile 2026 (secondary) (checked Oct 17, 2026)
- European Central Bank: Euro foreign exchange reference rates (rate for Oct 16, 2026)
- adcolaw.com/?p=14253 (checked October 16, 2026)
- gadjian.com/llm-info/en-indonesia-labour-law-payroll.md (checked October 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.