Employer of record in Germany: costs and rules for 2026
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
A German employee on EUR 35,000 costs the employer 21.30% more, EUR 7,455.00 a year, in social insurance at Deutsche Rentenversicherung and vdek 2026 rates, pension insurance at 9.3% being the biggest share. Published EOR list prices then run from $199 a month (Payoneer WFM, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster), going by October 2026 pricing pages. The rule US companies most often trip on is notice: outside probation, every dismissal must land on the 15th or the end of a month, and the employer's notice grows with tenure to 7 months after 20 years.
A German employer of record is a company in Germany that signs the employment contract with your hire, registers them with a statutory health fund, pays the employer half of social insurance each month and gives notice under the Civil Code when the job ends, while you manage the work.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- 21.30% (EUR 7,455.00), before…on top of gross pay
- Minimum annual leave
- 24 Werktage a year, where…
- Currency
- EUR
On this page
What makes hiring in Germany different
Social insurance is split roughly half and half between employer and employee, and the employee's share (about 21.15%) almost matches yours. The quirks are in how it is capped and who sets the rate.
- Two 2026 caps. Pension and unemployment stop at EUR 8,450 a month (EUR 101,400 a year), now one figure for all of Germany. Health and long-term care stop at EUR 5,812.50 a month (EUR 69,750).
- The health fund sets part of your cost. On top of 14.6%, each fund charges an additional rate. The 2026 average is 2.9%, up 0.4 points, and vdek expects actual fund rates to average above 3%. Your employee's choice of fund changes your bill.
- Extra levies. U1 (sick pay, employers up to 30 staff), U2 (maternity) and accident insurance through the trade association (BG) are employer-only and priced by fund or sector.
- Probation can last up to 6 months if agreed, with 2 weeks' notice either way during it.
- Notice is 4 weeks to the 15th or month end. Employer notice then rises to month end: 1 month after 2 years, 2 after 5, 3 after 8, 4 after 10, 5 after 12, 6 after 15 and 7 months after 20. Collective agreements can change this.
- No general statutory severance. For an operational dismissal, the employer can offer 0.5 month's pay per year of service in the notice, and the employee who does not sue in time receives it (KSchG s.1a).
- Leave: 24 working days (Werktage, counted on a six-day week) by statute, which is 20 days on a five-day week (BUrlG s.3). Christmas and vacation bonuses exist only by contract or collective agreement. Payroll runs monthly.
- Minimum wage: EUR 13.90 an hour from January 1, 2026, and EUR 14.60 from January 1, 2027. The minijob limit is EUR 603 a month.
Public holidays are set by each state, and we have not confirmed a count or the working-time limits from an official source; ask the EOR for the rules in your hire's state.
Employment costs and rules in Germany
| Item | Germany |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | 21.30% (pension 9.3 + unemployment 1.3 + health 7.3 + half of avg additional rate 1.45 + long-term care 1.8 + insolvency levy 0.15); plus U1/U2 levies and accident insurance (BG), which vary by fund and sector and are not included |
| What the employer pays | Pension (RV) 9.3% (total 18.6%), cap EUR 8,450/mo; Unemployment (AV) 1.3% (total 2.6%), cap EUR 8,450/mo; Health (KV) 7.3% (total 14.6%) plus half of the fund's additional rate (2026 average additional rate 2.9%, so about 1.45%), cap EUR 5,812.50/mo; Long-term care (PV) 1.8% (total 3.6%; Saxony employer 1.3%), cap EUR 5,812.50/mo; Insolvency levy (U3) 0.15%, RV cap; U1 sick pay levy (employers up to 30 staff) and U2 maternity levy: rates set by each health fund, not checked; Accident insurance (BG): sector risk rate, employer only, not checked |
| Caps and ceilings | 2026 caps (BBG): pension and unemployment EUR 8,450/mo (EUR 101,400/yr), now one figure for all of Germany; health and care EUR 5,812.50/mo (EUR 69,750/yr). Compulsory health insurance threshold (JAEG) EUR 77,400/yr. 2025 pension cap was EUR 8,050/mo. Miners' pension (knappschaftlich) cap EUR 10,400/mo |
| Employee contributions | About 21.15% (RV 9.3 + AV 1.3 + KV 7.3 + about 1.45 additional + PV 1.8); childless members aged 23+ pay 0.6 points more PV (21.75%); PV reduced 0.25 to 1.0 points for 2 to 5 children under 25 |
| Minimum wage | EUR 13.90 per hour from Jan 1, 2026; EUR 14.60 per hour from Jan 1, 2027. Minijob limit EUR 603/mo (2026), EUR 633/mo (2027) |
| Mandatory bonuses | None by statute. Christmas and vacation bonuses only by contract or collective agreement |
| Annual leave | 24 Werktage a year, where Werktage are all days except Sundays and public holidays, so 20 days on a 5-day week (BUrlG s.3(1)-(2)) |
| Probation | Up to 6 months if agreed; either side may give 2 weeks' notice during it (BGB s.622(3)) |
| Notice period | 4 weeks to the 15th or end of a calendar month (BGB s.622(1)). Employer notice rises with tenure, to month end: 1 month (2 years), 2 (5), 3 (8), 4 (10), 5 (12), 6 (15), 7 months (20 years) (s.622(2)); collective agreements may differ (s.622(4)) |
| Severance | No general statutory severance. KSchG s.1a: for an operational-reasons dismissal whose notice offers it, if the employee does not sue in time, 0.5 month's pay per year of service (over 6 months rounds up to a year) |
| Payroll frequency | Monthly |
| Sample salary used | EUR 35,000 per year (EUR 2,916.67/mo), about USD 40,000 at an assumed 1.15 USD/EUR (rate not fetched) |
| Employer cost on that salary | 21.30% (EUR 7,455.00), before U1/U2 and BG accident insurance |
Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official (DRV, Bundesregierung); KV/PV caps and rates from vdek and insolvency levy from TK, both statutory health insurance bodies under public law. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Germany
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
A EUR 35,000 German hire, priced out
At this salary nothing is capped, so the employer share is a flat 21.30% of pay. The fee and the dollar column use the ECB reference rate for October 16, 2026 (USD 1.1253 per EUR), so the salary is USD 39,385.50 rather than exactly USD 40,000.
