Utah payroll taxes for employers (2026)

We may earn a commission when you sign up through some links on this page. Commissions never change our scores or the order of our lists. How we make money.

Utah unemployment tax applies to the first $50,700 each employee earns in 2026, and the Department of Workforce Services (DWS) starts new accounts at their industry's average rate with a 1% floor (DWS tax rate FAQ, checked October 2026); state income tax is withheld at one flat 4.45% rate this year. Two things make Utah different: the wage base is among the highest we track, and new out-of-state contractors start at the 7.1% maximum.

SUTA wage base
$50,700
New employer SUTA rate
Industry average: basic rate equal to the two-year average benefit cost ratio of the employer's industry, 1% minimum; new out-of-state contractors get the maximum 7.1%
State income tax
Yes
Minimum wage
$7.25
On this page

How Utah payroll differs from its neighbors

With a $50,700 base, one point of unemployment rate is worth $507.00 a head each year, which makes your first DWS rate notice a real budget item. DWS sets a new employer's basic rate equal to the two-year average benefit cost ratio of its industry, with 1% as the floor. We did not find the construction industry figure on the DWS pages we read, but out-of-state contractors are placed at 7.1%.

  • Rate range depends on the source: DWS publishes 0.1% to 7.1%, while the federal DOL summary prints 0.20% to 7.20%. Go by your DWS notice.
  • Small extras: a social cost factor of 0.001 applies to all employers, a 1% delinquency surcharge applies if prior fiscal year contributions are unpaid, and DWS lists no administrative fee.
  • A mid-year tax cut: S.B. 60 cut the flat income tax from 4.5% to 4.45%, retroactive to January 1, 2026. Publication 14 (Rev. 4/26) carries tables for pay periods beginning on or after June 1, 2026. One Tax Commission rate page still showed 4.55% when we checked, which is outdated. Publication 14 does not state a supplemental rule.
  • One day to pay a fired worker: every dollar owed is due within 24 hours of a discharge. Resignations without a written contract wait for the next regular payday.
  • Two paydays a month: Utah's entry in the federal payday chart is semimonthly, though staff on an annual salary can be paid once a month.
  • Workers comp from employee one: the Utah Labor Commission says nearly every employer needs a policy as soon as it hires. Utah has no monopolistic state fund.
  • PEOs need a license: PEOs must be licensed under the PEO Licensing Act in Utah Code 31A-40, part of the Insurance Code; the DWS FAQ cites 31A-40-102. No public roster of license holders turned up in our research.

Utah pays at the federal floor: $7.25 an hour, or $2.13 cash for tipped staff. There is no paid family leave deduction or city income tax in our data, although we did not check either against an official register.

Utah employer payroll facts at a glance

Utah employer payroll facts, 2026
ItemUtah rule or rateOfficial source
SUTA taxable wage base (2026)$50,700source
New employer SUTA rateIndustry average: basic rate equal to the two-year average benefit cost ratio of the employer's industry, 1% minimum; new out-of-state contractors get the maximum 7.1%source
New employer rate, constructionIndustry average for construction (figure not published on fetched pages); out-of-state contractors 7.1%
SUTA rate range0.1% to 7.1%
Surcharges and admin feesSocial cost factor fixed at 0.001 for all employers; 1% delinquency surcharge if prior fiscal year contributions unpaid; no admin fee listed
2027 rates published?no
Unemployment agencyUtah Department of Workforce Servicessource
State income tax withholdingYes. Flat 4.45% for 2026 (S.B. 60, retroactive to Jan 1 2026, down from 4.5%); Publication 14 Rev. 4/26 tables apply to pay periods beginning on or after June 1 2026. Supplemental rule not stated in Pub 14.source
Paid leave or disability programsNone. No state disability or paid family leave payroll program found for this state (absence not confirmed on an official page).
Minimum wage 2026$7.25source ; source
Tipped cash wage 2026$2.13 (tip credit $5.12)
Minimum wage 2027none announced
New hire reportingWithin 20 calendar days of the new employee's first day of worksource
Pay frequency ruleSemi-monthly; employees on a yearly salary may be paid monthly (DOL payday table)
Final paycheck ruleFired: all wages due within 24 hours of separation; quit (no written contract): next regular payday
Workers comp requiredYes, with few exceptions all employers must provide coverage (1+ employees). Monopolistic: nosource
Local income taxesno (no local income tax identified; not checked against an official list)
PEO license or registrationyes, PEOs must be licensed under the PEO Licensing Act, Utah Code 31A-40 (Insurance Code); DWS FAQ references 31A-40-102; public list URL not found

Checked October 16, 2026 against the official sources linked in each row.

