Employer of record in South Africa: costs and rules
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
Hiring in South Africa through an employer of record adds only 1.32% to a ZAR 662,000 salary in statutory employer costs, mostly the 1% Skills Development Levy, plus a COIDA assessment that depends on industry (SARS, checked October 2026), while the provider's own charge is far larger: from $199 per worker monthly at Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad) up to $699 at Oyster, on October 2026 price lists. Dismissal is where US habits cause the most trouble: the Basic Conditions of Employment Act requires 4 weeks' notice after a year of service and, for a retrenchment, at least one week's pay per completed year of service.
An employer of record in South Africa is a South African company that legally employs your hire, registers them for UIF, pays SDL and COIDA, runs PAYE payroll, and lets you manage the work.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- 1.3% (excluding COIDA)on top of gross pay
- Minimum annual leave
- 21 consecutive days per…
- Currency
- ZAR
On this page
South Africa's employer rules in brief
UIF is capped low. The Unemployment Insurance Fund charges 1% to the employer and 1% to the employee on pay up to ZAR 17,712 a month, so the most either side pays is ZAR 177.12 a month. The ceiling has not changed since June 1, 2021.
SDL applies to the whole payroll. The 1% Skills Development Levy has no cap, and it applies only when the employer's payroll is expected to pass ZAR 500,000 over the next 12 months. Through an EOR, the employer is the EOR, so its payroll is the one measured.
COIDA is the workers' compensation assessment, paid by the employer at a rate set by industry class. We did not price it.
The national minimum wage is ZAR 30.23 an hour from March 1, 2026 (up from ZAR 28.79); EPWP workers have a ZAR 16.62 rate. Ordinary hours are capped at 45 a week (BCEA s9).
Leave is 21 consecutive days per cycle, which equals 15 working days on a 5-day week (BCEA s20). There is no statutory 13th-month bonus; where one exists, it comes from the contract. The 12 public holidays in the summary box come from the Public Holidays Act and are not yet confirmed by us.
Employment costs and rules in South Africa
| Item | South Africa |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | About 1.3% at ZAR 662,000 (UIF 1% capped plus SDL 1%), plus COIDA workers' compensation assessment that varies by industry |
| What the employer pays | UIF 1% of remuneration up to the ceiling (max ZAR 177.12 per month); SDL 1% of total payroll (only if payroll is expected to exceed ZAR 500,000 over the next 12 months); COIDA assessment rate by industry class, employer only (not checked today) |
| Caps and ceilings | UIF ceiling ZAR 17,712 per month (ZAR 212,544 a year), unchanged since June 1 2021; SDL no cap |
| Employee contributions | 1% UIF (capped at ZAR 177.12 per month), plus PAYE income tax |
| Minimum wage | ZAR 30.23 per ordinary hour from Mar 1 2026 (was 28.79); EPWP workers ZAR 16.62 per hour |
| Mandatory bonuses | None statutory (13th check is contractual) |
| Annual leave | 21 consecutive days per annual leave cycle (equals 15 working days on a 5-day week) (BCEA s20) |
| Public holidays | 12 (Public Holidays Act, unconfirmed today) |
| Probation | No statutory maximum; must be reasonable under the Code of Good Practice: Dismissal (unconfirmed today) |
| Notice period | 1 week if employed 6 months or less; 2 weeks if more than 6 months up to 1 year; 4 weeks if 1 year or more (and for farm or domestic workers employed more than 6 months) (BCEA s37; the 1997 text on gov.za says 4 weeks where the 2002 amendment says 6 months) |
| Severance | Dismissal for operational requirements: at least 1 week's pay per completed year of continuous service (BCEA s41) |
| Payroll frequency | Monthly (weekly common for hourly workers) |
| Standard work week | 45 maximum ordinary hours (BCEA s9) |
| Sample salary used | ZAR 662,000 per year (USD 40,000 at 16.56 ZAR per USD, ECB cross rate Oct 15 2026) |
| Employer cost on that salary | 1.3% (excluding COIDA) |
Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official. Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in South Africa
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
Here the EOR fee is the biggest cost
In South Africa the provider's fee dwarfs the statutory costs. A $599 monthly fee comes to ZAR 119,033.28 a year, 13.6 times the ZAR 8,745.44 in UIF and SDL.
