Employer of record in Estonia: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Estonian payroll adds 33.8% to a EUR 35,700 salary when you hire through an employer of record, nearly all of it the 33% social tax, per the Estonian Tax and Customs Board (EMTA), and the provider's own charge was listed from $199 per worker monthly (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) up to $699 (Oyster) in October 2026. For American employers the trap is the fixed-term contract: ending one early for redundancy means paying wages to the end of the term, so a fixed term is not the flexible option it looks like.

An employer of record in Estonia is an Estonian company that employs your hire under its own registration, files social tax and unemployment insurance with EMTA and runs payroll, while you assign and review the work.

Employer cost on a sample salary
33.8%on top of gross pay
Minimum annual leave
28 calendar days a year (35…
Currency
EUR
On this page

Estonian employment rules that set the cost

  • No ceiling on social tax. The 33% social tax (pension and health) and 0.8% employer unemployment insurance apply to every euro of salary, so a senior engineer costs the same 33.8% as a junior one.
  • A minimum social tax base. In 2026 the minimum monthly base is EUR 886, which makes the minimum social tax EUR 292.38 a month (up from EUR 820 and EUR 270.60). On a part-time or low salary that floor can push the cost above 33%; ask the EOR whether it applies to your hire.
  • The minimum wage changed in April, not January. It was EUR 886 a month until March 31, 2026 and is EUR 946 (EUR 5.67 an hour) from April 1. Pages that give EUR 886 as current are out of date.
  • Probation is up to 4 months from the actual start of work; on a fixed-term contract of up to 8 months it can be no more than half the term.
  • Leave is 28 calendar days (35 for minors and people with partial or no work ability), and public holidays do not count against it.

Pay is monthly, the standard week is 40 hours, and no bonus is required by law. Employees pay 1.6% unemployment insurance, 2% to the funded pension by default (they may choose 4% or 6%, or none if they left the second pillar) and 22% income tax after a flat EUR 700 monthly exemption.

Employment costs and rules in Estonia

Employing someone in Estonia: the rules and costs
ItemEstonia
Employer social contributions33.8%
What the employer paysSocial tax 33% (pension and health); unemployment insurance 0.8%
Caps and ceilingsNo ceiling. Minimum monthly social tax base EUR 886 in 2026 (minimum social tax EUR 292.38 per month; was 820 and 270.60)
Employee contributions1.6% unemployment insurance plus 2% funded pension (default; employee may choose 2%, 4% or 6%, or none if they left the second pillar), plus 22% income tax after a flat EUR 700 monthly basic exemption
Minimum wageEUR 886 per month to Mar 31 2026; EUR 946 per month (EUR 5.67 per hour) from Apr 1 2026
Mandatory bonusesNone statutory
Annual leave28 calendar days a year (35 for minors and people with partial or no work ability); public holidays do not count toward annual holiday
Probation4 months from the actual start of work; for fixed-term contracts up to 8 months, no more than half the term
Notice periodEmployer: 15 calendar days (under 1 year of service), 30 (1-5 years), 60 (5-10), 90 (10+), counted from the day after the employee receives notice. Employee: 30 calendar days (15 during probation)
SeveranceRedundancy: employer pays 1 month's average wages (unspecified-term contracts); the Unemployment Insurance Fund adds 1 month's pay for 5-10 years of service and 2 months for 10+ years. Fixed-term: wages to the end of the term
Payroll frequencyMonthly
Standard work week40
Sample salary usedEUR 35,700 per year (about USD 40,000; USD 40,000 is EUR 35,689 at 1.1208 USD per EUR, ECB Oct 15 2026)
Employer cost on that salary33.8%

Checked October 16, 2026. Source type: official. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Estonia

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

A EUR 35,700 hire in Estonia, costed

A EUR 35,700 hire in Estonia: annual employer cost
LineCalculationEUR per year
Gross salaryabout USD 40,000 (EUR 35,689 at 1.1208 USD per EUR, rounded)35,700.00
Social tax33% x 35,70011,781.00
Unemployment insurance, employer0.8% x 35,700285.60
Employer cost33.8%12,066.60
Salary plus employer cost47,766.60
EOR fee$7,188 / 1.12086,413.28
Total for one year54,179.88

Math: 11,781 + 285.60 = 12,066.60; $599 x 12 = $7,188 at the ECB reference rate for Oct 15, 2026. No ceiling applies. Rates per EMTA's tax rates page; $599 is the October 2026 list price at Deel and Remote.

