Papaya Global review: pricing, payroll and the fees without a price

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Papaya Global's employer of record (EOR) service costs from $650 per employee per month, or EUR 650 in Europe, according to its pricing page (checked October 16, 2026). Papaya payroll for companies with their own entity starts at $12 per employee, and the Payroll Platform License is $3 a month.

Papaya also names a setup fee per location, a cycle fee per employee, a year-end filing fee, an onboarding fee and a refundable deposit, without giving any amount. Its EOR runs on in-country partners, not its own entities.

Papaya Global is a global payroll and payments company that also offers employer of record services through a network of in-country partner firms.

On this page

Papaya Global at a glance

EOR price
From $650EUR 650 in Europe
Payroll
From $12per employee, your own entity
Entity model
Partnersin-country partners, by design
Our score
55/100EOR category
55/100Best for larger companies that want payroll and payments infrastructure in many countries

Papaya Global

Papaya prices its payroll and payments software low and per license, which suits companies that already own entities abroad. Its EOR costs more than most at $650, runs on in-country partners, and comes with four fees Papaya names but does not price. Its review base is small and has a high one-star share.

How the score adds up

  • Price13/25
  • Hidden costs11/20
  • Entity ownership10/20
  • Contract terms9/15
  • Support7/10
  • Complaints record5/10

Scores follow our scoring method. Papaya's place against the rest is on our EOR rankings.

Papaya Global pricing

Papaya Global prices by product (published list prices)
ProductPublished priceUnitNotes
Employer of record (EOR)From $650 (EUR 650 in Europe)Per employee per month"There may be variations in pricing in some countries"
Full-Service payrollFrom $12Per employee per monthPayroll on your own entity; may vary by country
Payroll Platform License$3Per month (per-employee basis not confirmed in our research)
Payments license$3Per month (per-employee basis not confirmed in our research)
Contractor Management$2Per contractor per month
Data and Insights$150Per location per monthWorkforce analytics

Source: Papaya Global pricing page, checked October 16, 2026.

Papaya is two businesses with two pricing models. Its EOR is a per-employee fee like everyone else's, priced at $650 for "most countries outside of Europe" and EUR 650 in Europe. Its payroll products are cheap per-seat licenses: from $12 for Full-Service payroll, $3 for the platform alone, $3 for payments. If you have your own entities, Papaya payroll is among the lowest published global payroll prices in our research. See global payroll providers and EOR vs global payroll for when each model fits.

Fees Papaya names but does not price

Fees Papaya names but does not price
FeeWhat Papaya saysAmount
Setup"a set-up fee per location"Not stated
Payroll cycle"a cycle fee per employee"Not stated
Year-end"a year-end fee for tax filing"Not stated
Onboardinga "small fee"Not stated
Deposit"We charge a refundable deposit to ensure that funds are available to pay your employees on time"Not stated; refund timing not stated
Offboarding"There are no additional fees."None
FX conversionNot mentionedNot stated

Source: Papaya Global pricing page, checked October 16, 2026.

This is the gap that matters for a Papaya EOR quote. A setup fee per location and a cycle fee per employee could change the real monthly cost a lot, and Papaya gives no figure for either. Ask for all four amounts, plus the deposit amount and refund timing, on your quote.

Ask Papaya for a single all-in monthly figure per employee, by country, that includes the cycle fee, plus a separate line for one-time setup per location and the yearly tax filing fee.

What Papaya costs for a real team

Papaya EOR fees by team size
Team sizeAt $650 a monthPer yearFull-Service payroll at $12, if you have an entity
1 employee$650$7,800$12 a month
5 employees$3,250$39,000$60 a month
10 employees$6,500$78,000$120 a month
25 employees$16,250$195,000$300 a month

Source: Papaya Global pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Yearly figure is monthly x 12. Before the setup, cycle, year-end and onboarding fees, which Papaya does not price.

