Employer of record in South Korea: costs and rules
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Employing someone in South Korea through an employer of record adds 18.30% to a KRW 56,000,000 salary: 9.97% in statutory insurances, led by the 4.75% National Pension share, plus an 8.33% retirement allowance accrual, before industrial accident insurance; provider fees come on top, from a listed $199 per head monthly at Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad) to Oyster's $699 (October 2026). The item American budgets most often drop is that retirement allowance: it is required by law (Labor Standards Act art. 34), and a quote that shows only the four insurances leaves out KRW 4,664,800 a year at this salary.
An employer of record in South Korea is a Korean entity that employs your hire on paper, enrolls them in the four social insurances, pays the employer share and the retirement allowance, and leaves you in charge of the work.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- 9.97% statutory insurances…on top of gross pay
- Minimum annual leave
- 15 days for a year with at…
- Currency
- KRW
On this page
- How Korean employment differs from US hiring
- Employment costs and rules in South Korea
- What an EOR charges to employ someone in South Korea
- KRW 56 million salary: the full employer bill
- Ending employment in Korea
- Picking a provider for Korea
- Running your own Korean entity instead
- Freelancers and contractors in Korea
How Korean employment differs from US hiring
The pension rate went up in January 2026. The National Pension is now 9.5% of pay, split 4.75% each, and it rises half a point a year toward 13%. Pages written before 2026 still show 9% (4.5% employer). The income base runs from KRW 410,000 to KRW 6,590,000 a month from July 1, 2026 (KRW 400,000 to 6,370,000 before that), so a salary above the top of that band pays pension on the ceiling only.
Health insurance is 7.19%, split evenly, and long-term care adds 13.14% of the health premium. Employment insurance costs the employer 0.9% plus a job stability and skills charge of 0.25% to 0.85% depending on firm size. Because the EOR's Korean company is the employer, ask which band it pays: at 0.85% the sample below rises by KRW 336,000 a year.
Leave builds with attendance. Under Labor Standards Act art. 60 a worker gets 1 day per month in the first year, 15 days after a year with at least 80% attendance, then 1 more day every 2 years after 3 years, up to 25. Presidential Decree public holidays are paid (art. 55(2)), a rule extended to workplaces with 5 to 29 employees in 2022, on top of a paid weekly holiday (art. 55(1)).
The minimum wage is KRW 10,320 an hour in 2026 and is set at KRW 10,700 for 2027. There is no statutory bonus. We have not confirmed a statutory probation limit, payroll frequency or standard week from an official source.
Employment costs and rules in South Korea
| Item | South Korea |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | About 9.97% plus industrial accident insurance (varies by industry), plus 8.33% retirement allowance accrual |
| What the employer pays | National Pension 4.75% (9.5% total from Jan 2026); health insurance 3.595% (7.19% total); long-term care 13.14% of the health premium (about 0.472% of pay); employment insurance 0.9% plus job stability and skills development 0.25% to 0.85% by firm size; industrial accident insurance employer only, rate by industry |
| Caps and ceilings | National Pension income base KRW 400,000 to 6,370,000 a month until June 2026; KRW 410,000 to 6,590,000 from 1 July 2026. Health insurance cap not checked |
| Employee contributions | About 9.72% (pension 4.75, health 3.595, care about 0.472, employment insurance 0.9) |
| Minimum wage | KRW 10,320 an hour (2026); KRW 10,700 an hour set for 2027 |
| Mandatory bonuses | None statutory |
| Annual leave | 15 days for a year with at least 80% attendance; 1 day per month worked in the first year (or under 80% attendance); +1 day per 2 years after 3 years of continuous service, capped at 25 (Labor Standards Act art. 60) |
| Public holidays | Public holidays set by Presidential Decree are paid holidays (LSA art. 55(2)), in force for workplaces with 5 to 29 employees since 2022; plus 1 paid weekly holiday (art. 55(1)). Number of days not confirmed today |
