Employer of record in France: costs and rules for 2026

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

A French employee on EUR 35,546 (USD 40,000) carries employer contributions of 31.79% at listed 2026 rates (Cleiss, checked October 2026), EUR 11,298.65 a year, led by the 8.55% capped old-age (vieillesse) contribution, while published EOR list prices checked in October 2026 run from $199 a month (Payoneer WFM, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster). What US companies most often miss is the collective agreement for the employer's sector (convention collective): the Labor Code is only the floor, and the branch agreement can extend probation, set notice and add a 13th month.

An employer of record in France is a French company that hires your worker on a French employment contract, declares and pays URSSAF and Agirc-Arrco contributions, and applies the sector's collective agreement, while you lead the work itself.

Employer cost on a sample salary
31.79% before excluded items…on top of gross pay
Minimum annual leave
30 working days (jours…
Public holidays
11 (13 in Alsace-Moselle);…
Currency
EUR
On this page

What makes hiring in France different

The rates are high, the rules on time off are generous, and a lot of the detail sits outside the statute.

  • 35-hour week. The SMIC monthly minimum of EUR 1,867.02 is based on 35 hours. The hourly SMIC is EUR 12.31 gross from June 1, 2026, the second raise of the year.
  • Five weeks of paid leave: 30 working days (jours ouvrables), earned at 2.5 days per month. France has 11 public holidays (13 in Alsace-Moselle), but only May 1 must be both paid and not worked.
  • Probation on a permanent contract (CDI) is capped at 2 months for workers and employees, 3 for supervisors and technicians, and 4 for managers (cadres). It can be renewed once, to 4, 6 or 8 months, only if an extended branch agreement allows it.
  • Severance is statutory after 8 months of service: 1/4 of a month's salary per year for the first 10 years, then 1/3 per year beyond, based on the better of the last 12 or last 3 months' average pay.
  • No statutory 13th month, but many collective agreements and contracts include one.
  • Caps follow the PASS, EUR 4,005 a month (EUR 48,060 a year) in 2026. Supplementary pension tranche 2 runs from 1 to 8 PASS at a much higher 12.95% plus 1.62%.

We could not confirm the statutory notice period from an official page (Legifrance did not load), and in practice the collective agreement usually sets it. Ask the EOR which agreement applies and what it says.

Employment costs and rules in France

Employing someone in France: the rules and costs
ItemFrance
Employer social contributionsAbout 31.8% at EUR 35,546 before AT/MP, training levy, apprenticeship tax, transport levy, mandatory health plan share and the general reduction (RGDU); roughly 40 to 45% at full rates for higher salaries (full rates: maladie 13%, family 5.25%)
What the employer paysHealth/maternity/disability/death 13% (7% if pay up to 2.396 SMIC from Jan 1 2026 for employers eligible for the general reduction); CSA 0.3%; old-age capped 8.55% up to PASS; old-age uncapped 2.11%; family allowances 5.25% (3.45% up to 3.3 SMIC for eligible employers); AT/MP variable by size and risk; unemployment 4% up to 4 PASS; AGS 0.25% up to 4 PASS; social dialogue contribution (Cleiss page read as 0.16%, see notes); FNAL 0.10% on capped pay (under 50 staff) or 0.50% on total pay (50+); Agirc-Arrco T1 4.72% + CEG T1 1.29% up to PASS; Agirc-Arrco T2 12.95% + CEG T2 1.62% from 1 to 8 PASS; CET 0.21% (salaries above PASS)
Caps and ceilingsPASS 2026: EUR 4,005 per month (EUR 48,060 per year). Unemployment and AGS base capped at 4 PASS (EUR 16,020 per month); T2 runs to 8 PASS (EUR 32,040 per month)
Employee contributionsAbout 20.8% below PASS (old-age 6.9% + 0.4%, Agirc-Arrco T1 3.15%, CEG T1 0.86%, CSG 9.2% + CRDS 0.5% on 98.25% of gross)
Minimum wageSMIC EUR 12.31 gross per hour (EUR 1,867.02 per month for 35 hours) from June 1, 2026 (arrete of May 22, 2026, +2.41%); about EUR 12.02 from Jan 1, 2026 (derived, not printed on the pages read)
Mandatory bonusesNone statutory; 13th month only if the collective agreement or contract provides it
Annual leave30 working days (jours ouvrables), i.e. 5 weeks: 2.5 days per month worked
Public holidays11 (13 in Alsace-Moselle); only May 1 is mandatorily paid and not worked
ProbationCDI: 2 months workers/employees, 3 months supervisors/technicians, 4 months managers (cadres); renewable once only if an extended branch agreement allows it (max 4/6/8 months)
SeveranceLegal severance after 8 months service: 1/4 month salary per year for the first 10 years, plus 1/3 month per year beyond 10; reference pay is the more favorable of the last 12 or last 3 months average
Standard work week35 (SMIC monthly figure is based on 35 hours per week)
Sample salary usedEUR 35,546 (EUR 2,962 per month)
Employer cost on that salary31.79% before excluded items and before RGDU

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in France

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

Line-by-line cost of a EUR 35,546 French hire

At about 1.6 times the SMIC, this salary qualifies for the reduced health and family rates. Every line below is a listed 2026 rate.

