How to hire employees in Costa Rica through an employer of record

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Hiring an employee in Costa Rica costs 26.83% of gross pay in employer charges in 2026 (CCSS social security plus Worker Protection Law contributions, the largest being 9.25% for health and maternity), according to EY's alert on the January 2026 increase (a secondary source), and EOR providers add $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster), checked October 2026. The rule US companies most often miss is cesantia: after 3 months, ending a contract without cause owes notice plus a severance payment set by length of service, so Costa Rica is not an at-will country.

An employer of record in Costa Rica is a Costa Rican company that hires your worker on a local contract, registers them with the CCSS (Caja Costarricense de Seguro Social), buys the required INS work-risk policy and pays the employer charges, while you direct the day-to-day work.

Currency
CRC
On this page

Costa Rica's employment rules, from pay floors to cesantia

Charges went up on January 1, 2026

The employer's pension (IVM) contribution rose from 5.42% to 5.58% under the CCSS's scheduled IVM increases, lifting the employer total from 26.67% to 26.83%. The worker's share rose from 10.67% to 10.83%. A quote that still uses 26.67% is built on the 2025 rate.

Work-risk insurance is a separate bill

On top of the 26.83%, the employer carries an INS riesgos del trabajo policy priced by activity. Ask the EOR what it pays for your hire's job.

Minimum wage by occupation

Decreto 45303-MTSS (La Gaceta, December 5, 2025), as reported by the law firm AG Legal, raised minimum wages 1.63% from January 1, 2026. Monthly examples: CRC 373,092.30 for unskilled generic work, CRC 419,755.80 for skilled generic work, CRC 664,078.07 for a university bachiller and CRC 796,921.00 for a licenciado.

Notice and cesantia

The Poder Judicial's guide to preaviso and cesantia sets the rules for dismissal without cause:

  • Trial period: the first 3 months. No notice and no cesantia are owed.
  • Notice: 1 week after 3 to 6 months of service, 15 days after 6 to 12 months, 1 month after a year, or pay in lieu.
  • Cesantia: 7 days' pay after 3 to 6 months and 14 days after 6 to 12 months. From one year, it is counted in days per year of service, starting at 19.5, peaking at 22 and settling at 20 from year 13, and only the last 8 years count.

We have not yet confirmed from an official source Costa Rica's aguinaldo (year-end bonus), vacation days, public holidays, payroll frequency or working hours, because the CCSS site blocks automated reading. Ask your EOR to state each in the contract.

Employment costs and rules in Costa Rica

Employing someone in Costa Rica: the rules and costs
ItemCosta Rica
Employer social contributions26.83% (CCSS and Worker Protection Law charges), plus a separate INS work-risk policy (riesgos del trabajo) priced by activity
What the employer paysHealth and maternity (SEM) 9.25%; Pensions (IVM) 5.58% (up from 5.42% on Jan 1, 2026); Family allowances (FODESAF) 5.00%; IMAS 0.50%; INA 1.50% (not owed by non-farm employers with fewer than 5 permanent staff, per secondary source); Banco Popular employer quota 0.25%; Banco Popular LPT contribution 0.25%; Labor capitalization fund (FCL) 1.50%; Complementary pension (ROP/OPC) 2.00%; INS LPT contribution 1.00% (unconfirmed: the secondary table omits it but its stated total of 26.83% needs it); INS work-risk policy: separate premium, varies by activity
Employee contributions10.83% (SEM 5.50 + IVM 4.33 + Banco Popular 1.00)
Minimum wageSet by occupation (Decreto 45303-MTSS, La Gaceta Dec 5, 2025, from Jan 1, 2026, +1.63%): unskilled generic CRC 373,092.30/mo; skilled generic CRC 419,755.80/mo; university bachiller CRC 664,078.07/mo; licenciado CRC 796,921.00/mo (secondary)
Probation3 months (no notice owed before 3 months as this is the trial period, per Poder Judicial guide)
Notice periodUnder 3 months: none; 3 to 6 months: 1 week; 6 to 12 months: 15 days; over 1 year: 1 month (or pay in lieu)
SeveranceCesantia on dismissal without cause: 7 days (3 to 6 months), 14 days (6 to 12 months), then per year of service 19.5, 20, 20.5, 21, 21.24, 21.5, 22, 22, 22, 21.5, 21, 20.5 and 20 days (year 13 on), counting only the last 8 years
Sample salary usedCRC 20,200,000 per year (CRC 1,683,333/mo), about USD 40,000 at an assumed 505 CRC/USD (rate not fetched)
Employer cost on that salary26.83% (CRC 5,419,660) confirmed; 35.16% (CRC 7,102,993) if the unconfirmed aguinaldo of 8.33% (CRC 1,683,333) is added; INS work-risk policy extra

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary (EY alert for the 2026 IVM change and totals; Alegra and AG Legal for breakdown and minimum wages); official (Poder Judicial) for notice and cesantia. ccss.sa.cr blocks automated reading. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Costa Rica

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

One Costa Rican employee on CRC 20.2 million a year

Our sample salary is CRC 20,200,000 a year (CRC 1,683,333 a month). That is about USD 40,000 at an assumed 505 colones per dollar; we did not fetch an official rate, so the EOR fee stays in dollars.

