Employer of record in Moldova: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

A Moldovan employee on MDL 716,956 a year costs a private employer 24% on top of salary in state social insurance, MDL 172,069.44, according to an August 2026 report by the Moldovan business news agency Logos Press (a secondary source; we could not read the CNAS rate pages); the EOR itself charges from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month (list prices checked in October 2026). What US companies miss is the sector split: the 24% is the private-sector rate, while public budget-funded employers pay 29%, so a quote built on the wrong table overstates your cost by 5 points.

An employer of record in Moldova is a Moldovan company that hires your worker on its payroll, pays state social insurance to CNAS and handles the employer's duties under Moldovan law, while you direct what they do.

Employer cost on a sample salary
24% (MDL 172,069) if no cap…on top of gross pay
Currency
MDL
On this page

Moldova's payroll basics for a foreign employer

Moldova's main employer charge is state social insurance, paid to the National Social Insurance House (CNAS). Private employers, along with higher education and healthcare, pay 24% on payroll and other payments to employees. Public budget-funded employers pay 29%, and a cut to 24% has been proposed for 2027. We found no cap in that report.

  • Minimum wage: MDL 6,300 a month from January 1, 2026, up from MDL 5,500, a 14.5% rise (WageIndicator, a secondary source).
  • Health insurance is a separate system run by CNAM; we have not confirmed whether any part falls on the employer.

We have not yet confirmed Moldova's employee contribution rates, annual leave, probation, notice, redundancy pay, pay frequency or working hours from an official source. Ask your EOR to state each in the contract and check them with CNAS, CNAM, the State Tax Service and the Ministry of Labor and Social Protection.

Employment costs and rules in Moldova

Employing someone in Moldova: the rules and costs
ItemMoldova
Employer social contributions24% state social insurance (private-sector employers)
What the employer paysState social insurance 24% employer on payroll and other payments to employees (private sector, higher education and healthcare); public budgetary employers 29% (a cut to 24% is proposed for 2027); health insurance not confirmed today
Caps and ceilingsNo cap stated in the source; not confirmed
Minimum wageMDL 6,300 per month from Jan 1, 2026 (was MDL 5,500)
Sample salary usedMDL 716,956 a year (MDL 59,746/mo) = USD 40,000 at the National Bank of Moldova official rate 17.9239 (Oct 2026)
Employer cost on that salary24% (MDL 172,069) if no cap applies

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary (Logos Press news report Aug 17 2026 for the 24% rate; WageIndicator for the minimum wage); official (National Bank of Moldova) for FX; CNAS rate pages not reached. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Moldova

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

The numbers for a MDL 59,746 a month hire

USD 40,000 at the National Bank of Moldova rate of 17.9239 is MDL 716,956 a year, MDL 59,746.33 a month, roughly 9.5 times the minimum wage.

Moldova: yearly employer cost on MDL 716,956 through an EOR
LinePer monthPer year
Gross salaryMDL 59,746.33MDL 716,956.00
State social insurance, 24% (private employers)MDL 14,339.12MDL 172,069.44
Health insurance contributionNot yet confirmedNot yet confirmed
Employer cost before the EOR feeMDL 74,085.45MDL 889,025.44
EOR fee at $599 a monthMDL 10,736.42MDL 128,836.99
All-in cost (confirmed lines)MDL 84,821.87MDL 1,017,862.43

Source: Logos Press (Aug 17, 2026) on the 24% private-sector social insurance rate; National Bank of Moldova official rate of 17.9239 MDL per USD (Oct 2026). Fee: $599 a month, the Deel and Remote list price read on Oct 16, 2026. Checked Oct 2026.

Arithmetic: 24% x 716,956 = 172,069.44. The fee is $7,188 x 17.9239 = MDL 128,836.99, which is MDL 42,802.27 at $199, MDL 85,819.63 at $399 and MDL 150,345.67 at $699. Not included: any employer health insurance share, the EOR deposit and currency margin. See other salaries in the international cost calculator.

Why the employer rate matters more than the fee

At 24%, social insurance on this salary is MDL 172,069.44 a year, larger than the EOR fee of MDL 128,836.99. That flips the usual pattern in low-cost countries, where the fee is the biggest add-on. When you compare EOR quotes for Moldova, line up the contribution figures first: a provider that applies 29% would add MDL 35,847.80 a year on this salary.

Contractors in Moldova

Paying a Moldovan contractor by invoice avoids the 24% charge. If the role is full-time, controlled by your managers and indistinguishable from a job, it risks being treated as employment, and the social insurance becomes due. Use a contractor management platform for real project work, or a contractor of record.

Moldovan entity or EOR

A local company means CNAS registration, monthly filings and a bookkeeper who reads Moldovan rules as they change. With one or two hires, $7,188 a year each in EOR fees is the simpler path. Our EOR versus own entity breakdown helps you find the crossover.

Which EOR covers Moldova well

Entity ownership claims vary widely, so ask whether the provider owns its Moldovan entity or uses a local partner. Rivermate, for example, claims 38 owned entities while saying it covers 180+ countries. Multiplier ranks first on our scores at 79/100 and claims its own entities everywhere; Oyster is second at 64/100 (scoring details).

Compare providers in the EOR ranking and our Oyster, Deel and Remote reviews, then see Moldova beside Romania in the cost index.

Frequently asked questions

What does a Moldova employer of record cost?
The EOR itself charges from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month (list prices, October 2026). Private employers also pay 24% state social insurance, per a Logos Press report of August 17, 2026. On MDL 716,956 a year with a $599 fee, the confirmed total is MDL 1,017,862.43.
What is the employer social insurance rate in Moldova?
24% for private-sector employers, and for higher education and healthcare, on payroll and other payments to employees. Public budget-funded employers pay 29%, with a cut to 24% proposed for 2027 (Logos Press, August 17, 2026).
What is Moldova's minimum wage in 2026?
MDL 6,300 a month from January 1, 2026, up from MDL 5,500, according to WageIndicator.
What notice and leave rules apply in Moldova?
We have not yet confirmed Moldova's leave, probation, notice or redundancy rules from an official source. Ask your EOR to write them into the contract and check them with the Ministry of Labor and Social Protection.
Sources (11)
  1. Logos Press: Social security contribution rates in the private and public sectors will be standardized (Aug 17, 2026, checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. WageIndicator: Minimum wage updated in Moldova from 01 January 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. National Bank of Moldova: Official exchange rates (rate checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  11. cnas.gov.md (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site