One employee in France on EUR 35,546 a year (about EUR 2,962 a month), 2026 listed rates
Employer contributionRateEUR a year
Health, maternity, disability, death (maladie)7% (reduced rate up to 2.396 SMIC)2,488.22
Autonomy solidarity (CSA)0.3%106.64
Old-age insurance, capped8.55% up to the PASS3,039.18
Old-age insurance, uncapped2.11%750.02
Family allowances3.45% (reduced rate up to 3.3 SMIC)1,226.34
Unemployment insurance4% up to 4 PASS1,421.84
Wage guarantee (AGS)0.25% up to 4 PASS88.87
Social dialogue contribution0.016% (see note)5.69
Housing aid (FNAL), under 50 staff0.10% on capped pay35.55
Agirc-Arrco pension, tranche 14.72%1,677.77
CEG, tranche 11.29%458.54
Total at listed rates31.786%11,298.65
EOR fee$599 x 12 = $7,188 at USD 1.1253 per EUR6,387.63
Salary + contributions + EOR feeUSD 59,902.28 a year53,232.28
Per monthUSD 4,991.864,436.02

Rates: Cleiss (French public body for social security abroad) and service-public.fr, 2026. PASS EUR 4,005 a month. Lines are rounded to the cent, so they add to 11,298.66. Dollar figures convert at the ECB euro reference rate of October 16, 2026 (USD 1.1253). The provider fee is the $599 that Deel and Remote charged in October 2026.

Treat 31.79% as a starting point, not a quote. Two things pull in opposite directions:

  • Not yet added: the work-injury rate (AT/MP, varies by sector and size), training levy, apprenticeship tax, the local transport levy for 11+ staff, and at least 50% of a mandatory complementary health plan.
  • Not yet taken off: the RGDU general reduction, which since January 1, 2026 applies up to 3 SMIC and would cut the bill substantially at this pay level.

Cleiss's summary shows the social dialogue contribution as 0.16%; the long-standing rate is 0.016%, which we used. If 0.16% is right, add EUR 51.19 a year.

The calculator for international hires lets you change the salary, and the cost index across countries shows where France sits.

Ending a French contract

Statutory severance on the sample salary after 5 years is 5 x 1/4 x EUR 2,962 = EUR 3,702.50, before anything the collective agreement adds. Ask how long the EOR's process takes and whether its fee continues during notice.

EOR or a French subsidiary (filiale)

A French subsidiary pays the same contributions and applies the same collective agreement. What it saves is the EOR fee, EUR 6,387.63 per employee each year; what it costs is company formation, URSSAF registration, a French payroll provider and staff who understand the agreements. Weigh the two with our guide to EOR versus your own entity, and check permanent establishment exposure if the French hire will sign deals.

French freelancers

Hiring a French freelancer avoids the 31.79%, but a freelancer working full time, for one client, inside your team, is the profile most likely to be requalified as an employee, with back contributions and the protections of a CDI. For true project work, contractor management platforms handle invoicing; a contractor of record adds a classification check.

Which EOR to use in France

On our scoring, Multiplier (79/100) and Oyster (64/100) are the two highest-ranked providers; compare them all on the EOR rankings page.

  • Multiplier: lists $459 per employee on an annual plan and $499 month to month; it says about 11% of countries cost more, without naming them, so get the France price in writing.
  • Oyster: $699 with no termination fee; a February 2026 Trustpilot review describes almost a month to get benefits documents in Belgium, a sign to ask about French mutuelle setup times (Oyster review).
  • Papaya bills EUR 650 in Europe and uses in-country partners. Deel and Remote list $599 (Deel review, Remote review).

For France, ask which collective agreement the EOR's entity applies, whether it claims the RGDU reduction for you, and whether it bills in EUR.

Frequently asked questions

What does an EOR cost in France?
Published EOR list prices run from $199 a month (Payoneer WFM, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster), with Pebl and Playroll at $399 and Deel and Remote at $599, per October 2026 checks. Adding that $599 fee to EUR 35,546 in pay and 31.79% in listed contributions gives EUR 53,232.28 per year, or USD 59,902.28, before RGDU relief and sector levies.
What are employer social contributions in France in 2026?
Per Cleiss, a salary below the PASS (EUR 4,005 a month) carries health 7% (13% above 2.396 SMIC), old-age 8.55% capped plus 2.11% uncapped, family 3.45% (5.25% above 3.3 SMIC), unemployment 4%, AGS 0.25%, CSA 0.3%, FNAL 0.10% and Agirc-Arrco 4.72% plus CEG 1.29%: 31.786% before AT/MP, levies and the RGDU reduction.
Is a 13th month salary mandatory in France?
No statute requires a 13th month in France. It is owed only when the sector's collective agreement or the employment contract provides it, so check the agreement the EOR applies before you set the salary.
How long can probation last in France?
According to service-public.fr, probation on a permanent contract (CDI) is up to 2 months for workers and employees, 3 months for supervisors and technicians and 4 months for managers. It can be renewed once, to 4, 6 or 8 months, only if an extended branch agreement allows it.
How is severance calculated in France?
Legal severance applies after 8 months of service: 1/4 of a month's salary per year for the first 10 years and 1/3 of a month per year after that, using the more favorable of the last 12 or last 3 months' average pay, per service-public.fr. At EUR 2,962 a month, 5 years of service gives EUR 3,702.50.
Sources (16)
  1. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. European Central Bank: Euro foreign exchange reference rates (rates for Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Papaya Global: Papaya Global pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Trustpilot: Oyster reviews (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. cleiss.fr/docs/cotisations/france.html (checked October 16, 2026)
  11. service-public.gouv.fr/particuliers/vosdroits/F2300 (checked October 16, 2026)
  12. legislation.lassuranceretraite.fr/Pdf/circulaire_cnav_2026_16_12062... (checked October 16, 2026)
  13. service-public.gouv.fr/particuliers/vosdroits/F987 (checked October 16, 2026)
  14. service-public.gouv.fr/particuliers/vosdroits/F1643 (checked October 16, 2026)
  15. service-public.gouv.fr/particuliers/vosdroits/F2258 (checked October 16, 2026)
  16. service-public.gouv.fr/particuliers/vosdroits/F2405 (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site