Costa Rica: employer charges on CRC 20,200,000
ChargeRatePer year (CRC)
Health and maternity (SEM)9.25%1,868,500
Pensions (IVM)5.58%1,127,160
Family allowances (FODESAF)5.00%1,010,000
Complementary pension (ROP)2.00%404,000
INA training1.50%303,000
Labor capitalization fund (FCL)1.50%303,000
IMAS0.50%101,000
Banco Popular employer quota0.25%50,500
Banco Popular LPT contribution0.25%50,500
Remaining point to reach the 26.83% total1.00%202,000
Total employer charges26.83%5,419,660
Unconfirmed: aguinaldo, if it is one twelfth of pay8.33%1,683,333
Charges plus aguinaldo, if confirmed35.16%7,102,993

Source: EY Costa Rica tax alert (26.83% total and 2026 IVM change); Alegra 2026 breakdown (secondary). INS work-risk premium not included. Checked Oct 2026.

Alegra's line items add to 25.83%, CRC 5,217,660, while EY confirms the 26.83% total. The missing point is most likely the 1% INS contribution under the Worker Protection Law, which we have not confirmed line by line. 26.83% x 20,200,000 = CRC 5,419,660. The year-end aguinaldo is commonly described as one twelfth of a year's pay (CRC 1,683,333 here), which would lift the cost to 35.16%. We have not confirmed that rule from an official source, so 26.83% is the confirmed share and the aguinaldo is shown apart.

The EOR fee then adds $7,188 a year at $599, $4,788 at $399 (Pebl, Playroll), $8,388 at $699 (Oyster) or $2,388 at the $199 entry price of Payoneer Workforce Management. A secondary source says non-farm employers with fewer than 5 permanent staff do not owe INA; under an EOR, ask the provider whose headcount it applies, since it is the legal employer. Try other salaries in the international cost calculator.

Deposits and exit costs for a Costa Rican hire

Cesantia turns termination into a budget item, and it can raise deposits. Multiplier sets its deposit from employment costs, fees and notice periods; Oyster's terms ask for at least one month of total service cost, credited about 60 days after the end date; Playroll takes one month's salary. Ask whether termination costs are passed through at cost. Oyster and Playroll list no termination fee; Multiplier needs 30 days to process one.

Picking an EOR for Costa Rica

Our scores rank Multiplier at 79/100 and Oyster at 64/100, ahead of Remote (62), Playroll (60), Pebl (57) and Deel (54), as explained in how we score. No provider publishes a Costa Rica-only fee. Ask for the INS work-risk rate and whether the quote already uses the 2026 IVM rate. Compare the top EOR providers, Deel, Remote and Oyster.

Costa Rican contractors (servicios profesionales)

Paying a Costa Rican professional on invoices avoids the 26.83% charges. If the work is full-time and directed by you, it can be treated as employment, with back CCSS charges plus notice and cesantia on termination. Compare contractor payment platforms or a contractor of record.

Opening a Costa Rican company instead

A local company means CCSS and INS registration and a payroll provider, set against $7,188 a year per EOR hire at $599. See EOR versus your own entity and the EOR fee comparison.

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to hire an employee in Costa Rica?
Employer charges are 26.83% of gross pay in 2026 (CCSS and Worker Protection Law, per EY), plus an INS work-risk policy priced by activity. On CRC 20,200,000 a year that is CRC 5,419,660. A year-end aguinaldo, which we have not confirmed, would add 8.33%. An EOR adds $199 to $699 a month, checked October 2026.
Did CCSS rates change in 2026?
Yes. From January 1, 2026 the employer IVM pension rate rose from 5.42% to 5.58% and the worker rate from 4.17% to 4.33%, taking total employer charges to 26.83% and worker charges to 10.83%, according to EY.
What severance (cesantia) applies in Costa Rica?
Per the Poder Judicial guide, dismissal without cause owes 7 days' pay after 3 to 6 months, 14 days after 6 to 12 months, then a set number of days per year of service (19.5 at one year, up to 22, and 20 from year 13), counting only the last 8 years.
How long is probation in Costa Rica?
The first 3 months are the trial period, and no notice is owed for ending employment during them, according to the Poder Judicial's guide to preaviso and cesantia.
What is the minimum wage in Costa Rica in 2026?
It depends on the occupation. Decreto 45303-MTSS, in force from January 1, 2026, sets CRC 373,092.30 a month for unskilled generic work and CRC 796,921.00 for a licenciado, after a 1.63% increase.
Sources (12)
  1. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Oyster: Oyster terms of service (EOR deposit) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. ey.com/es_ce/technical/tax/tax-alerts/costa-rica-aumento-en-cuotas-... (checked October 16, 2026)
  10. blog.alegra.com/costa-rica/cargas-sociales-ccss-2026-patronos-costa... (checked October 16, 2026)
  11. aglegal.com/salario-minimo-costa-rica (checked October 16, 2026)
  12. escuelajudicialpj.poder-judicial.go.cr/Archivos/bibliotecaVirtual/o... (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site