| Item | Employer rate | EUR a year | USD a year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | EUR 2,916.67 a month | 35,000.00 | 39,385.50 |
| Pension insurance (RV) | 9.3% (half of 18.6%) | 3,255.00 | 3,662.85 |
| Unemployment insurance (AV) | 1.3% (half of 2.6%) | 455.00 | 512.01 |
| Health insurance (KV) | 7.3% (half of 14.6%) | 2,555.00 | 2,875.14 |
| Health fund additional rate | 1.45% (half the 2.9% 2026 average) | 507.50 | 571.09 |
| Long-term care (PV) | 1.8% (1.3% in Saxony) | 630.00 | 708.94 |
| Insolvency levy (U3) | 0.15% | 52.50 | 59.08 |
| Employer social insurance | 21.30% (every line is under its cap) | 7,455.00 | 8,389.11 |
| EOR fee | $599 x 12, converted at USD 1.1253 per EUR | 6,387.63 | 7,188.00 |
| Total cost to you | Salary + social insurance + fee | 48,842.63 | 54,962.61 |
| Per month | Total / 12 | 4,070.22 | 4,580.22 |
Rates and caps: Deutsche Rentenversicherung (2026 figures), vdek (health and care), TK (insolvency levy). Not included: U1 and U2 levies and accident insurance (BG), which vary by fund and sector. Conversion: ECB euro reference rate, October 16, 2026. Fee: $599, what Deel and Remote listed in October 2026.
Higher salaries flatten out. Above EUR 69,750 the health and care lines stop growing, and above EUR 101,400 nothing does. The U1, U2 and BG lines are missing here because they depend on the fund and sector; ask your EOR to show them on the quote.
Model your own figures with the international payroll cost calculator, or line Germany up against other countries in the cost index.
What letting someone go costs
Take the sample employee after 5 years. Notice is 2 months to the end of a month. If the dismissal is for operational reasons and the notice offers the statutory payment, it is 0.5 x EUR 2,916.67 x 5 = EUR 7,291.67. Whatever the exit costs, the EOR passes it to you.
Long notice also raises deposits. Multiplier sets its deposit partly from notice periods, so a contract with longer notice than the statutory minimum means a bigger upfront payment.
Setting up a German company instead
Your own German entity pays the same 21.30% and the same levies. The saving is the EUR 6,387.63 annual fee per head at $599 a month. The cost is registering a company, joining the BG for your sector, running monthly payroll for each health fund and handling dismissals under German law yourself. Our EOR versus entity guide covers the crossover point, and the permanent establishment guide covers tax exposure from staff in Germany.
Freelancers in Germany
A freelancer who works only for you, on your schedule and inside your team looks like an employee. If that is found later, the arrears are the social insurance that was never paid: 21.30% from the employer side on this salary, plus the employee share. For true freelancers, contractor management platforms are the cheap route; a contractor of record adds a compliance check for a fee.
Which EOR fits a German hire
Ranked on our published criteria, Multiplier scores 79/100 and Oyster 64/100; the best EOR list covers the rest.
- Multiplier: $499 on monthly billing or $459 if you commit to a year, deposit refunded within 60 days. Its FAQ says there is no setup fee, but its pricing page mentions an implementation fee "as applicable".
- Oyster: $699, no onboarding or termination fees, 30 days' notice to leave the service.
- Deel and Remote list $599. Remote's default terms run 12 months and auto-renew (Remote review); Deel's promo order forms need two years (Deel review). Oyster's complaints are in the Oyster review.
For Germany, ask whether the contract follows a collective agreement, which health fund additional rate the quote assumes, and whether U1, U2 and BG are in the price.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an employer of record cost in Germany?
What are employer social security contributions in Germany for 2026?
How long is the notice period in Germany?
Is severance pay required in Germany?
What is the German minimum wage in 2026?
Sources (14)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- European Central Bank: Euro foreign exchange reference rates (rates for Oct 16, 2026)
- deutsche-rentenversicherung.de/KnappschaftBahnSee/DE/Aktuelles/Meld... (checked October 16, 2026)
- bundesregierung.de/breg-de/aktuelles/mindestlohn-steigt-2391010 (checked October 16, 2026)
- vdek.com/politik/was-aendert-sich/gesundheitswesen-2026.html (checked October 16, 2026)
- tk.de/firmenkunden/service/fachthemen/fachthema-beitraege/insolvenz... (checked October 16, 2026)
- gesetze-im-internet.de/burlg/__3.html (checked October 16, 2026)
- gesetze-im-internet.de/bgb/__622.html (checked October 16, 2026)
- gesetze-im-internet.de/kschg/__1a.html (checked October 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.