Homebase pricing and review: what it costs in 2026

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Homebase scheduling is free for one location with up to 10 employees, then $30, $70 or $120 per location a month, and its payroll add-on is $49 + $6 per employee paid, according to its pricing page (checked October 16, 2026). For 10 staff with payroll that is $109 a month; for 20 staff on Essentials it is $199.

It scores 77 out of 100, the highest of the five scheduling apps we rank. The weak spot is the pricing page itself: it does not say what each paid tier adds, and its "$29 for teams up to 5" payroll rate is ambiguous.

Homebase is an employee scheduling and time clock app for hourly small businesses, with team messaging, hiring tools and an optional payroll add-on that Homebase says runs in all 50 states and DC.

On this page

Homebase pricing at a glance

Free plan
$01 location, up to 10 employees
Paid tiers
$30 to $120per location a month
Payroll
$49 + $6per employee paid, per month
Our score
77/100scheduling category

Homebase prices scheduling by location, not by head. That is cheap for one busy shop and expensive for a chain of small ones. Payroll is priced the usual way, a base fee plus a fee for each person paid. We compare published terms and prices; we did not test the app. Scores follow our published scoring method.

Homebase plans and prices

Homebase plans and prices, October 2026
PlanPriceLimit or note
Basic$01 location, up to 10 employees
Essentials$30 per location a monthFeatures added by each paid tier are not published on the pages we checked
Plus$70 per location a monthPromo: Plus and payroll free for 6 months (terms not shown)
All-in-One$120 per location a month14-day trial, no card; the account drops to Basic after the trial
Payroll add-on$49 + $6 per employee paidAlso shown: "$29 per month for teams up to 5"; "No implementation fees"

Source: Homebase pricing page (joinhomebase.com/pricing), checked October 16, 2026. Annual billing "saves 20%".

The free Basic plan covers one location and up to 10 employees. Hire an 11th person or open a second site and you move to a paid tier. Homebase also runs a 14-day All-in-One trial with no card; when it ends, the account drops back to Basic rather than billing you.

What Homebase costs for 10 and 20 hourly staff

Homebase all-in monthly cost for one location
TeamScheduling tierPayrollTotal a month
5 employees$0 (Basic)$29, or $29 + 5 x $6 = $59 if per-person fees apply; standard rate $49 + 5 x $6 = $79$29 to $79
10 employees$0 (Basic)$49 + 10 x $6 = $109$109
20 employees$30 (Essentials)$49 + 20 x $6 = $169$199
20 employees on Plus$70 (Plus)$49 + 20 x $6 = $169$239
20 employees, 2 locations, Essentials2 x $30 = $60$49 + 20 x $6 = $169 (same EIN)$229

Source: Homebase pricing page, checked October 16, 2026. Monthly billing, promotions left out, payroll taxes extra. Which paid tier you need depends on features Homebase does not break out by tier on the pages we checked.

At 10 employees the scheduling side is free, so the bill is payroll alone. At 20 you need a paid tier. Our score uses Essentials at $30 because it is the cheapest tier that fits 20 people; if the features you need sit in Plus, add $40 a month. Compare these totals with other apps on our scheduling software rankings.

The "$29 for teams up to 5" payroll rate

Homebase's payroll section shows $49 + $6 per employee paid and, separately, "$29 per month for teams up to 5". The page does not say whether the $6 per-person fee also applies at $29.

For a 5-person team, the difference is real: $29 flat, or $29 + 5 x $6 = $59, against $79 at the standard rate. Ask Homebase to put the rate in writing before your first payroll run. Our score uses the standard $49 + $6 rate, which is unambiguous.

A promo also runs: payroll and the Plus plan free for 6 months. The terms were not shown on the page, so we leave it out of every total here.

Homebase payroll: what it covers

  • Payroll in all 50 states and DC, per Homebase.
  • Multi-location payroll works only when every location is under the same EIN. Separate companies need separate accounts.
  • No tax filing guarantee terms are published.
  • "No implementation fees" for payroll; "cancel anytime".
  • Contractor pricing is not mentioned on the pricing page.
  • Whether Homebase registers new state tax accounts for you is not stated.

If you need payroll beyond one EIN, or a published penalty guarantee, compare Gusto's plans and tax guarantee or Square Payroll's $35 + $6 plan. For tipped staff, our restaurant payroll page covers tip credits by state. The software fee is the smallest line on the bill: use the employer cost calculator for payroll taxes, and check 2026 state minimum wages before you set rates.

Time clock, geofencing and tips

Homebase documents scheduling, a time clock and team messaging. On the pages we checked it does not document auto-scheduling, labor law compliance tools, GPS or geofenced clock-in, or tip pooling. That does not mean they are missing; it means they are not on the pricing pages, so confirm them in a trial. How it compares on clock-in features: employee time clock apps compared.