| Notice period | Employer: at least 30 days' notice of dismissal or 30 days' ordinary wages in lieu (LSA art. 26); exception includes employees with under 3 months' continuous service |
| Severance | Retirement allowance required under the Act on the Guarantee of Employees' Retirement Benefits (LSA art. 34); amount (believed at least 30 days' average wages per year of service, after 1 year) not confirmed today |
| Sample salary used | KRW 56,000,000 a year (KRW 4,666,667 a month) |
| Employer cost on that salary | 9.97% statutory insurances (18.30% with retirement allowance accrual), excluding industrial accident insurance |
Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: secondary. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in South Korea
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
KRW 56 million salary: the full employer bill
| Line | Employer rate | Per year (KRW) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | 56,000,000 | |
| National Pension | 4.75% | 2,660,000 |
| National Health Insurance | 3.595% | 2,013,200 |
| Long-term care | 13.14% of the health premium | 264,534 |
| Employment insurance | 0.9% | 504,000 |
| Job stability and skills development | 0.25% (lowest firm-size band) | 140,000 |
| Statutory insurances | 9.97% | 5,581,734 |
| Retirement allowance accrual | 8.33% | 4,664,800 |
| Employer cost before accident insurance | 18.30% | 10,246,534 |
| Salary plus employer cost | 66,246,534 | |
| EOR fee at $599 a month | kept in USD | $7,188 |
Math: long-term care 2,013,200 x 13.14% = 264,534; insurances 2,660,000 + 2,013,200 + 264,534 + 504,000 + 140,000 = 5,581,734; plus 4,664,800 = 10,246,534. Industrial accident insurance is extra and depends on the industry. Sources: our countries data (secondary sources for the rates; Labor Standards Act translation by the Korea Legislation Research Institute); EOR fee from Deel and Remote pricing pages. Checked Oct 2026.
The 18.30% figure uses the lowest job-stability band and excludes industrial accident insurance, which the employer alone pays at a rate set by industry. The health insurance cap was not checked. Try other pay levels in the employee cost calculator for other countries, or see where Korea sits in the country-by-country EOR cost index.
Ending employment in Korea
An employer must give at least 30 days' notice of dismissal or pay 30 days' ordinary wages instead (LSA art. 26); the rule does not apply to employees with under 3 months of continuous service. The retirement allowance is due under the Act on the Guarantee of Employees' Retirement Benefits (LSA art. 34). Our sample accrues it at 8.33% of pay, one month a year; we have not yet confirmed the exact statutory formula from the official text, so ask the EOR how it accrues and invoices it.
Picking a provider for Korea
Multiplier scores 79 and Oyster 64 on our published scoring method. Multiplier charges $459 a month billed annually or $499 monthly and says it uses owned entities, though about 11% of countries carry adjusted pricing, so get the Korea price in writing. Oyster charges a flat $699 and holds a deposit of at least one month of total service cost. Remote (62) and Deel (54) list $599. Our ranked list of EOR providers has the full scores, and the Remote, Deel and Oyster reviews cover their contracts and complaints.
Running your own Korean entity instead
Each EOR hire costs $7,188 a year in fees at $599 a month. A Korean subsidiary replaces that with incorporation, a local payroll provider and your own insurance registrations. Our entity versus EOR comparison sets out when the switch pays off.
Freelancers and contractors in Korea
A contractor arrangement avoids the four insurances and the retirement allowance, which is exactly what makes it risky when the person works full time under your direction. If it is reclassified, the unpaid allowance and insurance shares are the exposure. Use a contractor platform for real freelancers, or a contractor of record if you want someone else to carry the classification risk.
Frequently asked questions
How much does it cost to employ someone in South Korea?
What is the National Pension rate in South Korea in 2026?
What notice does a Korean employer have to give?
What is the minimum wage in South Korea?
How many days of annual leave do Korean employees get?
Sources (8)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- elaw.klri.re.kr/eng_service/lawViewContent.do?hseq=75092 (checked October 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.