Registering for Utah payroll taxes

  1. Obtain an EIN from the IRS if you lack one.
  2. Complete the DWS employer registration online (jobs.utah.gov/ui/employer-app/employerRegistration). Your industry code drives your opening rate, so describe the business accurately.
  3. Sign up with the Utah State Tax Commission for a withholding account (tax.utah.gov/withholding) and load the Publication 14 Rev. 4/26 tables.
  4. Send each new hire to the DWS new hire portal no later than 20 calendar days after day one.
  5. Have a workers comp policy in force on your first hire's start date.
  6. Pick a twice-monthly payday (salaried staff may be paid monthly). Our payroll setup guide walks through the federal steps.

Utah payroll calculator: what one $50,000 employee costs

Because the new employer rate is your industry average, the example uses the 1% floor. Your actual rate can only be equal or higher.

Employer payroll tax on one $50,000 Utah employee, 2026 (new employer at the 1% floor)
LineHow it is figuredAnnual cost
Social Security6.2% x $50,000$3,100.00
Medicare1.45% x $50,000$725.00
FUTA0.6% x $7,000$42.00
Utah SUTA1% floor x $50,700 wage base$507.00
Total employer payroll taxSum of the lines above$4,374.00

Source: IRS Publication 15 (2026); Utah DWS tax rate FAQ. Checked Oct 2026. Your industry average rate may be higher than 1%.

A new out-of-state contractor at 7.1% pays $3,599.70 in SUTA on this worker, for a total of $7,466.70. On the paycheck, $3,825.00 goes to FICA. Utah income tax is capped by the flat rate at 4.45% x $50,000 = $2,225.00; the Publication 14 tables set the actual amount withheld. The Utah payroll tax calculator below reruns this for any salary; the state SUTA table shows how far $50,700 sits above most states.

Estimated yearly cost to employ this person
$0

Payroll companies in Utah: what to check

Local and national payroll companies in Utah all have to handle the same few items: the industry-average SUTA rate, the June 2026 withholding tables and fast final pay after a firing. The weak spot buyers report is staff who leave the state. A June 10, 2026 Trustpilot review of Gusto describes problems after two employees moved from Utah to Massachusetts, part of a wider pattern of multi-state complaints we track. Ask any provider who registers the new state accounts when someone moves.

If you are choosing a PEO, confirm its Utah license under 31A-40 and read our Utah PEO comparison. For software, see the payroll software rankings and full payroll pricing. Staff in nearby states fall under different rules: see Idaho, Colorado, Arizona and Nevada, and hourly floors on the 2026 minimum wage table.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Utah SUTA rate for new employers in 2026?
Utah DWS assigns new employers the average benefit cost rate of their industry over two years, with a 1% minimum, on the first $50,700 of each employee's wages. New out-of-state contractors get the 7.1% maximum.
What does a $50,000 employee cost a new Utah employer in payroll tax?
No less than $4,374.00 in 2026. Employer FICA is $3,825, FUTA is $42 and Utah unemployment tax is at least $507, because DWS will not go below 1% of the $50,700 base. A new out-of-state contractor at 7.1% faces $7,466.70.
What is Utah's income tax withholding rate for 2026?
A flat 4.45%, cut from 4.5% by S.B. 60 retroactive to January 1, 2026. Utah State Tax Commission Publication 14 (Rev. 4/26) has the withholding tables for pay periods beginning on or after June 1, 2026.
Is a PEO license required in Utah?
Yes. Professional employer organizations must be licensed under the PEO Licensing Act, Utah Code 31A-40, which sits in the Insurance Code. Utah DWS cites section 31A-40-102.
How fast must Utah employers pay a fired employee?
Utah gives you 24 hours after a discharge to pay all wages owed. If the employee resigns and has no written contract, the final check can wait until the next regular payday.
Sources (12)
  1. Utah Department of Workforce Services: Unemployment tax rates FAQ (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  2. Utah Department of Workforce Services: Employer registration (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  3. Utah Department of Workforce Services: New hire reporting (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  4. Utah State Tax Commission: Withholding (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  5. Utah State Tax Commission: Publication 14, withholding tax guide (Rev. 4/26) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  6. Utah Labor Commission: Industrial accidents division (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  7. Utah Labor Commission: Wage claims and minimum wage (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  8. Trustpilot: Gusto reviews (review dated Jun 10, 2026) (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  9. US Department of Labor: Significant provisions of state UI laws, July 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  10. US Department of Labor: State payday requirements (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  11. US Department of Labor: Minimum wages for tipped employees by state (checked Oct 16, 2026)
  12. IRS: Publication 15 (Circular E), 2026 (checked Oct 16, 2026)

This page is general information, not tax, legal or accounting advice. Rules and rates change, so check the official source linked above before you file or sign a contract. Read our disclaimer.