Employer of record in Puerto Rico: costs and rules in 2026

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

The confirmed portion of a Puerto Rico employee's cost is federal FICA at 7.65% of pay, $3,060 a year on a $40,000 salary, with Social Security at 6.2% (on wages up to the 2026 base of $184,500, per the Social Security Administration) the larger part. An EOR then bills its own fee, which in October 2026 ranged from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad)) to $699 (Oyster) a month. The island rule mainland companies get wrong is probation: after a federal court declared Act 41-2022 void on March 3, 2023, the Puerto Rico Department of Labor (DTRH) applies the Act 80 period as amended by Act 4-2017, which is 9 months, or 12 months for some roles, not the 3 months that some templates still show.

An employer of record in Puerto Rico is a company already registered as an employer on the island that puts your hire on its payroll, pays federal payroll taxes plus the Puerto Rico programs, and leaves the work itself to you.

Employer cost on a sample salary
7.65% FICA onlyon top of gross pay
Currency
USD
On this page

Federal payroll rules, island add-ons

Puerto Rico is a US territory, so federal FICA reaches island payroll as it does in Ohio or Texas. The difference is what sits on top and which income tax applies.

  • FICA applies in full. Social Security is 6.2% for employer and employee each on wages up to $184,500 in 2026 (up from $176,100 in 2025), and Medicare is 1.45% each with no cap.
  • FUTA is not priced here. The IRS publishes Puerto Rico guidance on federal unemployment tax (Topic no. 903 and a FUTA page for US possessions, found in a search on October 17, 2026), but we have not read its rate or credit rules for the island, so ask the EOR to show the line. Our payroll taxes guide covers the federal side.
  • Puerto Rico income tax replaces federal income tax withholding for most residents, so your US payroll setup does not carry over as is.
  • A lower federal exempt-salary test. Under 29 CFR 541.600 the FLSA white-collar salary level is $455 a week in Puerto Rico, against $684 on the mainland. See exempt versus non-exempt rules.

Not yet included anywhere on this page, because we have not confirmed them from Puerto Rico agency pages: the local unemployment insurance rate and wage base, SINOT disability insurance, chauffeurs insurance for drivers, CFSE workers compensation, the Christmas bonus, the local minimum wage, Act 80 dismissal pay (mesada) and leave accrual. Ask your EOR to price each one and check them with the DTRH, Hacienda and the CFSE.

Employment costs and rules in Puerto Rico

Employing someone in Puerto Rico: the rules and costs
ItemPuerto Rico
Employer social contributions7.65% FICA (US territory) plus local unemployment, disability, workers comp and FUTA; local items not confirmed today
What the employer paysSocial Security (OASDI) 6.2% up to USD 184,500 (2026 wage base); Medicare (HI) 1.45% uncapped; local items not priced
Caps and ceilings2026 OASDI wage base USD 184,500 (2025: USD 176,100)
Employee contributions7.65% FICA (6.2% + 1.45%); local disability and income tax withholding not confirmed today
Probation9 months, or 12 months for some roles, under Act 80 as amended by Act 4-2017, after the federal court declared Act 41-2022 (3 months + 3-month extension) void ab initio on Mar 3 2023 (DTRH Opinion 2023-01, Mar 10 2023; the opinion notes the ruling was not final). Which roles get 12 months not confirmed today
Sample salary usedUSD 40,000
Employer cost on that salary7.65% FICA only

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Puerto Rico

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

The $40,000 Puerto Rico hire, confirmed lines only

Pay is in US dollars, so nothing needs converting.

Puerto Rico: the confirmed portion of employer cost on $40,000
LineRatePer year
Gross salary$40,000
Social Security (OASDI), up to $184,5006.2%$2,480
Medicare (HI), no cap1.45%$580
Salary plus FICA (confirmed portion)7.65%$43,060
EOR fee at $599 a month$7,188
Confirmed portion with the EOR fee$50,248
FUTA, local unemployment, SINOT disability, CFSE workers comp, Christmas bonusnot yet priced

Source: Social Security Administration, contribution and benefit base for 2026. Fee line uses the $599 Deel and Remote list price (Oct 16, 2026).

Social Security takes 6.2% of $40,000, or $2,480, and Medicare 1.45%, or $580: $3,060 of FICA in all. A $40,000 salary is far below the $184,500 base, so Social Security applies to every dollar. Add $7,188 in fees ($599 x 12) and the confirmed portion reaches $50,248. At $199 a month (Payoneer WFM) it is $45,448; at $399 (Pebl, Playroll), $47,848; at $699 (Oyster), $51,448.

$50,248 is not the total employer cost. The island programs listed in the warning above still have to be added. For mainland comparisons, the US employee cost calculator shows how FUTA and state unemployment add up in each state.

EOR, PEO or registering yourself

Because Puerto Rico is part of the United States, you do not form a foreign subsidiary the way you would in Mexico. The choice is between registering as an employer with Puerto Rico's agencies yourself, a US PEO if the one you pick covers the island, or an EOR. A PEO co-employs rather than employing outright, and its fee is quoted per employee; see PEO versus EOR and the PEO rankings, and confirm Puerto Rico coverage before you sign. Our entity versus EOR guide covers the do-it-yourself route.

Contractors in Puerto Rico

A Puerto Rico contractor is classified under federal tests and local law at the same time, and an island worker who is really an employee brings back FICA and the local programs. If the role is project work, contractor management software handles invoices; a contractor of record adds a classification check.

Which provider for Puerto Rico

Multiplier (79) and Oyster (64) are the highest scorers under how we rate EOR providers. Confirm Puerto Rico is on the provider's country list and whether it prices the island as a US state or as an international country. Remote's default terms run 12 months and auto-renew and Pebl can lock each worker into a 12-month term, so check the exit terms too.

For the field, use our EOR leaderboard; for contract detail, the Deel, Remote and Oyster write-ups. The nearest comparison abroad is the Dominican Republic.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an employer of record cost in Puerto Rico?
Provider fees run from $199 a month at Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad) to $699 at Oyster (October 2026). The confirmed portion of the employer's own cost is FICA at 7.65%, $3,060 on $40,000. FUTA, Puerto Rico unemployment, SINOT, CFSE workers comp and the Christmas bonus are not yet included in our figures.
Do Puerto Rico employers pay Social Security and Medicare?
Yes. Puerto Rico is a US territory, so FICA applies in full: 6.2% Social Security on wages up to $184,500 in 2026 and 1.45% Medicare with no cap, each for employer and employee, according to the Social Security Administration.
How long is probation in Puerto Rico?
The DTRH (Opinion 2023-01, March 10, 2023) applies the Act 80 period as amended by Act 4-2017: 9 months, or 12 months for some roles, after a federal court declared Act 41-2022 void on March 3, 2023. The opinion notes that ruling was not final.
Do I need an EOR to hire in Puerto Rico?
No. Puerto Rico is a US territory, so a US company can register with the island's agencies as an employer or use a US PEO that covers the island. An EOR, at $199 to $699 a month (checked October 2026), handles the registrations for you.
What is the exempt salary threshold in Puerto Rico?
Under 29 CFR 541.600 the FLSA white-collar salary level in Puerto Rico is $455 a week, lower than the $684 a week that applies on the mainland.
Sources (10)
  1. IRS: Topic no. 903, U.S. employment tax in Puerto Rico (found in search Oct 17, 2026 (page not read))
  2. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. eCFR: 29 CFR 541.600, amount of salary required (checked Oct 2026)
  4. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. ssa.gov/oact/cola/cbb.html (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site