Employer of record in Bolivia: costs and rules

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Bolivia adds at least 26.67% to a salary in confirmed employer costs, the largest being the 10% health contribution to the short-term social security regime under Ley 924, with one month of aguinaldo and a one-month-per-year indemnity reserve on top, according to the government analysis unit UDAPE's labor guide (November 2024, almost two years old); the EOR's own fee adds $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month (checked October 2026). The rule US companies most often miss is notice: per the same guide, dismissing an employee with more than 90 days of service without 90 days' notice triggers desahucio, three months' salary paid on top of the indemnity.

An employer of record in Bolivia is a Bolivian company that legally employs your hire, enrolls them with the health fund and the pension manager, pays the aguinaldo and runs payroll in bolivianos, while you direct the work.

Minimum annual leave
15 working days (1 to 5…
Currency
BOB
On this page

What a US employer has to plan for in Bolivia

Bolivia's costs come less from payroll taxes than from mandated payments to the worker. The rules below are as UDAPE's November 2024 guide describes them, unless another source is named.

  • Aguinaldo: one full month's salary, without deductions, paid in December, pro rata for part of the year.
  • A possible second aguinaldo. The "Esfuerzo por Bolivia" bonus (Decreto Supremo 1802 of 2013) doubles the aguinaldo in years when GDP grew more than 4.5% in the 12 months before September. Budget for it as a risk.
  • Indemnización: one salary per year of service, proportional for part years, for workers with more than 90 days (Decreto Supremo 110 of 2009).
  • Notice: 90 days from the employer and 30 days from the worker after three months of work. Skip the employer's notice and you owe desahucio of three salaries.
  • Hours: 8 a day and 48 a week under the General Labor Law.
  • Minimum wage: BOB 3,300 a month from January 2026, per Remote's country page, a 20% rise from BOB 2,750 reported by Bloomberg Linea and Diario Correo. We could not read the decree itself.

Sources disagree on probation. Remote gives 30 to 90 days; UDAPE's guide describes no current probation period, only the 90-day threshold for indemnity. Vacation, per Remote, is 15 working days for 1 to 5 years of service, 20 for 5 to 10 and 30 after 10.

Employment costs and rules in Bolivia

Employing someone in Bolivia: the rules and costs
ItemBolivia
Employer social contributions16.71% (health 10% confirmed by UDAPE, Nov 2024; the other 6.71% not confirmed today)
What the employer paysHealth (short-term social security regime, Ley 924) 10% employer, confirmed by UDAPE, Empleo y Legislacion Laboral en Bolivia (Nov 2024); professional risk 1.71%, employer solidarity contribution 3% and housing 2% not confirmed today
Caps and ceilingsPension contribution base cap not confirmed today
Employee contributions12.71% (old-age 10%, common risk 1.71%, fund commission 0.5%, solidarity 0.5%), plus higher solidarity rates on high pay and RC-IVA (unconfirmed today)
Minimum wageBOB 3,300 per month, shown as effective January 2026 (secondary: remote.com); Supreme Decree 5503 on the Gaceta Oficial appears to be the 2026 wage decree but could not be read today
Mandatory bonusesAguinaldo: one month's salary by Dec 20; second aguinaldo only when the government declares it based on GDP growth (unconfirmed today)
Annual leave15 working days (1 to 5 years), 20 (5 to 10 years), 30 (over 10 years) (secondary: remote.com)
Probation90 days (secondary: remote.com gives 30 to 90 days)
Notice period90 days' notice for employer dismissal, or 3 months' pay (desahucio) in lieu (unconfirmed today)
SeveranceIndemnity of one month's pay per year of service after 90 days of work (unconfirmed today; remote.com states 3 months for unjustified dismissal, which matches desahucio rather than the indemnity)
Payroll frequencyMonthly
Sample salary usedBOB 278,400 per year (BOB 23,200 per month); exchange rate not confirmed today, chosen at the long-standing official 6.96 BOB per USD, which may no longer reflect 2026 conditions

Checked October 17, 2026. Source type: official (UDAPE guide, Nov 2024) for the 10% employer health rate; secondary (remote.com) for minimum wage, leave and probation. Sources are listed at the end of this page.

What an EOR charges to employ someone in Bolivia

What EOR providers charge (published list prices)
ProviderEOR fee per employee per monthDepositEntity model (provider claim)
Payoneer Workforce Managementfrom $199None listedClaims owned entities across APAC, MEA, Europe and the Americas
Pebl$399Not listedAbout 90% of employees on Pebl-owned entities
Playrollfrom $399One month's salary per employee, refundableNo clear owned-entity claim
Rivermate$319 to $639Not statedClaims 38 owned entities
Multiplier$459 (annual) or $499 (monthly)Sized from costs, fees and notice period (method published, no fixed amount)Claims owned entities in 160+ countries
Rippling EORQuote only (third-party reference: $499)Not listedClaims Rippling entities; no partner mention
Deel$599Not stated by DeelClaims owned entities in 130+ countries
Remotefrom $599Waived for startups; otherwise not statedClaims 100% owned entities in 90+ countries
Atlasfrom $599Not publishedClaims owned entities in 160+ countries
Papaya Globalfrom $650Refundable deposit, amount not statedUses in-country partners
Oyster$699At least one month of total service cost, refundable (per its terms)Owned entities and partners
Globalization Partners (G-P)Quote onlyNot statedInformation page claims 100+ wholly owned entities

Source: each provider’s pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Fees are the provider’s charge on top of salary and the employer contributions above. Some providers adjust prices by country.