A 25-person team costs $16,250 a month on EOR, or $300 on Full-Service payroll if you own an entity in that country. That gap is why companies with a stable team in one country often open an entity: see EOR vs your own entity.

For one hire in Germany, priced in euros as Papaya bills in Europe, using the official figures on our Germany employer cost page:

One employee in Germany on EUR 35,000 through Papaya EOR
Cost linePer yearMath
SalaryEUR 35,000.00EUR 2,916.67 a month
Employer social contributionsEUR 7,455.0021.30% x 35,000
Papaya EOR feeEUR 7,800.00EUR 650 x 12
TotalEUR 50,255.0035,000 + 7,455 + 7,800
Not includedVariesU1 and U2 levies, accident insurance, Papaya setup, cycle and year-end fees, deposit

Sources: Deutsche Rentenversicherung 2026 social insurance figures and vdek 2026 health insurance changes, checked October 16, 2026; Papaya Global pricing page, checked October 16, 2026.

Other countries' employer costs are in the employer cost by country index.

Contract terms and exit

Papaya says "we do not demand that companies sign up for a minimum length of time", and its basic agreement has a "60 day opt-out clause". Offboarding carries "no additional fees", though severance and notice pay under local law are yours to pay. Sixty days is longer than Oyster's 30-day notice, so a decision to leave can cost up to two months of fees, one more than at Oyster. Put the 60 days in your exit plan.

Entity model: in-country partners, by choice

Papaya does not claim to own its EOR entities. Its EOR page describes a model that "works with a network of ICPs" (in-country partners) and argues that the wholly owned model's reputation for reliability is, for the most part, "a myth". Its country specialists are hired by local accounting firms.

That is a plain statement of a partner model, and it is the opposite of what Remote ("100% owned entities") and Multiplier claim. With a partner, your worker's legal employer is a local firm Papaya contracts with. Ask Papaya to name the partner in your country and explain who is liable for a payroll error. Our guide to employers of record covers both models.

Country coverage

Papaya's pricing page claims 160+ countries and its EOR page "over 160+ jurisdictions". Those figures agree with each other, unlike Deel's or Oyster's. Because coverage runs through partners, ask how long Papaya has worked with the partner in your country.

Support

Papaya says "There is always a person in your time zone... speaking the local language", and that each customer gets a dedicated customer success manager or global payroll specialist. It makes no 24/7 claim. A Trustpilot reviewer on Apr 20, 2026 described an unusable mobile app, "no live customer service" and long email exchanges.

Reviews and complaints

Papaya holds 4.5 out of 5 from 55 reviews on G2 and 4.2 from 58 on Trustpilot (both seen Oct 16, 2026). On Trustpilot, 62% of reviews are five-star and 29% are one-star, the highest one-star share among the EORs we track with more than 50 reviews. We could see only one critical review on the first page (Apr 20, 2026). Trustpilot's AI summary names delayed payments, incorrect payroll calculations, unexpected tax code changes and failed automatic payments; we could not tie those to dated reviews.

With fewer than 60 reviews on each site, the sample is small. Ask Papaya for references in your country.

What works

  • Low payroll prices: Full-Service from $12 per employee, $3 Payroll Platform License
  • No minimum term, no offboarding fee
  • Open about its partner model
  • Consistent 160+ country figure

Watch out for

  • EOR at $650 is above Deel and Remote at $599
  • Setup, cycle, year-end and onboarding fees named but not priced
  • Deposit amount and FX terms not published
  • 29% one-star share on Trustpilot

Papaya Global vs Deel, and alternatives

For EOR, Papaya costs $51 more per employee per month than Deel ($650 vs $599), and its four unpriced fees could widen that gap. Deel says it owns its entities; Papaya uses partners. For contractors, Papaya lists $2 a month for contractor management against Deel's $49, but check what is included; payouts may need the $3 payments license. See contractor payment platforms.

