Employer of record in Slovakia: costs and rules for 2026
We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.
A Slovak employee adds 36.2% to the payroll bill in 2026: 25.2% social insurance to the Socialna poistovna (the largest line is the 14% old-age pension) and 11% health insurance, while published EOR fees start at $199 a month with Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad) and top out at $699 with Oyster (checked October 2026). Where US budgets go wrong is pricing the social insurance alone: the 11% health premium goes to a separate health insurer such as VsZP, so a quote built on 25.2% is about EUR 3,910 a year short on a EUR 35,550 salary.
An employer of record in Slovakia is a Slovak company that signs the employment contract with your hire, registers them with the Socialna poistovna and a health insurer, runs monthly payroll and pays both employer premiums, while your team directs the work.
- Employer cost on a sample salary
- 36.2%on top of gross pay
- Currency
- EUR
On this page
- Slovak payroll: two premiums, one cap and a new minimum wage
- Employment costs and rules in Slovakia
- What an EOR charges to employ someone in Slovakia
- A EUR 35,550 salary in Slovakia, every line
- Picking a provider for a Slovak hire
- Slovak contractors and the employment test
- When a Slovak s.r.o. beats an EOR
Employment costs and rules in Slovakia
| Item | Slovakia |
|---|---|
| Employer social contributions | 36.2% (social insurance 25.2% plus health insurance 11%) |
| What the employer pays | Social insurance (Socialna poistovna, from Jan 1 2026): sickness 1.4%; old-age pension 14%; disability 3%; unemployment 0.5% plus 0.5% contribution to finance support in work (1% in total); guarantee 0.25%; reserve (solidarity) fund 4.75%; accident 0.8% (no cap). Health insurance: employer 11% (VsZP 2026 notice, minimum-contribution example 284.13 x 11%); the employer rate for employees with a disability was not confirmed |
| Caps and ceilings | Social insurance maximum assessment base EUR 16,764 per month for all funds except accident insurance (no cap on accident). No minimum base for employees. VsZP 2026 pages do not mention a maximum base for health insurance (no cap is commonly reported; unconfirmed) |
| Employee contributions | 14.4%: social 9.4% (sickness 1.4%, old-age 4%, disability 3%, unemployment 1%) plus health insurance 5% (2.5% for employees with a disability), the health rate raised from 4% for Jan 1 2026 to Dec 31 2027 |
| Minimum wage | EUR 915 per month from Jan 1 2026 (was 816) (Eurostat earn_mw_cur) |
| Annual leave | 4 weeks; 5 weeks from age 33 (unconfirmed today) |
| Probation | 3 months; 6 months for managers (unconfirmed today) |
| Notice period | 1 to 3 months depending on length of service (unconfirmed today) |
| Severance | Statutory severance on redundancy of 1 to 5 months' average pay depending on service (unconfirmed today) |
| Sample salary used | EUR 35,550 per year (EUR 2,962.50 per month; USD 40,000 at 1.1253 USD per EUR, ECB reference rate Oct 16 2026) |
| Employer cost on that salary | 36.2% |
Checked October 17, 2026. Source type: official (Socialna poistovna, VsZP state health insurer, Eurostat, ECB). Sources are listed at the end of this page.
What an EOR charges to employ someone in Slovakia
| Provider | EOR fee per employee per month | Deposit | Entity model (provider claim) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer Workforce Management | from $199 | None listed | Claims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas |
| Pebl | $399 | Not listed | About 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities |
| Playroll | from $399 | One month's salary per employee, refundable | No clear owned-entity claim |
| Rivermate | $319 to $639 | Not stated | Claims 38 owned entities |
| Multiplier | $459 (annual) or $499 (monthly) | Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount) | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Rippling EOR | Quote only (third-party reference: $499) | Not listed | Claims Rippling entities; no partner mention |
| Deel | $599 | Not stated by Deel | Claims owned entities in 130+ countries |
| Remote | from $599 | Waived for startups; otherwise not stated | Claims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries |
| Atlas | from $599 | Not published | Claims owned entities in 160+ countries |
| Papaya Global | from $650 | Refundable deposit, amount not stated | Uses in-country partners |
| Oyster | $699 | At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms) | Owned entities and partners |
| Globalization Partners (G-P) | Quote only | Not stated | Information page claims 100+ wholly owned entities |
Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.