The confirmed cost of one Bolivian employee

We have not confirmed a 2026 exchange rate. The long-standing official rate of 6.96 bolivianos per dollar may no longer reflect conditions, so check the Banco Central de Bolivia before you set a boliviano salary. Because every confirmed line is a share of pay, the table works in dollars.

Bolivia: confirmed yearly employer cost on a salary worth USD 40,000
LineShare of salaryPer year (USD equivalent)
Gross salary, paid in bolivianos$40,000.00
Employer health contribution to the short-term regime (Ley 924)10%$4,000.00
Aguinaldo, one month of salary in December8.33%$3,333.33
Reserve for indemnización, one month per year of service8.33%$3,333.33
Other employer contributions (professional risk, solidarity, housing)Not yet confirmedNot yet confirmed
Confirmed employer cost on top of salary26.67%$10,666.67
EOR fee at $599 a month$7,188.00
Confirmed all-in cost$57,854.67

Source: UDAPE, Empleo y Legislación Laboral en Bolivia (November 2024, more than a year old), read Oct 17, 2026. Fee: $599 a month, the Deel and Remote list price on Oct 16, 2026. Amounts are in USD because we have not confirmed a 2026 boliviano exchange rate. Checked Oct 2026.

Arithmetic: 10% x 40,000 = 4,000; 40,000 / 12 = 3,333.33 for the aguinaldo and the same for the indemnity reserve; together 10,666.67, or 26.67%. A second aguinaldo year adds another $3,333.33. The fee is $7,188 at $599 a month, $2,388 at $199, $4,788 at $399 and $8,388 at $699. Secondary sources report further employer charges for professional risk, an employer solidarity contribution and housing; we have not confirmed those rates, so expect the real figure to be higher. Try other salaries in the cost calculator.

Do not trust a 0% tax table

Remote's Bolivia country page shows every employer and employee contribution as 0%, which is a placeholder, not the law. It also lists severance as three months, which matches desahucio rather than the one-salary-per-year indemnity. If a quote leans on those figures, it will understate your cost. Ask the EOR for its contribution lines in writing.

Entity, EOR or contractor in Bolivia

A Bolivian company of your own means registering with the health fund and pension manager and handling aguinaldo, indemnity and exchange-rate questions yourself. For one or two people an EOR is usually simpler; our EOR versus entity guide covers the break-even. Contractors avoid aguinaldo and indemnity, but a full-time, directed role can be treated as employment, and then those payments are owed back to the start. Compare contractor platforms and contractor of record services.

Picking an EOR for Bolivia

Three questions separate Bolivia quotes: does the provider employ through its own Bolivian entity or a partner, which exchange rate funds the boliviano payroll, and how does it reserve for the indemnity? Multiplier, top of our scores at 79/100, says it operates through its own legal entities in every country; Oyster, at 64/100, uses owned entities and partners. The method is on how we score.

Compare everyone in the EOR rankings, our Remote, Deel and Oyster reviews, and Bolivia against Peru or Paraguay in the cost index.

Frequently asked questions

What does an employer of record in Bolivia cost?
The EOR's own fee runs from $199 (Payoneer Workforce Management, formerly Skuad) to $699 (Oyster) a month (checked October 2026). Confirmed employer costs add at least 26.67% to salary: 10% health contribution, one month of aguinaldo and a one-month-per-year indemnity reserve (UDAPE, November 2024).
What is the aguinaldo in Bolivia?
One month's full salary paid in December, pro rata for part of the year. A second aguinaldo, Esfuerzo por Bolivia (Decreto Supremo 1802), is due in years when GDP grew more than 4.5% in the 12 months before September.
What notice is required to dismiss an employee in Bolivia?
90 days from the employer after three months of work, according to UDAPE. Without that notice, the employer pays desahucio of three months' salary, in addition to the indemnity of one salary per year of service.
What is Bolivia's minimum wage in 2026?
BOB 3,300 a month from January 2026, according to Remote's Bolivia page, a secondary source. Press reports (Bloomberg Linea, Diario Correo) describe it as a 20% increase from BOB 2,750. We could not read the supreme decree.
Is Remote's Bolivia tax table correct?
No. Remote shows every contribution as 0%, but the employer pays at least a 10% health contribution under Ley 924 (UDAPE). Get your EOR's contribution lines in writing.
Sources (9)
  1. UDAPE (Unidad de Análisis de Políticas Sociales y Económicas): Empleo y Legislación Laboral en Bolivia (November 2024) (checked Oct 17, 2026)
  2. Remote: Bolivia country explorer (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Pebl: Pebl EOR pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Playroll: Playroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Multiplier: Multiplier pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Deel: Deel pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Remote: Remote pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Oyster: Oyster pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. Payoneer Workforce Management (formerly Skuad): Skuad pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Multiplier pricing on Multiplier’s site