Employer of record in Armenia: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Hiring in Armenia through an employer of record costs the provider's fee, published at $199 to $699 a month in October 2026 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad, at the low end, Oyster at the top), and a $599 plan comes to AMD 2,598,390 a year at the Central Bank of Armenia's 361.49 drams per dollar; whether any employer social charge sits on top of the salary is something no official page we read has settled yet. The minimum wage has been AMD 75,000 a month since January 1, 2023 under Law HO-501-N, and the official legal database lists no later amendment.

An employer of record in Armenia is an Armenian company that employs your worker under Armenian law, withholds and pays the required taxes and contributions and runs payroll in drams, while you direct the work.

Currency
AMD
On this page

What we know about employing in Armenia

Minimum wage. Law HO-501-N, adopted December 7, 2022 and in force January 1, 2023, raised the monthly minimum wage from AMD 68,000 to AMD 75,000. The arlis.am legal database lists no amending law for 2024 to 2026, so we found no 2026 rise, though we cannot rule one out.

Employer contributions. The position commonly cited in secondary sources is that Armenia's funded pension contribution is withheld from the employee, with no separate employer social charge. That would make the employer's statutory on-cost close to zero, but we have not read an official page that says so. Until one does, leave the employer line open and have the provider itemize what it bills.

Exchange rate. USD 40,000 converts to AMD 14,459,600 a year (AMD 1,204,967 a month) at 361.49 drams per dollar, the Central Bank of Armenia rate for October 15, 2026.

Open items for Armenia, none matched to an official text by us so far: contribution rates and caps on both sides, income tax withholding, and the Labor Code's leave, holiday, trial period, dismissal, pay-date and working-time rules. Check each with Armenia's tax authority and labor ministry before relying on it.

Employment costs and rules in Armenia

Employing someone in Armenia: the rules and costs
ItemArmenia
Minimum wageAMD 75,000 a month, in force since 1 Jan 2023 (Law HO-501-N of 7 Dec 2022 amending the Law on Minimum Monthly Wage); no later amending law appears in the arlis.am amendment history read today
Sample salary usedAMD 14,459,600 a year (AMD 1,204,967 a month) = USD 40,000 at Central Bank of Armenia 361.49 AMD per USD (Oct 15 2026; carried over from the Oct 16 run, not re-read today)

Checked October 17, 2026. Source type: official. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Armenia

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

Pricing a USD 40,000 Armenian hire

The table shows salary and EOR fee in drams at the October 15, 2026 rate. Employer contributions are left as a gap, not a zero.

Armenia: salary and EOR fee for one hire
LinePer month (AMD)Per year (AMD)
Gross salary1,204,96714,459,600
Employer contributionsNot yet confirmedNot yet confirmed
EOR fee, $599 a month216,5332,598,390
Salary plus fee1,421,50017,057,990

Dram rate from the Central Bank of Armenia (Oct 15, 2026); $599 is the Deel and Remote list fee seen Oct 16, 2026.

Twelve months of $599 is $7,188; times 361.49, AMD 2,598,390. This salary is about 16 times the AMD 900,000 yearly minimum, so the wage floor does not bind. Cheaper plans ($399 at Pebl or Playroll) cut the fee to $4,788; Oyster's $699 lifts it to $8,388. Up front, expect a deposit: Oyster's terms set a floor of one month of total service cost and Playroll's is one month of pay.

If the employer side does turn out to be near zero, the provider fee will be nearly all of your overhead in Armenia, which makes fee shopping the main lever. Our EOR cost index compares countries where the data is complete.

Which EOR for an Armenian hire

How the providers score with us, out of 100: Multiplier 79, Oyster 64, Remote 62, Playroll 60, Pebl 57, Deel 54 (methodology). Armenia has no public price at any of them; Multiplier concedes about 11% of countries cost more than its list. Ask for an Armenia quote that names every statutory line, the dram exchange margin, and whether the provider employs through its own entity. Background: EOR rankings, our Deel notes, Remote and Oyster; try the international cost calculator for countries with full data.

Armenian contractors

Armenian freelancers on contract save you the provider fee. The catch is a role that is full-time and managed by you, which an authority could recast as a job, with taxes owed after the fact. Options: contractor management platforms or a contractor of record.

When to open an Armenian entity

At AMD 2,598,390 ($7,188) per head per year, EOR fees for a growing Armenian team add up; a company of your own swaps them for registration, tax filing and a payroll bureau. Our EOR or entity comparison and the EOR price list help with the break-even.

Frequently asked questions

What is the minimum wage in Armenia?
AMD 75,000 a month since January 1, 2023, under Law HO-501-N of December 7, 2022, which replaced AMD 68,000. The arlis.am legal database shows no later amending law through 2026.
Is there an employer social charge in Armenia?
Unsettled for us: secondary sources say the funded pension comes out of the employee's pay and the employer owes nothing extra, but no official page we read confirms it. Get the provider's list in writing.
How much does an employer of record cost in Armenia?
List prices in October 2026: from $199 monthly at Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad) up to $699 at Oyster. A $599 plan is AMD 2,598,390 a year at the central bank's 361.49 (October 15, 2026).
How many drams is a USD 40,000 salary?
AMD 14,459,600 a year, or AMD 1,204,967 a month, at the Central Bank of Armenia rate of 361.49 AMD per USD on October 15, 2026.
Sources (11)
  1. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Oyster: Oyster terms of service (EOR deposit) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. arlis.am/hy/acts/172110 (checked October 17, 2026)
  10. arlis.am/hy/acts/94713 (checked October 17, 2026)
  11. cba.am/en (checked October 17, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site