Employer of record in Thailand: costs and hiring rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

On a THB 1,336,604 salary (USD 40,000), Thailand's only confirmed employer contribution, the 5% Social Security Fund share, comes to 0.79% of pay because it stops at THB 875 a month, according to Krungsri's guide to the 2026 ceiling; the EOR fee is the bigger line, from $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster), checked October 16, 2026. The larger cost is the exit: the Labor Protection Act (s118) scales severance by service, up to 300 days of last wages after 10 years in the 2014 official compilation.

An employer of record in Thailand is a Thai company that holds the employment contract for your hire, registers them with the Social Security Fund and runs Thai payroll, while your team decides what they work on.

Employer cost on a sample salary
0.79% (THB 10,500 = 875 x 12)…on top of gross pay
Minimum annual leave
At least 6 working days after…
Public holidays
At least 13 traditional…
Currency
THB
On this page

Thai rules a US employer should plan around

Thailand's payroll costs are low and its termination costs are high. The details:

  • Social Security Fund (Section 33): 5% from the employer and 5% from the employee, on wages up to THB 17,500 a month for 2026 to 2028 (it was THB 15,000), so each side pays at most THB 875 a month. The ceiling steps to THB 20,000 for 2029 to 2031 and THB 23,000 from 2032, raising the maximum to THB 1,000 and then THB 1,150.
  • Minimum wage is daily and provincial. Bangkok is THB 400 a day from July 1, 2025 (Wage Committee Notification No. 14); hotels of types 2 to 4 and entertainment venues pay THB 400 nationwide. Other provinces follow Notification No. 13 (effective January 1, 2025).
  • Leave and hours: at least 6 working days of annual leave after a year of uninterrupted work (s30), at least 13 traditional holidays (s29), and up to 8 hours a day and 48 a week (s23).
  • Notice: an open-ended contract can be ended by notice, and no more than 3 months' advance notice is ever required (s17).

We have not confirmed the Workmen's Compensation Fund rate, a statutory probation limit, or the 400-day severance tier for 20 or more years added by the 2019 amendment. The Social Security Office site blocks automated reading, so ask your EOR for its rate sheet and check with the Department of Labor Protection and Welfare.

Employment costs and rules in Thailand

Employing someone in Thailand: the rules and costs
ItemThailand
Employer social contributions5% Social Security Fund on wages up to THB 17,500/mo (max THB 875/mo) from Jan 1, 2026; Workmen's Compensation Fund extra (not confirmed today)
What the employer paysSocial Security Fund (Section 33) 5% employer, max THB 875/mo
Caps and ceilingsWage ceiling THB 17,500/mo for 2026 to 2028 (B.E. 2569 to 2571; was 15,000), then THB 20,000 for 2029 to 2031 and THB 23,000 from 2032; max monthly contribution 875, 1,000 and 1,150
Employee contributions5% SSF, max THB 875/mo
Minimum wageDaily rates by province: Bangkok THB 400/day from Jul 1, 2025 (Wage Committee Notification No. 14); other provinces at Notification No. 13 rates (Dec 23, 2024, effective Jan 1, 2025); hotels types 2 to 4 and entertainment venues THB 400/day nationwide from Jul 1, 2025. No later notification found today
Annual leaveAt least 6 working days after 1 year of uninterrupted work (Labor Protection Act s30)
Public holidaysAt least 13 traditional holidays a year (LPA s29)
Notice periodOpen-ended contracts may be ended by notice; no more than 3 months' advance notice is ever required (LPA s17)
SeveranceLPA s118 scale by service, up to 300 days' last wages for 10+ years in the 2014 DLPW compilation (the 2019 amendment's 400-day tier for 20+ years was not checked today)
Standard work weekUp to 8 hours a day and 48 hours a week (LPA s23)
Sample salary usedTHB 1,336,604
Employer cost on that salary0.79% (THB 10,500 = 875 x 12) for SSF; Workmen's Compensation Fund not included

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary (Krungsri bank guide for SSF ceiling; Bangkok Biz News for minimum wage); labor terms from the DLPW official English compilation of the LPA (B.E. 2557), hosted on FAOLEX. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Thailand

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

Thailand all-in cost: THB 1,336,604 a year

The salary is USD 40,000 at ECB reference rates for October 16, 2026, which works out to THB 33.4151 per USD, or THB 111,383.67 a month.

