Employer of record in Portugal: costs and rules
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
A Portuguese employee on EUR 34,000 carries 23.75% employer Social Security (EUR 8,075 a year) plus a work-accident insurance premium when hired via an employer of record, and the provider's monthly charge per worker is listed between $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) and $699 (Oyster) as of October 2026. Where American budgets usually go wrong in Portugal is the 14-payment year: Portuguese employees receive a holiday subsidy and a Christmas subsidy on top of 12 monthly salaries, and both carry Social Security, so the true annual base is 16.7% higher than 12 x monthly pay.
An employer of record in Portugal is a Portuguese company that hires your worker on its payroll, pays all 14 salary installments and Segurança Social contributions, carries the work-accident policy and leaves the job itself to you.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- 23.75% (plus work-accident…on top of gross pay
- Minimum annual leave
- 22 working days
- Currency
- EUR
On this page
- Portugal's 14-payment year and other rules
- Employment costs and rules in Portugal
- What an EOR charges to employ someone in Portugal
- Pricing a EUR 34,000 Portuguese hire
- Leaving: notice and compensation in Portugal
- Selecting an EOR for Portugal
- Self-employed contractors in Portugal
- When to set up in Portugal yourself
Portugal's 14-payment year and other rules
Fourteen payments a year. The subsídio de férias (holiday subsidy) and subsídio de Natal (Christmas subsidy) are each about one month's pay. Even the national floor follows the pattern: Decreto-Lei 139/2025 raised it to EUR 920 monthly for 2026 (from EUR 870), which over 14 payments is EUR 12,880.
No ceiling. The general-regime employer rate of 23.75% (employee 11%, 34.75% combined) applies to all pay, including both subsidies. Our source for the rate is a Millennium BCP rate sheet last updated April 20, 2015, more than ten years old; the rate is long-standing, but we have not yet confirmed it on seg-social.pt.
Funds that changed. The FCT compensation fund has been closed since January 1, 2024 (DL 115/2023). The FGCT guarantee fund charge of 0.075% of base pay is suspended until December 31, 2026 and is due to resume after that. Work-accident insurance is mandatory and bought from private insurers.
Leave is 22 working days. Three items remain open in our Portuguese research: the number of public holidays, the probation limits and the weekly hours. Expect the provider's contract to state all three.
Employment costs and rules in Portugal
| Item | Portugal |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | 23.75% (general regime), paid on all 14 payments |
| What the employer pays | Social Security employer 23.75% (employee 11%, total 34.75%), no cap; FGCT 0.075% of base pay currently suspended until 31 Dec 2026; FCT closed (contributions suspended from 1 May 2023, fund closed from 1 Jan 2024 by DL 115/2023); mandatory work-accident insurance bought from private insurers (premium not priced) |
| Caps and ceilings | No ceiling on general-regime social security. Contributions apply to holiday and Christmas subsidies |
| Employee contributions | 11% |
| Minimum wage | EUR 920 a month from 1 Jan 2026 (Decreto-Lei 139/2025), paid 14 times a year (EUR 12,880 a year) |
| Mandatory bonuses | 14 payments: 12 monthly salaries plus a holiday subsidy (subsidio de ferias) and a Christmas subsidy (subsidio de Natal), each about one month's pay |
| Annual leave | 22 working days |
| Notice period | Collective dismissal and job extinction: 15 days (under 1 year), 30 days (1 to under 5), 60 days (5 to under 10), 75 days (10+) (Labor Code art. 363) |
| Severance | Collective dismissal and job extinction: 14 days' base pay plus seniority supplements per full year (12 days before Lei 13/2023, May 2023). Caps (12 x monthly pay, 240 x minimum wage) unconfirmed today |
| Payroll frequency | Monthly (14 payments a year) |
| Sample salary used | EUR 34,000 a year = 14 x EUR 2,428.57 |
| Employer cost on that salary | 23.75% (plus work-accident insurance) |
Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Portugal
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
Pricing a EUR 34,000 Portuguese hire
| Line | Calculation | EUR per year |
|---|---|---|
| 12 monthly salaries | 12 x 2,428.57 | 29,142.84 |
| Holiday subsidy | 1 x 2,428.57 | 2,428.57 |
| Christmas subsidy | 1 x 2,428.57 | 2,428.57 |
| Gross pay, 14 payments | 34,000 (rounded) | |
| Social Security, employer | 23.75% x 34,000 | 8,075.00 |
| Work-accident insurance | private insurer premium | not priced |
| FGCT | 0.075%, suspended to Dec 31, 2026 | 0 in 2026 (25.50 from 2027) |
| Salary plus employer cost | 42,075.00 | |
| EOR fee at $599 a month | kept in USD | $7,188 |
Working: 34,000 x 23.75% = 8,075; when the FGCT returns, 34,000 x 0.075% = 25.50. The 23.75% rate comes from a Millennium BCP rate sheet (secondary) pending a seg-social.pt check; the $599 is the Deel and Remote list price in October 2026.
If a quote shows EUR 2,428.57 x 12 = EUR 29,142.84 as the annual salary, it is missing two payments. The true base is EUR 34,000, 16.7% higher, and Social Security is due on all of it.
Try other salaries in the calculator for international employee cost, and compare Portugal with Spain in the cost index by country.
Leaving: notice and compensation in Portugal
For collective dismissal and job extinction, the Labor Code (art. 363) sets employer notice of 15 days with under 1 year of service, 30 days from 1 to under 5 years, 60 days from 5 to under 10 years and 75 days at 10 years or more. Compensation is 14 days of base pay plus seniority supplements per full year of service, up from 12 days before Lei 13/2023 (May 2023). The caps on that compensation remain unverified on our side. Whatever the figure, it reaches you through the provider's invoice, so settle who funds it before the first payslip.
Selecting an EOR for Portugal
The points system we publish gives Multiplier 79, Oyster 64, Remote 62 and Deel 54. A useful twist for Portugal: providers bill their fee 12 times a year while you pay salary 14 times, so the fee as a share of pay is lower than it looks. Multiplier's $459 annual-plan rate is $5,508 a year; Oyster's $699 is $8,388 plus a deposit of at least a month of its charges; Remote and Deel at $599 come to $7,188. Before choosing, check that the estimate lists both subsidies and names the work-accident insurer with its premium. The scorecard is in our best EOR services list; contract terms are in the Oyster, Remote and Deel reviews.
Self-employed contractors in Portugal
Hiring a Portuguese professional who invoices as an independent worker avoids the 23.75% employer charge and the two subsidies. Exclusivity, set hours and day-to-day direction from your side point toward a disguised employment contract, and then both subsidies and the contributions would be owed back. A contractor of record takes on that risk; a contractor platform only handles contracts and pay.
When to set up in Portugal yourself
Through a $599 provider, a Lisbon or Porto hire costs $7,188 a year in fees. Your own Portuguese company avoids that but brings registration, accounting, a payroll that handles 14 payments and your own work-accident policy. Our EOR or entity guide explains where the break-even sits.
Frequently asked questions
What does a Portuguese employee cost the employer?
Are the 13th and 14th month salaries mandatory in Portugal?
What is Portugal's 2026 minimum wage, counted over a full year?
Which Social Security rate does a Portuguese employer pay?
What compensation is due on dismissal in Portugal?
Sources (8)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- dgert.gov.pt/retribuicao-minima-mensal-garantida-para-2026 (checked October 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.