Employer of record in Israel: costs and rules
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
An employee hired in Israel through an employer of record costs 19.66% on top of an ILS 136,000 salary (21.99% if severance is funded at 8.33%), and the biggest piece is the mandatory pension package of 6.5% pension plus 6% severance, not National Insurance; on top of that, providers list their service charge from $199 per worker monthly (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) up to $699 (Oyster), per their October 2026 pricing pages. Severance is where American employers most often misjudge Israel: Israeli law owes one month's salary per year of service, and most employers prefund it every month through the pension, so it belongs in the monthly budget rather than in a reserve for later.
An employer of record in Israel is an Israeli company that becomes your worker's legal employer, pays Bituach Leumi and the pension and severance contributions through local payroll, and lets you manage the job itself.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- 19.66% (ILS 26,737) with 6%…on top of gross pay
- Minimum annual leave
- About 12 working days (16…
- Currency
- ILS
On this page
Israel's rules that change the budget
- National Insurance has two bands. Bituach Leumi charges the employer 4.51% on pay up to ILS 7,703 a month and 7.6% from there to the ILS 51,910 ceiling (2026 bands, in force January 1). At ILS 11,333.33 a month that works out to 5.50%. Health tax is deducted from the employee only.
- Pension is compulsory for employers. Under the extension order, the employer pays 6.5% to pension and 6% to a severance component, and the employee pays 6% (secondary sources: Shibolet law firm, CWS Israel).
- Recreation pay (dmei havraa) is an annual cash bonus. After the first year the employee gets ILS 451.50 per day (2026 private-sector rate, order published August 18, 2026) for 5 days, rising to 10 days with tenure (secondary sources).
- The minimum wage rose on April 1, 2026 to ILS 6,443.85 a month (ILS 35.40 an hour on a 182-hour month), up from ILS 6,247.67. Pages written before that date are out of date.
- Annual leave starts at about 12 working days (16 calendar days) and grows with seniority, per secondary sources.
We have not yet confirmed Israel's notice periods, probation rules, paid holiday count or standard week from an official source; the Kol Zchut English pages were removed in 2023. Ask the EOR for those terms in the employment contract and check them against the Ministry of Labor.
Employment costs and rules in Israel
| Item | Israel |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | National Insurance 4.51% to 7.6% (about 5.5% at ILS 11,333/mo) plus mandatory pension 6.5% and severance 6% (or 8.33%); about 18% to 20% all-in at a mid-level salary |
| What the employer pays | National Insurance (Bituach Leumi) employer 4.51% on pay up to ILS 7,703/mo, 7.6% from 7,703 to 51,910/mo; health tax is employee only; Mandatory pension (extension order): employer 6.5% pension and 6% severance component, employee 6% (secondary); many employers pay 8.33% severance under Section 14; Recreation pay (dmei havraa): ILS 451.50 per day in 2026, days by tenure (5 in year 1, rising to 10); Keren Hishtalmut study fund 7.5% employer / 2.5% employee is customary in tech, not mandatory for most sectors |
| Caps and ceilings | NI max insurable income ILS 51,910/mo (2026); reduced-rate band up to ILS 7,703/mo (60% of average wage). Pension obligation applies up to the average wage under the extension order (unconfirmed); Keren Hishtalmut tax-exempt ceiling about ILS 15,712/mo (secondary, unconfirmed) |
| Employee contributions | NI plus health 4.27% up to ILS 7,703 and 12.17% above (about 6.8% at ILS 11,333/mo), plus 6% pension (about 12.8% total) |
| Minimum wage | ILS 6,443.85 per month from Apr 1, 2026 (ILS 35.40/hour on a 182-hour month, 34.64 on 186 hours); was ILS 6,247.67 from Apr 1, 2025 |
| Mandatory bonuses | Recreation pay (dmei havraa) after 1 year: ILS 451.50 per day (2026 private sector, order published Aug 18, 2026) x 5 to 10 days by tenure (secondary) |
| Annual leave | About 12 working days (16 calendar days) in the first years, rising with seniority (secondary; exact table not read) |
| Severance | 1 month's salary per year of service (Severance Pay Law), usually prefunded through the pension severance component under Section 14 (secondary) |
| Payroll frequency | Monthly |
| Sample salary used | ILS 136,000 per year (ILS 11,333.33/mo), about USD 40,000 at an assumed 3.40 ILS/USD (rate not fetched) |
| Employer cost on that salary | 19.66% (ILS 26,737) with 6% severance; 21.99% with 8.33% severance |
Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official (Bituach Leumi) for NI and minimum wage; secondary (Shibolet law firm, CWS Israel) for pension, recreation pay and leave. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Israel
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
Severance in Israel is paid as you go
The Severance Pay Law sets one month's salary per year of service. Most employers fund it monthly through the pension's severance component under Section 14, at 6% or at 8.33%. One month a year is 8.33% of annual salary, so the choice matters: at ILS 136,000 the gap is ILS 3,168.80 a year per person. Ask each EOR which rate its Israeli contract uses and whether Section 14 applies. A provider that quotes 6% and a rival that quotes 8.33% are not pricing the same job.
