Employer of record in Sweden: costs and hiring rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Swedish payroll costs the employer 32.60% above a SEK 380,000 salary: arbetsgivaravgifter of 31.42% (Skatteverket, checked October 16, 2026), led by the 12.62% general payroll levy and 10.21% old-age pension, plus the holiday supplement the Annual Leave Act requires. On top, EOR providers bill from $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster), in price lists checked October 16, 2026. Notice is the rule to plan for: the Employment Protection Act (LAS) sets a 1-month minimum, and a long-serving employee is owed up to 6 months after 10 years.

An employer of record in Sweden is a Swedish employer that puts your hire on its payroll, pays the employer fees to Skatteverket and applies Swedish leave and notice law, while you direct what the person works on.

Employer cost on a sample salary
32.60%on top of gross pay
Minimum annual leave
25 days a year (5 days if…
Currency
SEK
On this page

How Sweden's payroll rules differ

Sweden has no statutory minimum wage. Pay floors come from collective agreements, and so do many extra costs. What the law itself sets:

  • Employer fees of 31.42%, no cap: old-age pension 10.21%, general payroll levy 12.62%, sickness insurance 3.55%, labor market 2.64%, parental insurance 2.00%, survivor pension 0.30%, work injury 0.10%.
  • Age changes the rate. Since January 1, 2026, employers pay only the 10.21% pension part for staff aged 67 or older (born 1938 to 1958), and nothing for those born 1937 or earlier. A temporary 20.81% rate applies to employees aged 19 to 23 (born 2003 to 2007) on pay up to SEK 25,000 a month, from April 1, 2026 to September 30, 2027.
  • 25 days of vacation a year (5 days if employment starts after August 31 of the vacation year), with holiday pay: under the same-salary rule a supplement of 0.43% of monthly salary per paid vacation day, or 12% of pay under the percentage rule.
  • Probation of up to 6 months.
  • Sick pay: the employer pays days 1 to 14 at 80% of pay, less a waiting-period deduction of 20% of average weekly sick pay (Sick Pay Act).
  • No statutory severance. The cost of ending a contract is the notice period, worked or paid.

Employment costs and rules in Sweden

Employing someone in Sweden: the rules and costs
ItemSweden
Employer social contributions31.42%
What the employer paysOld-age pension 10.21%; general payroll levy 12.62%; sickness insurance 3.55%; labor market 2.64%; parental insurance 2.00%; survivor pension 0.30%; work injury 0.10%. Reduced 20.81% on pay up to SEK 25,000 a month for employees aged 19 to 23 (born 2003 to 2007), pay from 1 Apr 2026 to 30 Sep 2027; 10.21% only for employees 67+ (born 1938 to 1958); 0% born 1937 or earlier
Caps and ceilingsNo cap on the full rate. Youth reduction applies only to the first SEK 25,000 a month
Minimum wageNo statutory minimum wage (set by collective agreements)
Mandatory bonusesHoliday pay: under the same-salary rule a holiday supplement of 0.43% of monthly salary per paid vacation day (1.82% of weekly pay), or 12% of pay under the percentage rule
Annual leave25 days a year (5 days if employment starts after 31 Aug of the vacation year)
Probation6 months (fixed-term probationary employment)
Notice periodMinimum 1 month for both sides; employee entitled to 2 months after 2 years' service, rising to 6 months after 10 years (LAS 11 section)
SeveranceNo statutory severance pay
Sample salary usedSEK 380,000 a year
Employer cost on that salary32.60%

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Sweden

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

Sweden cost example: SEK 380,000 a year

Sweden: employer cost on SEK 380,000 a year
LinePer year
Gross salary (SEK 31,666.67 a month)SEK 380,000.00
Employer fees, 31.42%SEK 119,396.00
Holiday supplement, 25 days x 0.43% of monthly paySEK 3,404.17
Employer fees on the supplement, 31.42%SEK 1,069.59
Employer cost (32.60%)SEK 123,869.76
Salary plus employer costSEK 503,869.76
EOR fee at $599 a monthUSD 7,188.00

Fees: Skatteverket. Holiday supplement: Semesterlag 1977:480. Provider fee shown in dollars ($599 at Deel and Remote) since no SEK rate was confirmed. Checked Oct 2026.

