Employer of record in Malta: costs, bonuses and rules for 2026
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
A Malta employee on EUR 35,546 a year adds 8.4% to the employer bill beyond salary, EUR 2,995.72, almost all of it the Class 1 social security contribution (SSC), which the Malta Tax and Customs Administration (MTCA) caps at EUR 55.93 a week for anyone born from 1962 on. The provider charge sits on top: from $199 per worker per month at Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad) to $699 at Oyster, as of our October 2026 check. What US companies miss is the four fixed statutory payments, two bonuses and two weekly allowances worth EUR 512.52 a year, which the Department for Industrial and Employment Relations (DIER) requires on top of salary and which lift the on-cost to 9.9%.
An employer of record in Malta is a Maltese company that employs your worker, pays Class 1 SSC and the statutory bonuses, and runs payroll, while you direct the work.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- 8.4%on top of gross pay
- Minimum annual leave
- 192 hours a year for a…
- Currency
- EUR
On this page
Malta works in weeks, not months
Malta's payroll rules are set against the basic weekly wage, and that shapes the cost.
- Class 1 SSC is banded. For workers 18 and over born from 1962 on: Category B (basic weekly wage up to EUR 229.44) pays a fixed EUR 22.94 a week; Category C (EUR 229.45 to 559.30) pays 10%; Category D (EUR 559.31 and up) pays a fixed EUR 55.93 a week. The employee pays 10% of the basic weekly wage up to the same weekly maximum. For employees born up to 1961 the maximum is EUR 49.04 a week.
- Maternity Leave Trust Fund: 0.3% in Category C, or EUR 0.69 (B) or EUR 1.68 (D) a week, paid by the employer.
- Statutory bonuses and weekly allowances: EUR 135.10 at the end of June and EUR 135.10 between December 15 and 23, plus EUR 121.16 at the end of March and at the end of September. Part-year staff get them pro rata (EUR 0.74 a calendar day for the bonuses, EUR 4.66 a working week for the allowances).
- Minimum wage: EUR 229.44 a week (EUR 5.74 an hour) at 18 and over in 2026 where no Wage Regulation Order applies; EUR 222.66 at 17 and EUR 219.82 at 16.
- Leave in hours: 192 hours a year on a 40-hour week, about 24 working days, plus a day for each public holiday that falls on a rest day.
No official source in our data yet covers Malta's public holiday count, probation, notice periods, severance or pay frequency. Get the EOR to put its terms in the contract and compare them with DIER guidance.
Employment costs and rules in Malta
| Item | Malta |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | 10% of basic weekly wage up to a weekly maximum, plus 0.3% maternity contribution (capped at EUR 55.93 plus EUR 1.68 a week for employees born from 1962 on) |
| What the employer pays | Class 1 social security contribution (SSC) employer share: Category B (18 and over, basic weekly wage up to EUR 229.44) EUR 22.94 a week; Category C (EUR 229.45 to 559.30 a week, born 1962 on) 10%; Category D (EUR 559.31 a week and over, born 1962 on) fixed EUR 55.93 a week; maternity contribution (Maternity Leave Trust Fund) 0.3% in Category C, EUR 0.69 (B) or EUR 1.68 (D) a week; for employees born up to 1961 Category C runs to EUR 490.38 and Category D is EUR 49.04 a week (maternity EUR 1.47) |
| Caps and ceilings | Weekly maximum employer SSC EUR 55.93 (born from 1 Jan 1962) or EUR 49.04 (born up to 31 Dec 1961), reached at a basic weekly wage of EUR 559.31 or EUR 490.39; maternity contribution capped at EUR 1.68 or EUR 1.47 a week. MTCA 2026 table; it states no effective date |
| Employee contributions | 10% of basic weekly wage, same weekly maximum as the employer (EUR 55.93 a week, born 1962 on), plus income tax |
| Minimum wage | EUR 229.44 a week (EUR 5.74 an hour) for age 18 and over; EUR 222.66 (17) and EUR 219.82 (16) a week; 2026 rates where no Wage Regulation Order applies (DIER Resource Pack 2026) |
| Mandatory bonuses | Statutory bonuses EUR 135.10 at end of June and EUR 135.10 between Dec 15 and 23 (pro rata EUR 0.74 a calendar day); weekly allowances EUR 121.16 at end of March and EUR 121.16 at end of September (pro rata EUR 4.66 a working week); EUR 512.52 a year in total |
| Annual leave | 192 hours a year for a 40-hour week (4 weeks and 32 hours, about 24 working days); a public holiday falling on a rest day adds one working day to leave |
| Standard work week | 40 (averaged over 4 weeks or the shift cycle) where no Wage Regulation Order applies |
| Sample salary used | EUR 35,546 a year (about EUR 683.58 a week) = USD 40,000 at ECB EUR/USD 1.1253 (Oct 16 2026) |
| Employer cost on that salary | 8.4% |
Checked October 17, 2026. Source type: official. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Malta
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
A EUR 35,546 Maltese hire, all in
USD 40,000 at the ECB reference rate of 1.1253 USD per EUR (October 16, 2026) is EUR 35,546 a year, about EUR 683.58 a week. That is above the EUR 559.31 Category D threshold, so SSC is the fixed weekly maximum.