Keren Hishtalmut, the study fund (7.5% employer, 2.5% employee), is customary in tech but not mandatory for most sectors. If you offer it, add 7.5% of salary, up to its tax-exempt ceiling, to the totals below.
Cost of one Israeli employee on ILS 136,000
The sample salary is ILS 136,000, roughly USD 40,000 at an assumed 3.40 ILS per USD that we did not fetch, so the EOR fee stays in dollars.
| Line | How it is calculated | 6% severance (ILS) | 8.33% severance (ILS) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | 12 x 11,333.33 | 136,000.00 | 136,000.00 |
| National Insurance, low band | 4.51% x 7,703 x 12 | 4,168.86 | 4,168.86 |
| National Insurance, upper band | 7.6% x 3,630.33 x 12 | 3,310.86 | 3,310.86 |
| Pension, employer | 6.5% x 136,000 | 8,840.00 | 8,840.00 |
| Severance component | 6% or 8.33% x 136,000 | 8,160.00 | 11,328.80 |
| Recreation pay (from year 2) | 5 days x 451.50 | 2,257.50 | 2,257.50 |
| Employer cost | share of salary | 26,737.22 (19.66%) | 29,906.02 (21.99%) |
| Salary plus employer cost | 162,737.22 | 165,906.02 | |
| EOR fee at $599 a month | kept in USD | $7,188 | $7,188 |
National Insurance: 4,168.86 + 3,310.86 = 7,479.72 a year (623.31 a month; lines rounded separately). Employer cost: 7,479.72 + 8,840 + 8,160 + 2,257.50 = 26,737.22. Sources: Bituach Leumi rate page (NI bands, official); Shibolet and CWS Israel (pension, severance, recreation pay, secondary); EOR fee from Deel and Remote pricing pages. Checked Oct 2026.
Above ILS 51,910 a month no further National Insurance is due. To test other salaries, use the calculator for international employee cost, and see how Israel ranks against its neighbors in the EOR cost index by country.
Which EOR to use in Israel
Ranked by our published scores (how we score providers), Multiplier leads at 79 and Oyster follows at 64. Multiplier lists $459 a month on an annual plan ($499 monthly) and says it owns entities in 160+ countries; its terms need 30 days to process a termination. Oyster lists $699, takes a refundable deposit of at least one month of total service cost and credits it about 60 days after the end date. Remote (62) and Deel (54) both list $599. Compare them in the best EOR rankings, or read the Deel EOR review, Remote EOR review and Oyster EOR review before you sign.
Contractor or employee in Israel
Israeli engineers often start as contractors for US companies. Once the person works full time for one client under its direction, the arrangement looks like employment, and the missed pension, severance and recreation pay become the bill. A contractor of record carries that classification risk for you; a contractor management tool only handles contracts and payments.
When an Israeli entity makes sense
The EOR fee is $7,188 a year per person at $599 a month. With a local company you replace that fee with registration, bookkeeping, a payroll provider and your own pension fund setup. The EOR or entity break-even guide shows how headcount changes the answer.
Frequently asked questions
How much does it cost to hire an employee in Israel?
What are the employer National Insurance rates in Israel for 2026?
Is severance pay mandatory in Israel?
What is recreation pay (dmei havraa) in Israel in 2026?
What is the minimum wage in Israel in 2026?
Sources (13)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier EOR terms (effective Jun 1, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster customer terms (version 2025-02-27) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- btl.gov.il/English%20Homepage/Insurance/Employers/IsraeliResident/P... (checked October 16, 2026)
- btl.gov.il/MEDINIYUT/GENERALDATA/Pages/%D7%A9%D7%9B%D7%A8%20%D7%9E%... (checked October 16, 2026)
- shibolet.com/?p=27080 (checked October 16, 2026)
- cwsisrael.com/employer-cost-calculator-israel-2026 (checked October 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.