Try a different salary in the calculator for employees abroad. Estonia's 33.8% compares with 23.59% in Latvia on our data; see Latvia and Lithuania, or the whole EOR cost index.

Redundancy and notice in Estonia

Notice and redundancy pay on an open-ended contract in Estonia
Length of serviceEmployer noticeRedundancy pay from the employerAdded by the Unemployment Insurance Fund
Under 1 year15 calendar days1 month's average wagesnothing
1 to 5 years30 calendar days1 month's average wagesnothing
5 to 10 years60 calendar days1 month's average wages1 month's pay
10 years or more90 calendar days1 month's average wages2 months' pay

Notice runs from the day after the employee receives it. Employees give 30 calendar days (15 during probation). Source: our countries data from official Estonian sources, checked Oct 2026.

On a fixed-term contract, redundancy means paying wages to the end of the term. On a steady EUR 35,700 salary, one month of average wages is EUR 2,975 (35,700 / 12), so a redundancy after two years costs that plus 30 days of notice. Multiplier says it sizes its deposit partly on notice periods, so ask any provider how much of this it holds back.

Which EOR fits an Estonian hire

Multiplier ranks first on our scoring system with 79 and Oyster second with 64; Remote scores 62 and Deel 54. Yearly, one Tallinn hire costs $5,508 on Multiplier's annual plan, $8,388 with Oyster and $7,188 with Remote or Deel. Multiplier's terms set a 30-day lead time to process any termination on top of the employee's notice, and charge 15% of the final invoice if you contact the employee about termination directly. Oyster credits its deposit about 60 days after the end date. Our best employer of record comparison and the Oyster, Remote and Deel reviews have the detail.

Own Estonian company or an EOR

Converted at the October 15, 2026 rate, a $599 plan comes to EUR 6,413.28 per employee each year. An Estonian company removes that fee but needs registration, local accounting and its own EMTA filings. The EOR versus entity break-even covers the trade-off.

Contractor or employee in Estonia

Paying an Estonian as a contractor saves the 33.8%, and that same 33.8% is what could be claimed back if a full-time, single-client contractor turned out to be an employee. Hand that risk to a contractor of record if you need to; contractor payment platforms keep it with you.

Frequently asked questions

What are employer payroll taxes in Estonia?
Social tax of 33% plus 0.8% unemployment insurance, 33.8% with no ceiling (EMTA). A EUR 35,700 salary therefore carries EUR 12,066.60 a year. Provider fees, $199 to $699 per worker monthly in October 2026, are separate.
What is the minimum wage in Estonia in 2026?
EUR 946 a month (EUR 5.67 an hour) from April 1, 2026. It was EUR 886 a month until March 31, 2026.
What is the minimum social tax in Estonia?
In 2026 the minimum monthly social tax base is EUR 886, so the minimum social tax is EUR 292.38 a month (it was EUR 820 and EUR 270.60 in 2025), according to EMTA.
What notice does an Estonian employer give?
15 calendar days with under 1 year of service, 30 days for 1 to 5 years, 60 days for 5 to 10 years and 90 days for 10 years or more, counted from the day after the employee receives notice.
What redundancy pay is due in Estonia?
On an open-ended contract the employer pays 1 month's average wages, and the Unemployment Insurance Fund adds 1 month's pay for 5 to 10 years of service and 2 months for 10 years or more. On a fixed-term contract the employer pays wages to the end of the term.
Sources (12)
  1. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Playroll: Playroll pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Multiplier: Multiplier EOR terms (effective Jun 1, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Oyster: Oyster pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Oyster: Oyster customer terms (version 2025-02-27) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Deel: Deel pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Remote: Remote pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. European Central Bank: Euro foreign exchange reference rates (daily XML) (rates for Oct 15, 2026)
  11. emta.ee/en/private-client/taxes-and-payment/declaration-income/tax-... (checked October 16, 2026)
  12. ec.europa.eu/eurostat/api/dissemination/statistics/1.0/data/earn_mw... (checked October 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site