| Line | Basis | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | about EUR 683.58 a week | EUR 35,546.00 |
| Class 1 SSC, employer (Category D maximum) | EUR 55.93 x 52 weeks | EUR 2,908.36 |
| Maternity Leave Trust Fund | EUR 1.68 x 52 weeks | EUR 87.36 |
| Statutory bonuses (June and December) | EUR 135.10 x 2 | EUR 270.20 |
| Weekly allowances (March and September) | EUR 121.16 x 2 | EUR 242.32 |
| Employer cost before the EOR fee | 9.9% over salary | EUR 39,054.24 |
| EOR fee at $599 a month | $7,188 at 1.1253 USD per EUR | EUR 6,387.63 |
| All-in cost | EUR 45,441.87 |
Source: Malta Tax and Customs Administration (MTCA) Class 1 SSC table for 2026; DIER Resource Pack 2026 and DIER bonus and weekly allowance page; ECB reference rate of 1.1253 USD per EUR on Oct 16, 2026; fee of $599 as listed by Deel and Remote on Oct 16, 2026.
The math: (EUR 55.93 + EUR 1.68) x 52 = EUR 2,995.72, which is 8.4% of EUR 35,546. The four statutory payments add EUR 512.52, and (2,995.72 + 512.52) / 35,546 = 9.9%. Converted at 1.1253, the $7,188 annual fee ($599 x 12) is EUR 6,387.63. Some years have 53 contribution weeks, which adds one more week of SSC.
Because SSC is capped, a higher salary barely moves the employer's contribution. At $199 a month (Payoneer WFM) the fee is EUR 2,122.10 a year; at $399 (Pebl, Playroll), EUR 4,254.87; at $699 (Oyster), EUR 7,454.01. Compare other countries in the EOR cost index.
Malta contractors and self-employment
A Maltese contractor invoices you, so you avoid the employer SSC and the four statutory payments. If the role is full time, for you alone and directed by your managers, it starts to look like employment, and the bonuses and SSC are the back cost. Keep project work on contractor management software or with a contractor of record.
EOR providers that cover Malta
Multiplier holds the top spot on our 100-point scale with 79, and Oyster is runner-up with 64. In a euro country, check the conversion terms: Oyster charges a conversion fee only when you pay in a currency other than the contract currency, Remote's terms reserve a transaction fee or margin, and Atlas says it adds a disclosed markup to the OANDA spot rate, without publishing the percentage. Also ask whether the provider pays the June and December bonuses and the March and September allowances as separate lines.
The whole field is in our EOR comparison; for detail on fees and contracts, see how Oyster, Remote and Deel handle them.
A Maltese company of your own
Your own entity would pay SSC to the MTCA itself and track the weekly SSC bands and the four payment dates. Four people on a $599 plan add up to $28,752 a year; weighing an entity against an EOR shows where that tips. Mediterranean comparisons: Italy and Greece.
Frequently asked questions
What is the all-in cost of an employer of record in Malta?
What is the maximum employer SSC in Malta in 2026?
What statutory bonuses are paid in Malta?
How much is the 2026 Maltese minimum wage?
How much annual leave do employees get in Malta?
Sources (12)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Atlas: Atlas pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- mtca.gov.mt/personal-tax/fss/social-security-contribution-rates/cla... (checked October 17, 2026)
- dier.gov.mt/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Resource-Pack-2026-Final-21.... (checked October 17, 2026)
- dier.gov.mt/en/services/employment-conditions/wages/bonus-and-weekl... (checked October 17, 2026)
- ecb.europa.eu/stats/eurofxref/eurofxref-daily.xml (checked October 17, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.