A EUR 35,550 salary in Slovakia, every line
Our benchmark hire earns the euro equivalent of USD 40,000. At 1.1253 dollars to the euro (ECB, October 16, 2026) that is EUR 35,550, paid as EUR 2,962.50 a month. Nowhere near the EUR 16,764 cap, so every line hits the whole salary.
| Line | Rate | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| Gross salary | EUR 35,550.00 | |
| Old-age pension | 14% | EUR 4,977.00 |
| Reserve (solidarity) fund | 4.75% | EUR 1,688.63 |
| Disability | 3% | EUR 1,066.50 |
| Sickness | 1.4% | EUR 497.70 |
| Unemployment and support in work | 1% | EUR 355.50 |
| Accident | 0.8% | EUR 284.40 |
| Guarantee | 0.25% | EUR 88.88 |
| Health insurance | 11% | EUR 3,910.50 |
| Employer cost before the EOR fee | 36.2% | EUR 48,419.10 |
| EOR fee, $599 x 12 | EUR 6,387.63 | |
| All-in yearly cost | EUR 54,806.73 |
Rates: Socialna poistovna tables from Jan 1, 2026 and VsZP. Fee: $599, the Deel and Remote list price on Oct 16, 2026, at 1.1253 USD per EUR. Lines are rounded to the cent. Checked Oct 2026.
Adding up: the seven social lines come to EUR 8,958.60 (25.2% x 35,550) and health to EUR 3,910.50 (11% x 35,550), so premiums total EUR 12,869.10, or EUR 1,072.43 per payslip. Divide $7,188 of yearly fees by 1.1253 and you get EUR 6,387.63. Spread over twelve months, everything comes to EUR 4,567.23.
The premiums are set by law; the fee is what changes between providers. Pebl and Playroll list $399 ($4,788 yearly), Oyster $699 ($8,388) and Payoneer Workforce Management from $199 ($2,388). Left out: the deposit (at least a month of total service cost under Oyster's terms, a month of salary at Playroll) and any FX spread. Model a different salary with the international hiring cost calculator.
Picking a provider for a Slovak hire
Multiplier tops our EOR scores at 79 out of 100, with Oyster on 64; Remote, Playroll, Pebl and Deel follow on 62, 60, 57 and 54 (how we score providers). Nobody prices Slovakia separately in public, and Multiplier only says roughly 11% of countries sit above its $499 list, so ask for a written Slovak quote.
Ask, too, which health insurer will cover the hire, whether invoices split the two premiums, and which company is the Slovak legal employer: Multiplier says it uses its own entity in every country, while Oyster mixes its own firms with partners. Reviews: Oyster, Remote and Deel reviews, plus the best EOR ranking.
Slovak contractors and the employment test
A Slovak freelancer billing you by invoice skips the 36.2%. Trouble starts when that freelancer keeps fixed hours, serves only you and takes daily direction; if reclassified, the back premiums are the same eight lines tabulated earlier. Defined project work fits contractor management tools, or a contractor of record willing to own the classification risk.
When a Slovak s.r.o. beats an EOR
Fees for three Slovak staff at $599 come to $21,564 per year. Your own company needs a Slovak registration, two insurer accounts and a payroll provider. Weigh the two with our EOR versus own entity comparison and the EOR pricing page.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Slovak employee cost on top of salary?
Is there a maximum assessment base for Slovak social insurance?
What is the minimum wage in Slovakia in 2026?
Did Slovak health insurance rates change in 2026?
Is a 13th salary mandatory for Slovak employees?
Sources (13)
- Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- Oyster: Oyster terms of service (EOR deposit) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
- socpoist.sk/en/social-insurance/contribution-payment-tables-january... (checked October 17, 2026)
- vszp.sk/platitelia/platenie-poistneho/oznamenia-zmeny/zmeny-od-01-0... (checked October 17, 2026)
- vszp.sk/novinky/zmena-sadzby-poistneho-vysky-preddavkov-od-01-01-20... (checked October 17, 2026)
- ec.europa.eu/eurostat/api/dissemination/statistics/1.0/data/earn_mw... (checked October 17, 2026)
- ecb.europa.eu/stats/eurofxref/eurofxref-daily.xml (checked October 17, 2026)
This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.