Employer of record in Croatia: costs and rules for 2026

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Croatian payroll adds 16.5% to gross salary for the employer, and that single figure is the health insurance contribution (doprinos za obvezno zdravstveno osiguranje) listed by the Tax Administration (Porezna uprava), checked October 17, 2026. Employer of record fees then run from $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster), per pricing pages checked October 16, 2026. Croatia's trap for US budgets is that 16.5% is not the whole story: a further 20% goes to pension, but it is deducted from the worker's gross pay, so a take-home target has to be grossed up before you make an offer.

An employer of record in Croatia is a Croatian company that becomes your worker's legal employer, runs Croatian payroll and pays the employer health contribution to the Tax Administration, while you assign and manage the work.

Employer cost on a sample salary
16.5%on top of gross pay
Currency
EUR
On this page

What sets Croatia apart for a US employer

Croatia's employer side has a single line. The Porezna uprava contribution page lists only the 16.5% health insurance contribution for regular employees. Pension sits on the worker's side of the payslip: 15% to the first pillar plus 5% to the second pillar for members of the capitalized savings scheme, or 20% to the first pillar for everyone else, withheld along with income tax.

  • Minimum wage: EUR 1,050 gross a month from January 1, 2026, up from EUR 970 (Eurostat).
  • 2026 contribution bases: a maximum monthly base of EUR 11,958 (six times the EUR 1,993 average gross wage), EUR 143,496 a year, and a minimum monthly base of EUR 757.34, set by the order in Narodne novine 150/2025. Our research did not confirm which contributions the maximum applies to, so do not assume it limits the employer's 16.5%.

We have not yet confirmed Croatia's Labor Act (Zakon o radu) terms from an official source: annual leave, public holidays, probation, notice and severance. Ask your EOR for the figures it applies, in writing.

Employment costs and rules in Croatia

Employing someone in Croatia: the rules and costs
ItemCroatia
Employer social contributions16.5%
What the employer paysHealth insurance (doprinos za obvezno zdravstveno osiguranje) 16.5% of gross pay, paid by the employer on top of pay (Porezna uprava). No other employer contribution is listed for regular employees on that page
Caps and ceilings2026 contribution bases (Naredba, NN 150/2025, in force Dec 13 2025, applies Jan to Dec 2026): maximum monthly base EUR 11,958 (6 x average gross wage EUR 1,993), maximum annual base EUR 143,496, minimum monthly base EUR 757.34. Which contributions the maximum applies to was not confirmed today (commonly the employee pension contributions only)
Employee contributions20% pension: 15% first pillar plus 5% second pillar for members of the capitalized savings scheme, or 20% first pillar for others (Porezna uprava), plus income tax
Minimum wageEUR 1,050 gross per month from Jan 1 2026 (was 970) (Eurostat earn_mw_cur)
Mandatory bonusesNone statutory
Notice period2 weeks (under 1 year) rising to 3 months (20+ years), longer for employees over 50 (unconfirmed today)
SeveranceAfter 2 years of service, at least one third of average monthly pay per year of service, capped at 6 months' pay (unconfirmed today)
Payroll frequencyMonthly
Standard work week40
Sample salary usedEUR 35,550 per year (EUR 2,962.50 per month; USD 40,000 at 1.1253 USD per EUR, ECB reference rate Oct 16 2026)
Employer cost on that salary16.5%

Checked October 17, 2026. Source type: official. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Croatia

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

The full cost of a EUR 35,550 employee in Croatia

Our Croatian example worker earns EUR 35,550 gross, the euro value of USD 40,000 when one euro buys 1.1253 dollars (ECB, October 16, 2026). Monthly gross is EUR 2,962.50.

Croatia: yearly employer cost on EUR 35,550 through an EOR
LinePer monthPer year
Gross salaryEUR 2,962.50EUR 35,550.00
Health insurance, 16.5%EUR 488.81EUR 5,865.75
Employer cost before the EOR feeEUR 3,451.31EUR 41,415.75
EOR fee at $599 a monthEUR 532.30EUR 6,387.63
All-in costEUR 3,983.61EUR 47,803.38

Rates: Porezna uprava; bases: NN 150/2025. Fee row uses $599, what Deel and Remote list, turned into euros at 1.1253. Checked Oct 2026.