Annual amounts on a ZAR 662,000 salary. Sources: SARS; Deel and Remote pricing pages; ECB rate of Oct 15, 2026.
| Line | Calculation | ZAR per year |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | USD 40,000 at 16.56 ZAR per USD | 662,000.00 |
| UIF, employer | 1% x 17,712 ceiling x 12 | 2,125.44 |
| Skills Development Levy | 1% x 662,000 | 6,620.00 |
| Statutory employer cost | 1.32% | 8,745.44 |
| COIDA assessment | rate by industry class | not included |
| Salary plus statutory cost | 670,745.44 | |
| EOR fee | $7,188 x 16.56 | 119,033.28 |
| Total for one year | 789,778.72 |
Math: 2,125.44 + 6,620 = 8,745.44 (1.32% of 662,000). Exchange rate: ECB cross rate, Oct 15, 2026. Sources: SARS UIF and SDL pages (official); Deel and Remote pricing pages. Checked Oct 2026.
That makes the fee gap between providers matter more here than tax rates do: Pebl and Playroll at $399 a month would cost ZAR 79,289.28 a year ($399 x 12 x 16.56) instead of ZAR 119,033.28. Check other salaries with the cost calculator for global hires, and compare South Africa's 1.32% with other countries in the EOR cost index.
Dismissal and retrenchment costs
Notice under BCEA s37 is 1 week if employed 6 months or less, 2 weeks from 6 months to a year, and 4 weeks after a year. (The 1997 Act text on gov.za still shows the original first tier of 4 weeks; our data says the 2002 amendment changed it to 6 months, but we have not read the amended wording.) A dismissal for operational requirements adds severance of at least one week's pay per completed year (s41). At ZAR 662,000, one week is ZAR 12,730.77 (662,000 / 52), so after 3 full years severance is at least ZAR 38,192.31, plus 4 weeks' notice worth ZAR 50,923.08 if it is paid out. Probation has no statutory maximum; our data says it must be reasonable under the Code of Good Practice, a point not yet confirmed from the official text.
Picking an EOR for South Africa
Multiplier tops our published scoring at 79 and Oyster is second at 64; Remote has 62 and Deel 54. Because the fee is most of the cost here, compare it closely: Multiplier lists $459 a month on annual billing ($499 monthly), Oyster $699 plus a deposit of at least one month of service cost, and Remote and Deel $599. Ask whether the quote includes COIDA and SDL, and whether the South African entity is owned or a partner. See the best EOR ranking and our Oyster, Remote and Deel reviews.
Is a South African entity cheaper?
With statutory costs near 1.32%, the EOR fee is the main thing an entity saves: ZAR 119,033.28 a year per person at $599 a month. Against that, a local company needs registration with SARS for PAYE, UIF and SDL, COIDA registration and a payroll provider. Our EOR or own entity comparison lays out the break-even by headcount.
Contractors in South Africa
Because statutory costs are so low, the saving from using a contractor instead of an employee is small, but the risk is not: a full-time person under your control can be treated as an employee, with notice and retrenchment rights. A contractor of record takes on that classification risk; a contractor management platform handles the paperwork and payments only.
Frequently asked questions
How much does it cost to employ someone in South Africa?
What is the UIF ceiling in South Africa?
What notice period applies in South Africa?
What severance is due in South Africa?
What is the minimum wage in South Africa in 2026?
Sources (12)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- European Central Bank: Euro foreign exchange reference rates (daily XML) (rates for Oct 15, 2026)
- sanews.gov.za/node/79404 (checked October 16, 2026)
- sars.gov.za/types-of-tax/unemployment-insurance-fund (checked October 16, 2026)
- sars.gov.za/types-of-tax/skills-development-levy (checked October 16, 2026)
- gov.za/sites/default/files/gcis_document/201409/a75-97.pdf (checked October 16, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.