Thailand: employer cost on THB 1,336,604 a year through an EOR
LinePer monthPer year
SalaryTHB 111,383.67THB 1,336,604.00
Social Security Fund, 5% capped at THB 875THB 875.00THB 10,500.00
EOR fee at $599THB 20,015.64THB 240,187.74
All-in costTHB 132,274.31THB 1,587,291.74

Social Security ceiling: Krungsri bank guide (secondary). Fee row: Deel's and Remote's $599 at 33.4151 baht per dollar. Workmen's Compensation Fund left out. Checked Oct 2026.

The math: 5% of THB 111,383.67 would be THB 5,569, but the cap holds it at THB 875, so 875 x 12 = THB 10,500, which is 0.79% of salary. The fee is $599 x 12 = $7,188, and 7,188 x 33.4151 = THB 240,187.74. Here the provider's fee is 22.9 times the statutory contribution, so a $200 difference between providers matters more than any payroll rate.

Who to use as your Thai EOR

Thai EOR candidates
ProviderOur scoreEOR fee per monthDeposit
Multiplier79/100$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Set from employment costs, fees and notice periods; refunded within 60 days
Oyster64/100$699At least one month of total service cost; credited about 60 days after the end date
Remote62/100from $599 ($699 in a March 2026 help article)Reserve or letter of credit may be required; none for startups
Playroll60/100from $399One month's salary, refundable
Pebl57/100$399Initial Payroll Funding before each hire, amount not stated; refund about 45 days
Deel54/100$599Not stated by Deel

HRPricing scores of October 17, 2026; provider prices and deposit rules as of October 16, 2026.

Because the fee dwarfs Thailand's statutory cost, price differences carry real weight: Multiplier's $459 annual rate is $1,680 a year cheaper per person than Deel's $599 ($140 x 12). Oyster's $699 comes with a published deposit rule. Whichever you pick, ask whether it employs through a Thai company it owns or a partner. Ranking rules: our scoring rules. More in the EOR rankings and the Oyster, Deel and Remote reviews.

Contracting in Thailand instead

Since the statutory contribution is capped at THB 875 a month, a contractor setup saves little in contributions. The real difference is the Labor Protection Act: notice and the s118 severance scale apply to employees, not contractors. Treating an employee as a contractor to avoid severance is the kind of arrangement that can be challenged. For real project work, compare contractor management platforms or a contractor of record.

Thai company or EOR

Four EOR hires at $599 cost $28,752 a year in fees. A Thai company of your own would carry the Social Security registration and payroll itself; our EOR versus entity comparison shows how to weigh that. For more countries in one table, see the employer cost index, or test salaries in the cost calculator.

Frequently asked questions

What does an EOR in Thailand cost?
Published fees ran from $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) in October 2026. Thailand's employer Social Security share adds no more than THB 875 a month. For THB 1,336,604 of salary and a $599 fee, a year totals THB 1,587,291.74.
What is the Social Security contribution in Thailand in 2026?
5% each from employer and employee on wages up to THB 17,500 a month, so at most THB 875 each, from January 1, 2026 (it was THB 15,000 and THB 750), per Krungsri's guide. The ceiling rises to THB 20,000 in 2029 and THB 23,000 in 2032.
How much severance does Thai law require?
The Labor Protection Act s118 scales severance by length of service, up to 300 days of last wages for 10 or more years in the 2014 official compilation from the Department of Labor Protection and Welfare. We have not confirmed the 400-day tier for 20 or more years added in 2019.
What is the minimum wage in Bangkok?
THB 400 a day from July 1, 2025, under Wage Committee Notification No. 14. Hotels of types 2 to 4 and entertainment venues pay THB 400 a day nationwide; other provinces follow Notification No. 13.
Sources (11)
  1. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. krungsri.com/th/krungsri-the-coach/life/good-life/sso-section-33-ra... (checked October 16, 2026)
  9. bangkokbiznews.com/business/economic/1187433 (checked October 16, 2026)
  10. faolex.fao.org/docs/pdf/tha227653.pdf (checked October 16, 2026)
  11. ecb.europa.eu/stats/policy_and_exchange_rates/euro_reference_exchan... (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site