Contract, cancellation and support

  • Contract: monthly or annual billing; annual "saves 20%". No refund rule for annual plans is published.
  • Cancel: "Change plan or cancel anytime" for scheduling; payroll "cancel anytime".
  • After you leave: data export and W-2 access after cancellation are not stated.
  • Support: payroll lists "Live human support, 7am-7pm CT", 24/7 AI chat, a Help Center and phone (415) 951-3831. Which plans get live support is not clear.

Homebase reviews and complaints

Homebase has 4.6 out of 5 from 614 reviews on G2 and 3.8 out of 5 from 345 reviews on Trustpilot (both seen October 16, 2026). We did not research recurring complaint themes for Homebase in this pass, so the complaint part of its score uses the default, not a clean bill.

How we score Homebase

How the score breaks down
CriterionPointsWhy
Price for 20 hourly staff30 of 30Basic is free only up to 10 employees, so 20 staff need Essentials at $30 per location per month (checked Oct 16 2026), in the $35 or less band (30); which features each paid tier adds is not published on the pages we checked.
Scheduling and time clock features15 of 25Scheduling, a time clock and team messaging are documented (5 each); auto-scheduling and labor law compliance tools are not published on the pages we checked (0).
Payroll integration15 of 15Runs its own payroll at a published $49 + $6 per employee paid, though its '$29 per month for teams up to 5' rate does not say whether per-employee fees apply (15).
Contract terms11 of 15Change plan or cancel anytime (5); monthly or annual billing with no published refund rule (3); no billing traps documented, terms not fully read (3).
Documented complaint patterns6 of 15Trustpilot 3.8 from 345 reviews (2 of 4); complaint patterns were not researched this pass (default 2 of 6), so 4 of 10 scales to 6 of 15.
Total77 of 100Best for single-location hourly businesses that want low-cost scheduling with built-in payroll.

Source: HRPricing.com scheduling scores, checked October 17, 2026. Scores use published terms and prices, not hands-on testing.

Who Homebase fits, and who it does not

What works

  • Free for one location up to 10 employees.
  • Scheduling priced per location, with no per-employee fee shown on the pricing page.
  • Own payroll with a published price and no implementation fee.

Watch out for

  • Paid tier features are not broken out on the pages we checked.
  • The $29 small-team payroll rate is ambiguous.
  • Payroll across several EINs is not supported.
  • Each new location adds a full tier fee.

Bottom line: for one shop with up to 20 hourly staff, Homebase has the lowest published price for scheduling plus payroll from one vendor among the five apps we rank ($109 for 10, $199 for 20). With several small sites, pricing by user rather than by location, from Connecteam or Deputy, can come out lower. Restaurants that need tip pooling should also look at 7shifts.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Homebase cost per month?
Homebase Basic is free for one location with up to 10 employees. Essentials is $30, Plus $70 and All-in-One $120 per location a month, and payroll is $49 + $6 per employee paid, according to its pricing page checked October 16, 2026.
Is Homebase really free?
Homebase Basic is $0 for one location with up to 10 employees (pricing page, checked October 16, 2026). An 11th employee or a second location requires a paid tier from $30 per location a month. Payroll is always extra at $49 + $6 per employee paid.
How much is Homebase payroll?
Homebase payroll is $49 a month plus $6 per employee paid, so 10 employees cost $109 a month. The page also shows "$29 per month for teams up to 5" without saying whether the $6 per-person fee applies (checked October 16, 2026).
Does Homebase charge per user or per location?
Homebase scheduling tiers are priced per location per month: $0, $30, $70 or $120. Payroll is priced per employee paid at $6 on top of a $49 base (pricing page, checked October 16, 2026).
Can I cancel Homebase anytime?
Homebase says you can "change plan or cancel anytime", and its payroll page says "cancel anytime" (checked October 16, 2026). It does not publish a refund rule for annual plans or say how long you can access data and W-2s after leaving.
Is Homebase good for restaurants?
Homebase fits single-location restaurants that want free scheduling and simple payroll: $109 a month for 10 staff with payroll (checked October 16, 2026). Tip pooling is not documented on the pages we checked; 7shifts documents it, but 7shifts did not publish prices in our research.
Sources (6)
  1. Homebase: Homebase pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Homebase: Homebase payroll page (support hours) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. G2: Homebase reviews (4.6, 614 reviews) (seen Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Trustpilot: Homebase reviews (3.8, 345 reviews) (seen Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Gusto: Gusto pricing page (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Square: Square Payroll pricing (checked Oct 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.

Checked Oct 17See Homebase pricing on Homebase’s site