Employer of record in El Salvador: what a hire costs

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

On a USD 40,000 salary, an employee in El Salvador costs the employer 11.0% more, or $4,400 a year, and most of it is the 8.75% private pension (AFP) contribution, according to Deloitte's El Salvador Highlights 2026; EOR providers charge $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month on top, checked October 2026. The error to avoid is applying the 16.25% headline rate to the whole salary: the 7.5% ISSS social security charge stops at USD 1,000 of monthly pay, so it never costs more than $75 a month per employee.

An employer of record in El Salvador is a Salvadoran company that legally employs your worker, registers them with the ISSS (Instituto Salvadoreno del Seguro Social) and a pension fund manager, and pays the employer contributions, while you set the work.

Employer cost on a sample salary
11.0% (USD 4,400 = ISSS 75 x…on top of gross pay
Currency
USD
On this page

How El Salvador payroll differs

It runs in US dollars. El Salvador's payroll currency is the USD, so neither you nor your hire carries exchange-rate risk on salary. Ask the EOR whether it still charges a conversion or transfer margin when you fund payroll from a US account.

Two employer charges, one capped. Deloitte lists the employer share as ISSS 7.5% of pay up to USD 1,000 a month (a maximum of $75) and AFP pension 8.75% of monthly pay. The employee pays ISSS 3% up to the same USD 1,000 (a maximum of $30) and pension 7.25%. The pension split reflects the 2022 pension reform. Our research did not confirm a pension ceiling, so budget 8.75% on full pay.

Minimum wages by sector, from June 1, 2025. After a 12% increase: USD 408.80 a month for commerce, services and industry; USD 402.32 for textile maquila; USD 305.23 for sugar cane and coffee processing; USD 272.53 for other farm work. We found no 2026 change. At USD 408.80, both employer charges apply in full (16.25%), adding $66.43 a month.

We have not yet confirmed from an official source El Salvador's labor rules: the aguinaldo (year-end bonus), vacation and its premium, probation, notice, dismissal indemnity, public holidays, pay frequency and working hours. We also have not confirmed whether the 1% INSAFORP training contribution applies. The Ministry of Labor (MTPS) download page lists only 2021 wage tables. Get each item in writing from your EOR.

Employment costs and rules in El Salvador

Employing someone in El Salvador: the rules and costs
ItemEl Salvador
Employer social contributions16.25% (ISSS 7.5% capped at USD 1,000 of pay + pension 8.75%); about 11% at USD 3,333/mo because of the ISSS cap; INSAFORP 1% not confirmed
What the employer paysSocial security (ISSS) 7.5% of pay, capped at USD 1,000/mo (max USD 75/mo); Private pension (AFP) 8.75% of monthly pay
Caps and ceilingsISSS cap USD 1,000 of monthly pay (employer max USD 75, employee max USD 30). Pension cap not confirmed
Employee contributions10.25% (ISSS 3% capped at USD 1,000 + pension 7.25%)
Minimum wageUSD 408.80/mo for commerce, services and industry; USD 402.32 textile maquila; USD 305.23 sugar cane and coffee processing; USD 272.53 other farm work, from Jun 1, 2025 (+12%); no 2026 change found
Sample salary usedUSD 40,000 per year (USD 3,333.33/mo)
Employer cost on that salary11.0% (USD 4,400 = ISSS 75 x 12 = 900 + pension 8.75% x 40,000 = 3,500)

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary (Deloitte El Salvador Highlights 2026, Jan 2026). Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in El Salvador

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

USD 40,000 in El Salvador, month and year

Because salary and fee are both in dollars, the full cost needs no conversion. USD 40,000 a year is $3,333.33 a month, well above the ISSS ceiling.

El Salvador: employer cost of a USD 40,000 EOR hire
LinePer monthPer year
Gross salary$3,333.33$40,000.00
ISSS, 7.5% of the first $1,000$75.00$900.00
AFP pension, 8.75%$291.67$3,500.00
Employer cost before the EOR fee$3,700.00$44,400.00
EOR fee$599.00$7,188.00
All-in$4,299.00$51,588.00

Source: Deloitte El Salvador Highlights 2026 (January 2026, secondary); Deel and Remote $599 list price (pricing pages checked Oct 16, 2026). Checked Oct 2026.

The math: ISSS is $75 x 12 = $900; pension is 8.75% x $40,000 = $3,500; together $4,400, which is 11.0% of salary. Applying 16.25% to the full $40,000 would give $6,500, overstating the cost by $2,100.

The fee is the biggest single add-on here, larger than both contributions combined. At $399 (Pebl, Playroll) the year is $49,188; at $699 (Oyster) it is $52,788; at Payoneer Workforce Management's $199 entry price it is $46,788. Your hire's own deductions come to $3,260 a year ($360 ISSS plus $2,900 pension). Possible year-end and vacation payments are not in the table because we have not confirmed them. Use the international employee cost calculator for other salaries.

Choosing a provider for El Salvador

Our published scores rank Multiplier (79/100) and Oyster (64/100) at the top, followed by Remote (62), Playroll (60), Pebl (57) and Deel (54); the criteria are in our scoring method. Since the fee outweighs statutory cost, a $200 difference in monthly price is $2,400 a year. Ask each provider whether it uses its own Salvadoran entity or a partner, what deposit it holds, and how it pays: Oyster has Trustpilot reviews from April and July 2026 that complain of late or held wages. Read the Oyster review, Remote review and Deel review, or the EOR ranking.

Salvadoran contractors

A contractor costs you neither ISSS nor AFP, a saving of $4,400 a year on this salary plus the EOR fee. If the person works set hours for you alone, the relationship can be reclassified as employment, with back contributions and whatever labor-law payments apply. Compare contractor management tools or a contractor of record.

Setting up in El Salvador yourself

Each EOR hire at $599 costs $7,188 a year in fees. Your own company needs ISSS, pension and tax registrations plus local payroll support. Our EOR or own entity comparison and the EOR pricing breakdown help you weigh it.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an employee cost in El Salvador?
On a USD 40,000 salary the employer pays $4,400 a year (11.0%): ISSS of $75 a month ($900) and AFP pension of 8.75% ($3,500), per Deloitte's El Salvador Highlights 2026. An EOR adds $199 to $699 a month, checked October 2026.
What is the ISSS contribution cap in El Salvador?
ISSS is charged on pay up to USD 1,000 a month. The employer pays 7.5% (at most $75 a month) and the employee 3% (at most $30), according to Deloitte's 2026 summary.
What is the minimum wage in El Salvador?
From June 1, 2025: USD 408.80 a month for commerce, services and industry, USD 402.32 for textile maquila, USD 305.23 for sugar cane and coffee processing and USD 272.53 for other farm work. Our research found no 2026 change.
What pension contribution does an employer pay in El Salvador?
8.75% of monthly pay to the employee's pension fund manager (AFP), with the employee paying 7.25%, reflecting the 2022 pension reform, according to Deloitte. We did not confirm a pension contribution ceiling.
Is payroll in El Salvador paid in dollars?
Yes. El Salvador's payroll currency is the US dollar, so salaries, contributions and minimum wages are all set in USD.
Sources (11)
  1. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Trustpilot: Oyster reviews (checked Oct 2026)
  8. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. deloitte.com/content/dam/assets-shared/docs/services/tax/2026/dttl-... (checked October 16, 2026)
  10. mtps.gob.sv/descargas (checked October 16, 2026)
  11. bloomberglinea.com/latinoamerica/el-salvador/salario-minimo-de-el-s... (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site