  • G-P: quote only, or $599 on its info page, with uniform country rates.
  • Oyster: $699 flat, deposit published.
  • Multiplier: $459 billed annually, owned entities claimed.
  • Pebl: $399.

All fees and deposits side by side: EOR pricing compared.

How Papaya Global scores

Papaya Global scores 55/100, which places it 6th of the 13 EOR providers we score (tied with Atlas). The top score is Multiplier at 79. Every point below comes from a published fact or documented complaints; the rules are in how we score providers.

How Papaya Global scores, criterion by criterion
CriterionPointsWhy
Price per employee13 of 25Publishes EOR from $650 per employee per month (EUR 650 in Europe), in the $600 to $699 band (13).
Hidden costs disclosed11 of 20Confirms a refundable deposit without an amount (3); FX is not mentioned (0); 'no additional fees' for offboarding (5); setup per location, cycle, year-end and onboarding fees are named without amounts (3).
Entity ownership and country coverage10 of 20Openly uses in-country partners and calls the reliability of the owned-entity model 'a myth' (2); 160+ countries (8).
Contract terms9 of 15No minimum term, with a 60-day opt-out clause (6); that 60-day opt-out is longer than 30 days (3); full terms were not read (0).
Support and compliance help7 of 10Says a person in your time zone speaks the local language, while a reviewer reports no live customer service (2), plus a dedicated customer success manager and country staff hired from local accounting firms (5).
Documented complaint patterns5 of 10Trustpilot 4.2 from 58 reviews with 29% one-star (3 of 4); only one critical review was visible, so patterns are not established (default 2 of 6).
Total55 of 100

Source: HRPricing EOR scores, checked 2026-10-17, from research gathered October 16, 2026.

Our verdict

Bottom line: Papaya Global scores 55/100, level with Atlas and just above Deel. If you own entities and need payroll and payments across many countries, its license pricing is worth a quote. As an EOR, it is a partner model at an above-average $650 with several unpriced fees. Get every fee in writing before you compare it with Deel or Remote.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Papaya Global cost?
Papaya Global EOR costs from $650 per employee per month, or EUR 650 in Europe. Full-Service payroll costs from $12 per employee, the platform and payments licenses $3 each, contractor management $2 per contractor, and Data and Insights $150 per location (Papaya pricing page, checked October 16, 2026).
What does Papaya payroll cost?
Papaya Full-Service payroll starts at $12 per employee per month, and the Payroll Platform License alone is $3 a month. Pricing may vary by country, and Papaya also mentions a setup fee per location and a year-end tax filing fee without amounts (Papaya pricing page, checked October 16, 2026).
Does Papaya Global charge a deposit?
Yes. Papaya says it charges a refundable deposit to make sure funds are available to pay employees on time, but it does not state the amount or refund timing (Papaya pricing page, checked October 16, 2026).
Does Papaya Global own its EOR entities?
No. Papaya's EOR page describes working with a network of in-country partners (ICPs) and calls the wholly owned model's reputation for reliability largely "a myth" (checked October 16, 2026).
Papaya Global vs Deel: which is cheaper for EOR?
Deel lists EOR at $599 per employee per month and Papaya from $650 (pricing pages, checked October 16, 2026). Papaya also names setup, cycle, year-end and onboarding fees without prices. Papaya has no minimum term but a 60-day opt-out clause.
Can I cancel Papaya Global?
Papaya says it does not require a minimum term, and its basic agreement has a 60-day opt-out clause. It charges no additional offboarding fee, though severance and notice pay under local law are billed to you (Papaya pricing page, checked October 16, 2026).
Sources (7)
  1. Papaya Global: Papaya Global pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Papaya Global: Papaya Global employer of record page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Trustpilot: Papaya Global reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
  4. G2: Papaya Global reviews (seen Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Deutsche Rentenversicherung: Social insurance figures 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. vdek: Health insurance changes 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Papaya Global pricing on Papaya Global’s site