Employer fees: 0.3142 times SEK 380,000 is SEK 119,396. The supplement works off monthly pay of SEK 31,666.67: 25 vacation days at 0.43% each gives SEK 3,404.17, which itself attracts SEK 1,069.59 of fees. Sum: SEK 123,869.76, 32.60% of salary. Spread across twelve months, salary and statutory costs come to SEK 41,989.15, before the $599 provider invoice.

A collective agreement (kollektivavtal) adds costs that are often large, such as occupational pension, and this table leaves them out. Find out whether your provider's Swedish company is bound by one.

Swedish contractors and the risk of reclassification

Self-employed Swedes pay their own social fees, so a consultancy contract avoids the 31.42%. Should the consultant in practice be an employee, the missing employer fees fall due, and LAS protections apply to ending the relationship. For true project work, see contractor management software, or hand classification to a contractor of record.

A Swedish AB or an EOR

A Swedish aktiebolag registers as an employer with Skatteverket, runs its own payroll and decides whether to sign a collective agreement. Two hires through an EOR at $599 cost $14,376 a year in fees, the benchmark for our guide to EOR versus your own entity.

Best EOR options for Sweden

Sweden: EOR providers ranked
ProviderOur scoreEOR fee per monthDeposit
Multiplier79/100$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Set from employment costs, fees and notice periods; refunded within 60 days
Oyster64/100$699At least one month of total service cost; credited about 60 days after the end date
Remote62/100from $599 ($699 in a March 2026 help article)Reserve or letter of credit may be required; none for startups
Playroll60/100from $399One month's salary, refundable
Pebl57/100$399Initial Payroll Funding before each hire, amount not stated; refund about 45 days
Deel54/100$599Not stated by Deel

HRPricing scores as of October 17, 2026; provider fees and deposit policies as published October 16, 2026.

Multiplier ties its deposit to notice periods, so a senior Swedish hire with a long LAS notice entitlement can mean a larger deposit there. Oyster's is at least a month of total service cost. Scores follow our scoring method; for exit terms read the Oyster, Remote and Deel reviews and the full ranking, and see the Nordics side by side in the EOR cost index.

Frequently asked questions

How much is an employer of record in Sweden?
Expect $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster), based on October 2026 pricing pages. Skatteverket's 31.42% employer fees plus the holiday supplement add 32.60% to pay, SEK 123,869.76 a year on SEK 380,000.
What is the employer contribution rate in Sweden in 2026?
31.42% of gross pay, with no cap, according to Skatteverket. Employers pay 10.21% for staff aged 67 or older and a temporary 20.81% for ages 19 to 23 on the first SEK 25,000 a month, from April 1, 2026 to September 30, 2027.
Does Sweden have a minimum wage?
No. There is no statutory minimum wage in Sweden; minimum pay is set by collective agreements for each sector.
How much notice must a Swedish employer give?
Under the Employment Protection Act (LAS, section 11), at least 1 month. The employee is entitled to 2 months after 2 years of service, rising to 6 months after 10 years. Sweden has no statutory severance pay.
How much vacation do Swedish employees get?
25 days a year under the Annual Leave Act, or 5 days if employment starts after August 31 of the vacation year. Under the same-salary rule the employer adds a holiday supplement of 0.43% of monthly salary per vacation day.
Sources (11)
  1. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. skatteverket.se/foretag/arbetsgivare/arbetsgivaravgifterochskatteav... (checked October 16, 2026)
  9. riksdagen.se/sv/dokument-och-lagar/dokument/svensk-forfattningssaml... (checked October 16, 2026)
  10. riksdagen.se/sv/dokument-och-lagar/dokument/svensk-forfattningssaml... (checked October 16, 2026)
  11. riksdagen.se/sv/dokument-och-lagar/dokument/svensk-forfattningssaml... (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site