Working it through: EUR 35,550 times 0.165 gives EUR 5,865.75 of health contribution. Twelve months of $599 is $7,188, worth EUR 6,387.63. Pay of EUR 2,962.50 a month is nowhere near the EUR 11,958 maximum base. With a cheaper or dearer provider, the yearly fee becomes $2,388 (Payoneer Workforce Management), $4,788 (Pebl, Playroll) or $8,388 (Oyster).

Missing from these rows: a refundable deposit and whatever margin the provider takes converting dollars to euros. Model a different Zagreb or Split salary in our international employee cost calculator.

When a Croatian subsidiary beats an EOR

Opening a d.o.o. means a Croatian company registration, your own Porezna uprava payroll filings and a local accountant to keep them right. Against that, three Croatian hires through an EOR at $599 run to $21,564 a year in fees alone. Our EOR or own entity comparison lists the questions that decide which side wins.

Croatian freelancers and misclassification

A Croatian sole trader who invoices you spares you the 16.5%. The trouble starts when the freelancer keeps your office hours, has no other client and takes daily direction from your managers. A reclassification would rebuild the missing contributions from the same lines shown in the cost table. If the work really is project-based, look at contractor management platforms; if you want someone else to carry the classification question, a contractor of record does that for a fee.

Choosing an EOR for Croatia

EOR providers for a Croatian hire, by our score
ProviderOur scoreEOR fee per monthDeposit
Multiplier79/100$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Set from employment costs, fees and notice periods; refunded within 60 days
Oyster64/100$699At least one month of total service cost; credited about 60 days after the end date
Remote62/100from $599 ($699 in a March 2026 help article)Reserve or letter of credit may be required; none for startups
Playroll60/100from $399One month's salary, refundable
Pebl57/100$399Initial Payroll Funding before each hire, amount not stated; refund about 45 days
Deel54/100$599Not stated by Deel

Scores: HRPricing, October 17, 2026. Prices and deposit terms: provider pages read October 16, 2026. None lists a Croatia-specific price.

Ask for a written Croatian quote that states the monthly fee, the deposit and the EUR conversion rate. Scores follow our published method; the full EOR ranking and the Oyster, Remote and Deel reviews cover contract and exit terms, and the EOR cost index sets Croatia beside other countries.

Frequently asked questions

What will an employer of record in Croatia charge?
Provider fees start at $199 a month (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) and reach $699 at Oyster, per their pricing pages in October 2026. Separately, the employer owes the 16.5% health contribution to the Porezna uprava. For a EUR 35,550 earner and a $599 fee, a full year comes to EUR 47,803.38.
What is Croatia's minimum wage in 2026?
EUR 1,050 gross a month from January 1, 2026, up from EUR 970 in 2025, according to Eurostat's minimum wage data.
Does the employer pay pension contributions in Croatia?
No. According to the Porezna uprava, the 20% pension contribution is withheld from the employee's gross pay: 15% first pillar plus 5% second pillar for members of the capitalized savings scheme, or 20% first pillar for others. The employer's own contribution is the 16.5% health insurance.
Is there a cap on contributions in Croatia?
Narodne novine 150/2025 sets a 2026 maximum monthly base of EUR 11,958 and a minimum of EUR 757.34. We have not confirmed which contributions the maximum covers, so budget the 16.5% employer health contribution on full pay.
What notice and severance apply when an EOR ends a Croatian contract?
Croatia's Labor Act (Zakon o radu) governs notice, probation and severance, but none of those figures has been checked against an official text for this page yet. Have your EOR write its terms into the employment contract, and verify them with Croatia's labor ministry.
Sources (11)
  1. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. porezna-uprava.gov.hr/hr/doprinosi/4585 (checked October 17, 2026)
  9. narodne-novine.nn.hr/clanci/sluzbeni/2025_12_150_2237.html (checked October 17, 2026)
  10. ec.europa.eu/eurostat/api/dissemination/statistics/1.0/data/earn_mw... (checked October 17, 2026)
  11. ecb.europa.eu/stats/eurofxref/eurofxref-daily.xml (checked October 17, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site